Chen Show Mao did serve NS.

Yahgo22

* Abstract from TR

Chen Show Mao emigrated to Singapore when he was 14 in 1975 when we were all in Secondary 2. He was my year and with me in ACS before going on to NJC for Pre-U. He also served full time NS as Assistant Brigade S1 at HQ 3 SIB at Ulu Pandan Camp with me and I used to see him every day as we worked in the same building.

Both of us ROD-ed in June 1982 back when NS was 2.5 years long for those of us with A-level qualifications. Kindly get your facts straight before you try to smear somebody.

Chen Show Mao from NJC topped Singapore GCE

Edited by Yahgo22

Unfortunately he was rejected from doing Medicine in NUS due to a policy that deliberately discourages very outstanding students to do medicine that started around that time. In fact, the subsequent top A-level student in 1980 was also rejected from doing Medicine in NUS for the same reason.

how come leh?? why got this policy?

Great!

Not like somebody who siam and later wanna come back and ask to be elected cos he is fully invested....... elect him can, go serve 2.5 years first then talk.

With million of dollars of possible remuneration at stake, who wouldnt be 'invested'?

Great!

Not like somebody who siam and later wanna come back and ask to be elected cos he is fully invested....... elect him can, go serve 2.5 years first then talk.

Members' CVs

YONG Pung How

CHEN Show Mao

Michael HWANG

LEE Suet Fern

Sundaresh MENON

Mark A. NELSON

Andrew PHANG

V K RAJAH

Eduardo RAMOS-GOMEZ

Davinder SINGH

Kevin WONG

SMU

Advisory Board Member

See his name below Ex Chief Justice

Many Sg top lawyers also on the list

WP should send him to AMK GRC together with Sylvia Lim

Old man sure die of hard attack

Dun pray pray hor

Last updated on 6 October, 2009 by School of Law.

Edited by Yahgo22

Aiya. May not be important in eyes of some pple. They may even say he is not fully invested like one of their own. [laugh]

how come leh?? why got this policy?

Yes. I think they still have this guideline now as well. Some of my friends with straight As were rejected. Not sure why?

Aiya. May not be important in eyes of some pple. They may even say he is not fully invested like one of their own. [laugh]

Obviously to tat party not important la. If so then ask them to explain why put him up for nomination to begin with.

This really gets me boiling. All Thanks to those idiots that started the QUITTERS jibe years ago. Such an irony when so many of therir kids later went on to quit.

That Janil Pukicherry fella DID NOT serve NS althpugh he has been in Singapore since 2001.

He became a naturalised citizen in 2008 and still haven't served NS. He is quite young still.

He said he was fully invested. Really? Did he invest 2.5 years of his life and 13 cycles of reservist... Fully invested my balls lah..

That Janil Pukicherry fella DID NOT serve NS althpugh he has been in Singapore since 2001.

He became a naturalised citizen in 2008 and still haven't served NS. He is quite young still.

He said he was fully invested. Really? Did he invest 2.5 years of his life and 13 cycles of reservist... Fully invested my balls lah..

Bro, u forgot to add fail ippt = 2 - 3 months RT.... [grin]

Yes. I think they still have this guideline now as well. Some of my friends with straight As were rejected. Not sure why?

it's been like tat for very long liao, not recently.

in the 1990s, for every batch of applicants, they split the total quota into several: X no. of 4A's n beyond (e.g. S-papers, etc), Y no. of just 4A's, Z no. of 3A's+1B, XX no. of males/females, YY no. of Asean / S'poreans...so in reality, a person with 4A's is not competing with a person with 3A's.

Their policy for straight A singaporean students is to spread the talent pool between medicine and law fac.Many in medicine stream in JC were disappointed when they were allocated to NUS Law despite scoring better grades than some who were accepted into NUS medicine.

Very impressive.

The leeders could be wondering how cum they never ask him to join the tea party

How to ask - they already have too many people, what with Miss SYT and all.....

no wonder. quite smart hor....if every all top 50 students want to study medicine...then no elite for other fac.

For info, I was told by my colleague, who is imported to sillypore, that if convert to sillyporean at the age of 26, no need to serve NS liao....

He also said many wait till age 26 or later than convert... the main reason is they do not want to WASTE SERVING NS here.

That is why many of my colleagues see no up to those imported to here without doing NS...

For info, I was told by my colleague, who is imported to sillypore, that if convert to sillyporean at the age of 26, no need to serve NS liao....

He also said many wait till age 26 or later than convert... the main reason is they do not want to WASTE SERVING NS here.

That is why many of my colleagues see no up to those imported to here without doing NS...

Different thing.

This guy's father is a Singaporean. The last I checked, that would make the children Singaporeans too. No ifs and no buts.......................

* Abstract from TR

Chen Show Mao emigrated to Singapore when he was 14 in 1975 when we were all in Secondary 2. He was my year and with me in ACS before going on to NJC for Pre-U. He also served full time NS as Assistant Brigade S1 at HQ 3 SIB at Ulu Pandan Camp with me and I used to see him every day as we worked in the same building.

Both of us ROD-ed in June 1982 back when NS was 2.5 years long for those of us with A-level qualifications. Kindly get your facts straight before you try to smear somebody.

Chen Show Mao from NJC topped Singapore GCE