Tinting van windows

Xiaoming99

Hi guys,

I currently own a van with rear side windows, without any rear seats (all storage space). Thinking of doing the malaysia car kind of reflective tinting, where from the outside you cant look in, but you can still see out from the inside. Either that or just super dark tinting where people cannot look at the ICE in my van.

Question is, is it legal? Considering that most models of the van I am driving do not have rear side windows. Also, any lobang to the the tinting mentioned above? Except for bolehland, for obvious reasons.

Are you from where? Like the Philippines, Malaysia is not that strict in implementing that law (if there is any). But in Australia, that window tinting is illegal as well as putting on customized plate. I hope this helps. :D :D

Hi guys,

I currently own a van with rear side windows, without any rear seats (all storage space). Thinking of doing the malaysia car kind of reflective tinting, where from the outside you cant look in, but you can still see out from the inside. Either that or just super dark tinting where people cannot look at the ICE in my van.

Question is, is it legal? Considering that most models of the van I am driving do not have rear side windows. Also, any lobang to the the tinting mentioned above? Except for bolehland, for obvious reasons.

Rear window panel.....MY style....buay sai....@ least 30% visibility

Front screen & side...........must ve 70%....

else annual inspection...Problems

Hi guys,

let me show you the paradox here:

1. you will not pass inspection if your rear windows did not allow at least 70% of visible light to pass through. this is because the driver may not be able to see other traffic in low light conditions. this rule applies to goods vehicle (closed) as well.

however,

2. for vans that do not come with side windows, ie. 0% of visible light passing through, will pass the inspection. the driver will still not be able to see other traffic in high or low light conditions.

the rationale ? :blink:

Edited by Flykite

i notice tat a lot of cars (and some vans) have illegal level of tints (almost black, can't see anything)....how do they pass inspections?

this one is something we know but......

let me show you the paradox here:

1. you will not pass inspection if your rear windows did not allow at least 70% of visible light to pass through. this is because the driver may not be able to see other traffic in low light conditions. this rule applies to goods vehicle (closed) as well.

however,

2. for vans that do not come with side windows, ie. 0% of visible light passing through, will pass the inspection. the driver will still not be able to see other traffic in high or low light conditions.

the rationale ? :blink:

Exactly my thoughts! Thats why i was thinking it will be pretty retarded if tinting rear windows is not allowed. But i was thinking anyways, since my van is black, if I put tinting which is dark enough, it will probably look like my van has covered rear windows [rolleyes]

b4 inspection they go tear off their tinting then pass inspection already paste back. True story.

can re-use the film so easily? or u mean they spend extra $ to redo it?

anyway, some ppl might not be aware tat the super dark tinting is hazardous to the driver himself, becos at night he won't be able to see the side view mirrors as well as normal.