5936 1st Gear April 3, 2011 Share April 3, 2011 I will also get very angry in this situation. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agalvilaku 2nd Gear April 3, 2011 Share April 3, 2011 dont need to be sensitive and bring this sh1t up... look at the earlier replies.... all know that INDIAN is not the topic... its the rudeness shown both sides... i did not EMPHASIS she is Indian... i SIMPLY stated she is indian... i said i have nothing against Indians, does not mean i like all indians... i hate some indians... i hate some malays... i hate some chinese... i have malay friends... i have indian friends... face the fact all races have people who disgrace their race... be it chinese indian malay or watever... so please stop being so sensitive... You are the one being sensitive here. what advantage you have added to your subject by mentioning the race? Just intending to stir the s**t. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear April 3, 2011 Share April 3, 2011 if only ALL behave like Ang MOhs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ehchang8 Neutral Newbie April 3, 2011 Share April 3, 2011 a colleague from india years ago told me that in their culture when they ask a favour from u, u should be the one who say thank u because he gives u a chance to do a good deed. same as some chinese, they just trying to be friendly, so no please and thank u from them. so now i don't expect anything, not even a smile or thank u from anyone when i can offer help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic April 3, 2011 Share April 3, 2011 Wah lau, of all the people there she asked you?? Sure kenna F by you all the way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear April 3, 2011 Share April 3, 2011 StupidInsensitive/discourteous Indian bitch with kid and maid.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear April 3, 2011 Share April 3, 2011 a colleague from india years ago told me that in their culture when they ask a favour from u, u should be the one who say thank u because he gives u a chance to do a good deed. same as some chinese, they just trying to be friendly, so no please and thank u from them. so now i don't expect anything, not even a smile or thank u from anyone when i can offer help. tats weird even to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 3, 2011 Author Share April 3, 2011 sounds better than water gushing, right? I still think their wallet and pens are the coolest. If now still have, I'll get a whole set of it. water gushing like peeing... eeeeee... yes of course i remember their pens/wallets... pencil case... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear April 3, 2011 Share April 3, 2011 think KEn looks like typical chow ah beng.... confirm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agalvilaku 2nd Gear April 3, 2011 Share April 3, 2011 a colleague from india years ago told me that in their culture when they ask a favour from u, u should be the one who say thank u because he gives u a chance to do a good deed. same as some chinese, they just trying to be friendly, so no please and thank u from them. so now i don't expect anything, not even a smile or thank u from anyone when i can offer help. It is basically a cultural difference. 99% percent people ask direction or help don't thank you neither the people helping them wouldn't expect. In fact, as Ken555, mentioned they will insist that they have seen that shop or landmark right there, but it is not being rude. It is kind of second assurance. The reason is, you ask direction back in india, the person offering help, whether he knows or not, he will still give you the direction without even knowing it, so, just to make sure, they will probe more. Being brought up there in India, when i first visited US it was a shock for me, because people not known to me wishing me in the morning on road, bus and wherever you happen to be and extending themselves by opening doors for you and making you comfortable. After few months, i picked those cultural etiquette. At the same time, people who migrate like me should try to pick up the good things and customs of the land they live at the earliest, so it is easy that we are not misunderstood as rude or impolite. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear April 3, 2011 Share April 3, 2011 a colleague from india years ago told me that in their culture when they ask a favour from u, u should be the one who say thank u because he gives u a chance to do a good deed. same as some chinese, they just trying to be friendly, so no please and thank u from them. so now i don't expect anything, not even a smile or thank u from anyone when i can offer help. Got such culture... Wierd. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 3, 2011 Share April 3, 2011 (edited) It is basically a cultural difference. 99% percent people ask direction or help don't thank you neither the people helping them wouldn't expect. In fact, as Ken555, mentioned they will insist that they have seen that shop or landmark right there, but it is not being rude. It is kind of second assurance. The reason is, you ask direction back in india, the person offering help, whether he knows or not, he will still give you the direction without even knowing it, so, just to make sure, they will probe more. Being brought up there in India, when i first visited US it was a shock for me, because people not known to me wishing me in the morning on road, bus and wherever you happen to be and extending themselves by opening doors for you and making you comfortable. After few months, i picked those cultural etiquette. At the same time, people who migrate like me should try to pick up the good things and customs of the land they live at the earliest, so it is easy that we are not misunderstood as rude or impolite. Good post. With global multiculturalism on the relentless rise, we're bound to see flashpoints like Ken's post (and others) exemplify. As far as I'm concerned, immigrants to a new country should be forgiven transgressions due to cultural ignorance for a