Limxiaoming 2nd Gear April 5, 2011 Author Share April 5, 2011 Nah don't have sufficient cash to buy a private property, too young, don't even have sufficient cash to fully pay a hdb haha. But I have more than enough to sustain monthly installments for dbss or ec for many years, and I don't want to stretch myself. Car already fully paid up and coy pays for all my petrol bills n phone bills. Private property is out of the question for me, for now. Still want to make use of gov 30k grant n hdb loan 1st before i move forward. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limxiaoming 2nd Gear April 5, 2011 Author Share April 5, 2011 Anyway the way private property prices went up past 2 years, many of us were already priced out of the property market. Those new developments in jurong now can be >1k psf. Was at skysuits@balestier launch 5 days ago. The pathetic 2-bedroom units can cost up to $1800psf in balestier Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear April 5, 2011 Share April 5, 2011 Anyway the way private property prices went up past 2 years, many of us were already priced out of the property market. Those new developments in jurong now can be >1k psf. Was at skysuits@balestier launch 5 days ago. The pathetic 2-bedroom units can cost up to $1800psf in balestier $1800 psf there? where got so high one..I very sure u r mistaken .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged April 5, 2011 Share April 5, 2011 Dear bros! The time has finally come for me to buy my first apartment... So exciting Don't want to jump into private now as people around me are advicing me to start from HDB first. So could the experts on MCF please guide me on the differences among build-to-order, design build sell scheme & Executive Condominuims? Differences as in the fittings/furniture that come with the 3, which one in your opinions are better etc etc... Hey friend, I think the most important factor you should consider is also the time frame you need for the home. If you are eligible for all 3, I suggest that you look at location after time frame. Frankly, whether or not the unit comes with reno and stuff should be the last in your criteria. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relacklabrudder 1st Gear April 5, 2011 Share April 5, 2011 DBSS = Design , B uild and S ell to Suckers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear April 5, 2011 Share April 5, 2011 TS, if you enough cash+CPF for $600K plus , you should go for private property. For $600k upwards you can own a brand new 2 bedroom private property. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear April 5, 2011 Share April 5, 2011 TS, if you enough cash+CPF for $600K plus , you should go for private property. For $600k upwards you can own a brand new 2 bedroom private property. Depends on location also... Not only that, certain people see no point in paying for the facilities like swimming,etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dirtbike Clutched April 5, 2011 Share April 5, 2011 TS, if you enough cash+CPF for $600K plus , you should go for private property. For $600k upwards you can own a brand new 2 bedroom private property. 600k to own a brand new 2 bedroom private property??? Location? EC already going at this kind of pricing.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear April 5, 2011 Share April 5, 2011 600k to own a brand new 2 bedroom private property??? Location? EC already going at this kind of pricing.... It's crazy lah. Have you heard the minister on the political forum that's aired on TV? Well, it's good that the gahmen wants prices of new homes to appreciate in the long run, for pricing of houses cannot remain stagnant or depreciate over the years, but really, our prices are getting out of hand. A 2-bedroom EC unit at The Canopy [Yishun Area] is fetching from $575k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear April 5, 2011 Share April 5, 2011 600k to own a brand new 2 bedroom private property??? Location? EC already going at this kind of pricing.... Replied you via PM. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear April 5, 2011 Share April 5, 2011 Depends on location also... Not only that, certain people see no point in paying for the facilities like swimming,etc Well in a private property the maintenance fees includes a car park lot and its just slightly higher than your conservancy fees + HDB season parking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forrestcat 2nd Gear April 5, 2011 Share April 5, 2011 Well in a private property the maintenance fees includes a car park lot and its just slightly higher than your conservancy fees + HDB season parking. Million dollar hdb flat.... Anyone? http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/hdb...-avenue-3573915 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear April 5, 2011 Share April 5, 2011 Million dollar hdb flat.... Anyone? http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/hdb...-avenue-3573915 Looks pretty decent. Well, a massionette of 1679sq ft area in the Eunos, Sims Ave area, commands more than $1m. What's more a private condo??? $2m perhaps?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aristotle 5th Gear April 5, 2011 Share April 5, 2011 Since we are on this topic, I'm also looking for advices regarding property. I managed to sell my HDB for a decent profit and going to stay in parent's place for the time being, while looking for another property. I can be considered the sandwich class (>10k but less than 12-13k). Dunno whether I should chiong a 900k condo or look for another HDB and pay up in full. Leaning towards a 900k condo (but as you guys said it, prices right now is just a little crazy which explains my decision to sell off my HDB for a profit). So, let's say I have 350k CPF + 50k(option fee) and loan 500k, is it better this way or to downpay more cash (say another $100k) so that you only loan 400k over a period of 20 years? Basically right now, we are not in a hurry to buy, just weighing our options on our next step. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear April 5, 2011 Share April 5, 2011 Difference between BTO, DBSS and EC? Overpriced, very overpriced, extremely overpriced. and the buyer = sliced carrot, shredded carrot, and carrot juice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear April 5, 2011 Share April 5, 2011 Since we are on this topic, I'm also looking for advices regarding property. I managed to sell my HDB for a decent profit and going to stay in parent's place for the time being, while looking for another property. I can be considered the sandwich class (>10k but less than 12-13k). Dunno whether I should chiong a 900k condo or look for another HDB and pay up in full. Leaning towards a 900k condo (but as you guys said it, prices right now is just a little crazy which explains my decision to sell off my HDB for a profit). So, let's say I have 350k CPF + 50k(option fee) and loan 500k, is it better this way or to downpay more cash (say another $100k) so that you only loan 400k over a period of 20 years? Basically right now, we are not in a hurry to buy, just weighing our options on our next step. How many bedrooms you need bro? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic April 5, 2011 Share April 5, 2011 Since we are on this topic, I'm also looking for advices regarding property. I managed to sell my HDB for a decent profit and going to stay in parent's place for the time being, while looking for another property. I can be considered the sandwich class (>10k but less than 12-13k). Dunno whether I should chiong a 900k condo or look for another HDB and pay up in full. Leaning towards a 900k condo (but as you guys said it, prices right now is just a little crazy which explains my decision to sell off my HDB for a profit). So, let's say I have 350k CPF + 50k(option fee) and loan 500k, is it better this way or to downpay more cash (say another $100k) so that you only loan 400k over a period of 20 years? Basically right now, we are not in a hurry to buy, just weighing our options on our next step. the biggest mistake is to pay in full cash and in the end, land up juz sitting on a pile of cash and not generating any other streams of income. always better to keep liquidity on hand as opportunity fund. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear April 5, 2011 Share April 5, 2011 Difference between BTO, DBSS and EC? Overpriced, very overpriced, extremely overpriced. and the buyer = sliced carrot, shredded carrot, and carrot juice. Good analogy!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...