Difference between BTO, DBSS and EC.

Limxiaoming

Don't worry about the fixtures and fittings.

Whether it's BTO, DBSS or EC, you can be assured that all the fixtures and fittings will be of the cheapest and lousiest material and quality able to be found worldwide and spec-ed in to earn a nice 3-400% profit and still grease some palms.

Of course, with the new rulings, probably they will tell you that they are from 'Italy' and 'UK' etc...which isn't false since taking a shipping route to these countries to put in the final screw and onwards to SG meets the requirements.

Think don't need to bring ur unhappiness with the Govt into the picture.

From what i've read up in renovation forums. The basic tiles, doors provided by HDB BTOs are actually of reasonable quality and are definitely durable. Though wall leaking etc etc i guess overall over the years, things are all not as durable as they used to be in the 1970-1980s.

ECs used to be a good buy many, many years ago when the price diff between hdb EA flat & EC was not that much (in fact, at one stage, EC was even cheaper than EA flat!). But now EC prices are ridiculous for a first timer and is juz a stupid buy. Plus the units are smaller. Pointless.

DBSS? What for? Cost more than a bto hdb flat but it's still a hdb flat wif zero security, zero facilities, zero prestige n ah long can still walk up to ur doorstep.

My advice: Stick to the BTO route n slowly upgrade as u go along. [;)]

Heard that Toa Payoh DBSS is card access for lift and main door... you need card to access the lift.

But Ah long maybe still can climb up the stairs [laugh]... if live 40 storey, ah long runner jialat. :D

Edited by Ncss

Precisely my point.. its the price that matters [:p]

By the way bro, u not changing car ah? :D

haha...no $$ to change car! COE now so ex..anyway i take MRT to work so seldom drive nowadays. [:p]

No wonder ur car everyday camp there at 1st level [laugh]

Edited by Dj_spike

Think don't need to bring ur unhappiness with the Govt into the picture.

From what i've read up in renovation forums. The basic tiles, doors provided by HDB BTOs are actually of reasonable quality and are definitely durable. Though wall leaking etc etc i guess overall over the years, things are all not as durable as they used to be in the 1970-1980s.

You telling a main con that? [laugh]

Bro, don get con. this lxm guy is a tricky boy

pls see my post. i checked and realised that the prices difference is much higher

i sense that lxm got hidden agenda :D

TS, if your household income less than 8k, it is not advisable to get EC unless you've been working for many years, CPF and savings gao gao. You can consider DBSS though. However, DBSS is still ultimately a HDB. BTO, though not very cheap, is still the best for young couples (if your combine income is less than 8k).

Furnishing wise, its hard to judge. You may get a "lemon house" and the tiles will start popping out after a few years. If I'm not wrong, basic flooring, doors, kitchen cabinets, sinks, and windows are present in DBSS and EC. Not sure if you can choose the design. Better you ask your friends or go to a showroom. While BTO, you can the option to include in (extra charges).

But your qns quite interesting. Most ppl under 8k will buy BTO as they can't afford ECs. Ppl above 8k to 10k will choose between DBSS, EC or resale. Not alot of ppl will choose according to furnishing. ^_^

ECs used to be a good buy many, many years ago when the price diff between hdb EA flat & EC was not that much (in fact, at one stage, EC was even cheaper than EA flat!). But now EC prices are ridiculous for a first timer and is juz a stupid buy. Plus the units are smaller. Pointless.

DBSS? What for? Cost more than a bto hdb flat but it's still a hdb flat wif zero security, zero facilities, zero prestige n ah long can still walk up to ur doorstep.

My advice: Stick to the BTO route n slowly upgrade as u go along. [;)]

Not true bro, some DBSS like City View has card security system where residents need to tap before they can enter lift lobby. Dun ask me how visitors can enter though.

No wonder ur car everyday camp there at 1st level [laugh]

haha..not really la. sometimes drive after work or send my wife to work. thanks for keeping an eye on my car for me. [thumbsup]

Wow.. bro.. your avatar.. :wub: :wub:

Ya... u are right. all of them kinda far come to think about it hahaha...

But a lot of new bto projects in Sengkang Punggol are not near to MRTs and highway.

The Pasir Ris one listed on HDBs website is just beside whitesands, beside MRT, beside expressway etc...

but the pasir ris MRT takes a round about route to city right? NE line is more direct.

then be smart and play with the loop hole, buy with your wife first, then when get key sell the old HDB and bring all your family over.

this one super big loop hole. dont have to tell them you going to stay with parents.

or ask the parents and everyone in the house except the owners to change address lor.... so combine income sure drop!

as long as the house is under his parents name and not his name.

dont need. can claimed moving out and stay on their own mah.

Not true bro, some DBSS like City View has card security system where residents need to tap before they can enter lift lobby. Dun ask me how visitors can enter though.

bedok south 3 room flat block 70 also same security...

they got 1 small "key" like the esso speedpass, must flash than the main door at the lift lobby open, no need buy DBSS la.

as long as the house is under his parents name and not his name.

dont need. can claimed moving out and stay on their own mah.

well just leave the owners with the address lor. best bet still change address, so they cannot trace. change address no need $ ma. so play safe la.

Bro, you have sufficient cash/cpf to buy a private property? If so, buy a private property or else it will be 5 years later then you can buy a private property..by then who knows that you will be priced out of private property market.