reasonable adjustment period. I think almost everyone, after about 6 months or so, would've internalised most of the important aspects of the host country's norms. After that, if they still continue to act like a square peg in a round hole, then they deserve to be criticised and ostracised. But not before they've had the chance. Edited April 3, 2011 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear April 3, 2011 Share April 3, 2011 (edited) Good post. With global multiculturalism on the relentless rise, we're bound to see flashpoints like Ken's post (and others) exemplify. As far as I'm concerned, immigrants to a new country should be forgiven transgressions due to cultural ignorance for a reasonable adjustment period. I think almost everyone, after about 6 months or so, would've internalised most of the important aspects of the host country's norms. After that, if they still continue to act like a square peg in a round hole, then they deserve to be criticised and ostracised. But not before they've had the chance. Ken is in the process of helping so. Thumbs up for Ken!!! Edited April 3, 2011 by Csnewbie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 3, 2011 Author Share April 3, 2011 Frankly, Ken, most racism is not about violence or shouting epithets in the streets. It's about treating someone differently on the basis of race. And attributing bad encounters or experiences solely or primarily to their race. The fact is - you had a bad experience with this woman. And you made sure you highlighted her race. In my book, that makes your behaviour racist, even if you don't see that yourself. I've had my share of bad experiences, having been a born-and-bred Singaporean. Most of them were with people of Chinese ethnicity, probably owing to the fact that the vast majority of people here are Chinese. Now, if I were to preface every account of these with a big tagline like "Stupid Chinese b------d!" or "Stupid Chinese bitch!", would that sound the least bit racist to you? Perhaps it's a question of culture - Indians FOB (fresh off the boat) from India have acquired a reputation for being abrupt and having different social norms. So you may have been at the wrong end of this. But I've *also* been at the wrong end of terribly inconvenient and exasperating social encounters with people who were presumably FOB from mainland China - they can't even speak English for god's sake, and they're put in charge of customer service at so many places. But does that give me a right to go spewing diatribes all over the place starting with "Stupid Chinese bitch!"? This is not intended as a flame, but it's behaviour I've seen too often tolerated, even celebrated on this forum. If someone doesn't speak out against it, then it might look as if noone has a problem with it. Well, I for one do, and I'm speaking out. It's not a problem with you, per se - to quote you, "I got nothing against" you - it's a problem with what you posted and how you view the situation. Yes, I am an Indian by ethnicity, but that should have no bearing on my comments. I don't think Kiadaw is, and even he had an issue with them. So please take this the right way. wow... feel like i just got lectured.... ..... hey i'm cool... i know where you're coming from.... i would also state chinese woman if she was chinese... and i guess defining being racist or simply stereotyping... differs with everybody's way of looking at this... let me be totally frank about myself... i have laughed at malay jokes... i have laughed at indian jokes... i have laughed at chinese jokes... all in the name of fun... i have treated a meal to a hungry Indian in a hawker center begging for money... i would not flinch to help within my means to someone hungry/starving... BUT when i get into a fight sometimes (last time lah) with other races, i would say things like "fcuking malay/Indian..." maybe cause i still have parents who lived through the 1960 Malay riots in Singpore... Lee Kuan Yew has made most young Singaporeans love their neighbours be it Malay Indian Chinese watever... 'regarless of race language or religion' racial harmony was not build in a day... and in my opinion, racial respect will never be a 100%... or even 80% or less for a matter of fact... i mean most people dont even respect their own race... what more a different race?... i think tis could go on forever... but i know that i respect a person for their personality/character and how much they respect others... not for their race and religion... so to say i am racist in anyway, i really dont see myself so... even if many others do... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear April 3, 2011 Share April 3, 2011 (edited) "When in Rome, do what the Romans do." Edited April 3, 2011 by Relagsingh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 3, 2011 Author Share April 3, 2011 You are the one being sensitive here. what advantage you have added to your subject by mentioning the race? Just intending to stir the s**t. i think you have a very small brain... IF CHINESE WOMAN THEN I SAY CHINESE WOMAN... and i am chinese then means what??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic April 3, 2011 Share April 3, 2011 Ken is in the process of helping so. Thumbs up for Ken!!! That's one way to look at it, like drivers "helping" to educate pedestrians by mowing them over when they jaywalk. Seriously, can we do that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 3, 2011 Author Share April 3, 2011 a colleague from india years ago told me that in their culture when they ask a favour from u, u should be the one who say thank u because he gives u a chance to do a good deed.same as some chinese, they just trying to be friendly, so no please and thank u from them. so now i don't expect anything, not even a smile or thank u from anyone when i can offer help. really?.... oh!... if its true then all the rude people will have excuses to be rude liao.... then after they ask me a question, i will slap them... my way of saying thank you... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...