Going to Underwater World at Sentosa- where to park?

Jj5599

UWS......good old memories of the round island monorail, ferry, pier, boat restaurant, hawker centre/foodcourt, A&W...

Show my age liao... :XD:

There is a free CP in Sentosa near Underwater World. When approaching the area (a little before the cable car terminal), there will be a left turn. There are quite a few parking spaces about 50-100m down from the junction. It's quite walkable from that CP to UW world (and the CC terminal). But you have to get there really early, the spaces will be taken up before 8.30am on a weekend or PH.

As far as I know this is the only (legitimate) free parking area in Sentosa.

Underwater world closed down! Think with the SEA, underwater world sooner or later should close down. Lol. Looks like attraction in sentosa doesn't seems to be able to last long, as there are many attraction there have been opened and closed down eventually, and replaced with new one over the decades.

Edited by 13177

Bro, 2011 question on parking leh.....

On parking, when i went there, i let family alighted first, then drove a bit towards some resort, got free parking by roadside. So i walked about maybe 200-300 m twice to park free...

Can't remember name, but it's the road coming back out from UWS towards city, turned right after about 50 m i think...

If anyone wanna cheong the UWS before it closes, can park at Rasa Sentosa carpark. Got to pay but that is the nearest legal parking, literally at the doorstep of RWS.

Edited by Vratenza

No, because the tickets are damn bloody expensive [laugh]

And yes, because I'm not getting married again [laugh]

Never went back to the flyer again?

I mean...I mean... you hate the sight of our flyer?

To close on 26 jun

Underwater World Singapore to close Jun 26

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/underwater-world/2848824.html

Really!!! So sad. My son always likes to go there to feed the stingrays. You get to up your hand with a piece of fish into the tank and wait for the rays to come.

The touch pool in UWS is also much better than the SEA Aquarium. You really can hold the starfish without taking out of the water.

Have to say that UWS is really old though

Edited by Fireball0088

OMG, I didn't even see this before I posted about parking.

No diff to u la

You go in water... All water come out haaaaaa

That's not all hor... don't forget still got river safari also got big big aquarium inside. All 3 got lots similarities i feel...

Don't understand why i went to all 3... the only good thing is that i'm qualified to make above comment...

SEA aquarium and River Safari is different. One is Saltwater another is freshwater.

Who can remember Coral Aquarium at Sentosa before it closed to build the golf course and also to UWS. Now UWS turn to close. :a-fun:

I think they have lost a lot of market share to SEA Aquarium. 

It is so difficult to survive in Singapore now.  The rental is so high and shortage of manpower for those rank and file positions.

Those who wish to visit it for the last time better do so before it closes down on 26 June 2016.

Goodbye Underwater World Sentosa.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/underwater-world/2848824.html

SEA aquarium and River Safari is different. One is Saltwater another is freshwater.

Who can remember Coral Aquarium at Sentosa before it closed to build the golf course and also to UWS. Now UWS turn to close. :a-fun:

Like i have mentioned, nothing in sentosa can survived for long. It will closed down eventually and replaced with new attraction.

Bro, 2011 question on parking leh.....

wah lao... i better go make new glasses... paiseh ...

Wah... you  [thumbsup]

I didn't even think of the water. But what struck me what of all the 3, all got many stingrays. That's prob why i have the impression sama sama...

Never been to Coral Aquarium.

But i went to Van Kleef before. How many here know where it was ?  [laugh]

Not forgetting the old WTC, and they used to host the car shows there.

Taking the ferry was part of the Sentosa experience. I feel after they built the bridge, something was lost. Sure it brings more tourists onto the island now, but it is no longer an "island" experience. Maybe they should just reclaim the land between Sentosa and Singapore, but then the historical "Dragon Tooth Gate" will be gone with it.

Oh yes, the ferry... v long ago liao... 

now no more chance to experience the seasick going to and fro... 

Like i have mentioned, nothing in sentosa can survived for long. It will closed down eventually and replaced with new attraction.

Ya. The hawker centre also no more liao.

I still remember when I was very very young. After the ferry stop operating, we would take the bum boat(like those to Ubin) to Sentosa to have a meal at the hawker centre. We had tze char there at the hawker centre till 10pm and take the bum boat back, pre-arranged with the boat man. No pager or hp then. Somemore the ferry terminal was just a ordinary jetty not the newer big white one.

Wah... you  [thumbsup]

I didn't even think of the water. But what struck me what of all the 3, all got many stingrays. That's prob why i have the impression sama sama...

Never been to Coral Aquarium.

But i went to Van Kleef before. How many here know where it was ?  [laugh]

Van kleef been to once only. I only remember of the crocodiles near the entrance there.

Ya. The hawker centre also no more liao.

I still remember when I was very very young. After the ferry stop operating, we would take the bum boat(like those to Ubin) to Sentosa to have a meal at the hawker centre. We had tze char there at the hawker centre till 10pm and take the bum boat back, pre-arranged with the boat man. No pager or hp then. Somemore the ferry terminal was just a ordinary jetty not the newer big white one.

Van kleef been to once only. I only remember of the crocodiles near the entrance there.

Those were the days about sentosa. Let's see which will be the next attraction in sentosa to close down?! Lol.

Is the musical fountain still there? Or gone liao? Too long never go in n explore liao.

The last few time went in is for company event. Go to event n go home, never explore.