Stanong11 Clutched April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 You see, we can't use common sense on accidents. Or else, it won't be considered accidents. Accidents are not planned by the way. Agree that construction takes time, but if I remember correctly, our MRT was around for 26 years already. If the ministry had enough foresight, (which back to topic, they lack of it, therefore are overpaid), the gates would have been erected before any of the freak accidents happened. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 years ago meh? though its last year nia IIRC, they had already planned quite some time liao Only like last year or so then really start to begin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 again.. to address your point. It make take 8 weeks to produce the gates... and say another 6 months to ship them on a slow boat from china.. but the approval has been given YEARS ago... what's taking so long to install them? It's only end last year they had the orchard floods.. but in just a few months the whole road in orchard fitted with anti flood devices, whole road raised, even rochor road near sim lim now machiam fortress... If they can do all this so fast - which merely saves money - why the lower priority on installing accident barriers on MRT - because it only saves peasant lives? because accidents in MRT not like earthquake or tsunami..... can take time to install Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 of couse i am not saying no to installing the gates. however, is there a need to pin point the whole fault at LTA?? Well it took so long for them to DECIDE to install the gates/barrier/etc. For this case..it seems like accidental(pending investigation). With the gates up, it might have saved the poor girl's legs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 no need so drama la, bro... let's forget it and move on. There must always be balance to the Force.... cannot have too many 1 sided arguments anywhere... whether in Parliament or CarForum. So we welcome both pro and againts views. Well done, chappies! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 Well it took so long for them to DECIDE to install the gates/barrier/etc. For this case..it seems like accidental(pending investigation). With the gates up, it might have saved the poor girl's legs. actually, i find they are in a loss loss situation. when last time no accident, they install ppl will say waste money. now got accident, they intend to install ppl say they not proactive. no wonder that rather be re-active. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 You see, we can't use common sense on accidents. Or else, it won't be considered accidents. Accidents are not planned by the way. Agree that construction takes time, but if I remember correctly, our MRT was around for 26 years already. If the ministry had enough foresight, (which back to topic, they lack of it, therefore are overpaid), the gates would have been erected before any of the freak accidents happened. let be more objective, there are thousands subway over the world, what are the rate of accident happen? you can't prevent suicidal, so left with the 'accident' which is on the individual responsibility. I think the plan for the gate is not because of the suicide or such accident, it is probably due to the aging population which now is probably the right timing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 because accidents in MRT not like earthquake or tsunami..... can take time to install no lah. reason is because different minister head the projects mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chengwh492 Clutched April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 i apologise to parkingidiot for my uncalled for posting. i had thought you insulted my grandmother first when you said about suck egg, thats why i posted what i said in retort. i apologise for it and retract my statement. i have informed the moderator to remove my insulting posting. on this matter alone, i am sorry and regretful for my impulse and ignorance. vextan p/s . thanks for your magnanimity ... you got no mother in the first place, scold you ccb for wat? your papaya give birth to you one and program you to come to forum and scold ccb. go and die as a papaya dog la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 you got no mother in the first place, scold you ccb for wat? your papaya give birth to you one and program you to come to forum and scold ccb. go and die as a papaya dog la. you are no better than him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 now become URA problem for approving the initial desgin. hahah wahlau, kenna hammer.... what i m trying to say is that, if URA/BCA see it good to have railing to prevent falls in other buildings, MRTC can take the initiative, without getting URA/BCA (Bldg Control Authorities) involved or wait for their rules, a good way to reduce (cant 100% prevent) such falls especially during peak hours where pushing/jostling etc naturally take place.... no lah, not blaming URA (although very much like to coz it's under Mr Horse's ministry, kekekekekeee) btw, by bring up issues, not everyone is trying to blame the gahmen, although inept expressions may mislead the readers to think so..... (never good at essay writing, merely scraped thru general paper in school, bo bian) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chengwh492 Clutched April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 yes let me be the one to sacrifice so that all of the rest can live. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 actually, i find they are in a loss loss situation. when last time no accident, they install ppl will say waste money. now got accident, they intend to install ppl say they not proactive. no wonder that rather be re-active. and when install and increase mrt fares, which they will, we would complain Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 you got no mother in the first place, scold you ccb for wat? your papaya give birth to you one and program you to come to forum and scold ccb. go and die as a papaya dog la. you are not helping la... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanong11 Clutched April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 actually, i find they are in a loss loss situation. when last time no accident, they install ppl will say waste money. now got accident, they intend to install ppl say they not proactive. no wonder that rather be re-active. I'm sure no one will complain. And if they do, the complainers are brainless. And if it was constructed together with the station in the beginning, no one will think about wasting money. And isn't safety a good enough reason to answer critics? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stanong11 Clutched April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 you are no better than him. Worse than him. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 let be more objective, there are thousands subway over the world, what are the rate of accident happen? you can't prevent suicidal, so left with the 'accident' which is on the individual responsibility. I think the plan for the gate is not because of the suicide or such accident, it is probably due to the aging population which now is probably the right timing. thank you for remember me and my kakis............... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 4, 2011 Share April 4, 2011 yes let me be the one to sacrifice so that all of the rest can live. siao......drama over liao then you come in to sacrifice ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...