KARTer 2nd Gear April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 My friend was looking for a parking lot and he drove along the drive way to check...... he overshot an empty lot on his right (vertical parking on both side of the driveway in this mscp, typical design) by about 2 lots.... so he stopped and reversed...... as he reversed slowly, the car in the lot next to the empty lot suddenly reversed out and hit my fren driver's door........... the other driver came out and said not his fault!!! ........... but my fren were reversing and looking out for traffic, only when fren's was in front of this joker's lot, this joker sukka sukka reversed out and hit my fren............ i thought the case is pretty straight forward, but my other frens said 'grey area'.............. how can it be??? hope bros here can give your views, thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laworder17 1st Gear April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 On 4/4/2011 at 2:15 AM, KARTer said: My friend was looking for a parking lot and he drove along the drive way to check...... he overshot an empty lot on his right (vertical parking on both side of the driveway in this mscp, typical design) by about 2 lots.... so he stopped and reversed...... as he reversed slowly, the car in the lot next to the empty lot suddenly reversed out and hit my fren driver's door........... the other driver came out and said not his fault!!! ........... but my fren were reversing and looking out for traffic, only when fren's was in front of this joker's lot, this joker sukka sukka reversed out and hit my fren............ i thought the case is pretty straight forward, but my other frens said 'grey area'.............. how can it be??? hope bros here can give your views, thanks I think both are at fault. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 On 4/4/2011 at 2:15 AM, KARTer said: My friend was looking for a parking lot and he drove along the drive way to check...... he overshot an empty lot on his right (vertical parking on both side of the driveway in this mscp, typical design) by about 2 lots.... so he stopped and reversed...... as he reversed slowly, the car in the lot next to the empty lot suddenly reversed out and hit my fren driver's door........... the other driver came out and said not his fault!!! ........... but my fren were reversing and looking out for traffic, only when fren's was in front of this joker's lot, this joker sukka sukka reversed out and hit my fren............ i thought the case is pretty straight forward, but my other frens said 'grey area'.............. how can it be??? hope bros here can give your views, thanks Seems like a difficult situation. Lets say Car A is your friend, Car B is the other guy. Then we allocate points for blame. 1. Car A on main road so has right of way. Car B is exiting from carpark so he should be watching for traffic (both ways). Car B at fault (1 point) 2. Car A reversing but reversing is not anything illegal. In any event Car B also reversing. Car A & Car B both at fault (1 point each) 3. Car B reversed into Car A. Car A is already in position when Car B moved into it. Car B at fault (1 point) So final score is 1:3. Car A is 25% responsible while B is 75%, fair? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 4, 2011 Author Share April 4, 2011 On 4/4/2011 at 2:21 AM, Laworder17 said: I think both are at fault. why i think the other joker's at fault: before he started reversing out of his lot, my fren's car was already in front of his lot..... unless the joker reversed without looking at his rear view mirror, he surely could see my fren's car there.... yet he still reversed out of his lot and ended up hitting my fren's car. So I feel it's his and only his fault..... how you see both are at fault?? ..... when joker's car was reversed out, he did it so fast there's no time for my fren speed up and reverse to siam him or to horn him if joker started reversing before my fren's car reached his lot, maybe my fren would had a chance to do something to avoid the accident, but this wasnt the case as explained above... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 4, 2011 Author Share April 4, 2011 On 4/4/2011 at 2:27 AM, Bavarian said: Seems like a difficult situation. Lets say Car A is your friend, Car B is the other guy. Then we allocate points for blame. 1. Car A on main road so has right of way. Car B is exiting from carpark so he should be watching for traffic (both ways). Car B at fault (1 point) 2. Car A reversing but reversing is not anything illegal. In any event Car B also reversing. Car A & Car B both at fault (1 point each) 3. Car B reversed into Car A. Car A is already in position when Car B moved into it. Car B at fault (1 point) So final score is 1:3. Car A is 25% responsible while B is 75%, fair? wow, like your step by step CSI method!! just to clarify: it happened in a mscp, not main road...(if it makes a difference) main point i think is:- B only started reversing out by the time A was already in front of B's lot.... there's nothing A could have done to avoid being hit (unless A's can can tranform to a heli and leap into the air... ) ........... how hah??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laworder17 1st Gear April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 On 4/4/2011 at 2:29 AM, KARTer said: why i think the other joker's at fault: before he started reversing out of his lot, my fren's car was already in front of his lot..... unless the joker reversed without looking at his rear view mirror, he surely could see my fren's car there.... yet he still reversed out of his lot and ended up hitting my fren's car. So I feel it's his and only his fault..... how you see both are at fault?? ..... when joker's car was reversed out, he did it so fast there's no time for my fren speed up and reverse to siam him or to horn him if joker started reversing before my fren's car reached his lot, maybe my fren would had a chance to do something to avoid the accident, but this wasnt the case as explained above... I had say "both are at fault" because one of my frd's bf also caught up with similar situation as ur frd which is reversing into a lot a lorry reverse out and bang into his passenger door, he was awarded 30% at fault. While reversing both of the driver must be cautions to their surrounding this is what been told by the insurance company to my frd's bf. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pokyman 1st Gear April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 The car that was in the lot could also finger point that your friend reversed too fast ... w/o video , i think fault lies with both, depending on % liao ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 On 4/4/2011 at 2:34 AM, KARTer said: wow, like your step by step CSI method!! just to clarify: it happened in a mscp, not main road...(if it makes a difference) main point i think is:- B only started reversing out by the time A was already in front of B's lot.... there's nothing A could have done to avoid being hit (unless A's can can tranform to a heli and leap into the air... ) ........... how hah??? I think car park and main road is not important is that aspect. More importantly is to determine who has the right of way. In this case, Car A has the right of way. If any of the 3 points were not carried out, then the incident would have been most likely avoided. Therefore, by summarying the actions that lead up to the incident and breaking it down to attribute blame, the responsibilty of each driver can be proportioned accordingly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 (edited) On 4/4/2011 at 2:29 AM, KARTer said: why i think the other joker's at fault: before he started reversing out of his lot, my fren's car was already in front of his lot..... unless the joker reversed without looking at his rear view mirror, he surely could see my fren's car there.... yet he still reversed out of his lot and ended up hitting my fren's car. So I feel it's his and only his fault..... how you see both are at fault?? ..... when joker's car was reversed out, he did it so fast there's no time for my fren speed up and reverse to siam him or to horn him if joker started reversing before my fren's car reached his lot, maybe my fren would had a chance to do something to avoid the accident, but this wasnt the case as explained above... on the other hand, the joker may want let you friend to have a bigger space to reverse after he quickly get out first Edited April 4, 2011 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 On 4/4/2011 at 2:40 AM, Pokyman said: The car that was in the lot could also finger point that your friend reversed too fast ... w/o video , i think fault lies with both, depending on % liao ...... Key word here is "W/O video". Both drivers can say whatever they want. If Car A insist he did not reverse, then he'll win hands down. But for discussion purpose, we are not going that route. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 On 4/4/2011 at 2:27 AM, Bavarian said: Seems like a difficult situation. Lets say Car A is your friend, Car B is the other guy. Then we allocate points for blame. 1. Car A on main road so has right of way. Car B is exiting from carpark so he should be watching for traffic (both ways). Car B at fault (1 point) 2. Car A reversing but reversing is not anything illegal. In any event Car B also reversing. Car A & Car B both at fault (1 point each) 3. Car B reversed into Car A. Car A is already in position when Car B moved into it. Car B at fault (1 point) So final score is 1:3. Car A is 25% responsible while B is 75%, fair? will have to disagree on 1st point.... put simply... Car A is going against traffic, he reverse by 2 car lengths so cannot be compared to drivers who reverse park teir car... i will give the point to A... so i say 50% each Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 4, 2011 Author Share April 4, 2011 On 4/4/2011 at 2:40 AM, Pokyman said: The car that was in the lot could also finger point that your friend reversed too fast ... w/o video , i think fault lies with both, depending on % liao ...... true, if the joker used lies to protect himself ie blaming my fren of speed-reversing, which was not the case, my fren reversed slowly. but when lies are used, things become 'grey'... it's a different kind of case laio... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 4, 2011 Author Share April 4, 2011 (edited) On 4/4/2011 at 2:42 AM, Jman888 said: on the other hand, the joker may want let you friend to have a bigger space to reverse after he quickly get out first possible also.... but hor, if i good heart wants to help someone or chio bu, but before i help chio bu, my hands accidentally touch her nehneh... can I say 'siao jei, woh si yeow bunn ni, moh ni de nehneh si bo-bian de....'...... if can, i sure go help my chio bu colleuge this morning, anything happen, you cover me, can ..............(juen kao ni le, da ge.... hehehehehehe) Edited April 4, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 4, 2011 Author Share April 4, 2011 On 4/4/2011 at 2:49 AM, Galantspeedz said: will have to disagree on 1st point.... put simply... Car A is going against traffic, he reverse by 2 car lengths so cannot be compared to drivers who reverse park teir car... i will give the point to A... so i say 50% each btw, this happened in a mscp, not main road.... also, A overshot by 2 lots (quite common actually), so he slowly reversed. by the time his car was in front of B's lot, B just suka suka reversed out and hit A..... that's why I feel B was negligent lor, if he had check his rear view mirror before he started reversing, he surely would have seen A 'blocking' his lot ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 On 4/4/2011 at 2:49 AM, Galantspeedz said: will have to disagree on 1st point.... put simply... Car A is going against traffic, he reverse by 2 car lengths so cannot be compared to drivers who reverse park teir car... i will give the point to A... so i say 50% each I see where u are coming from. I think the question would be "Does a reversing vehicle forgo his right of way?" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...