Celicar Turbocharged March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 Isn't there a new citizen who's contesting as well? So what makes one better than the other, political experience-wise? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 On 3/30/2011 at 2:06 AM, Kelpie said: Can solve the Housing and Transportation problem or not? Regards, I alrdy solved the problem-->reduced population. But they said got security threat.....knn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latio2005A Turbocharged March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 On 3/30/2011 at 1:45 AM, Yahgo22 said: Show-Mao Chen Mr Chen graduated in 1986 from Harvard College and in 1988 from Corpus Christi College, Oxford University, where he was a Rhodes Scholar. In 1992 he received his J.D. from Stanford Law School and in 2005 received his M.A. from Corpus Christi College, Oxford University. Mr Chen has extensive experience in international securities offerings and M&A transactions. He advised the Industrial and Commercial Bank of China (ICBC) on its recent $21 billion initial public offering, which is the largest IPO ever, and the first global offering that involved a concurrent listing in China. He also advised ICBC on the $3.8 billion strategic investment in the bank by a consortium comprising Goldman Sachs, American Express and Allianz, which is the largest-ever investment in a Chinese financial institution. He advised China National Offshore Oil Company (CNOOC) on its proposed $19 billion acquisition of Unocal, which is the largest-ever attempted takeover by a Chinese company. He completed the global initial public offerings of Air China, China Construction Bank, Sinopec, China Unicom, Chalco, Baidu.com and others, as well as offerings of sovereign debt by the Ministry of Finance of the People Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 On 3/30/2011 at 8:35 AM, Csnewbie said: I alrdy solved the problem-->reduced population. But they said got security threat.....knn. That's why... you never analyse like this guy. Reduce population as main solution. Security threat just hire more gurkhas and 6 year sign on with the SAF as min entry for citizenship. PR 2 1/2 years. Gurkha pay just raise or introduce taxes. GST 10%, SST(Sg Security Tax) 10% but start off as 4% should be able to pay off the security le. Combine Cisco with Chubb and put them to work with commando training so they can do more than just issue parking fines. The rest of it can make it up as we go along.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latio2005A Turbocharged March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 On 3/30/2011 at 8:58 AM, Latio2005A said: Maybe he should stand for Presidential election instead. He is more than qualified Forget to add, if he gets elected as President, siao liao the govt....where is the key? where is the reserve? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 On 3/30/2011 at 8:58 AM, Latio2005A said: Maybe he should stand for Presidential election instead. He is more than qualified Well if he has a better prata recipe, why not? I love prata! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 our side talents also very talented mah. 1-upgrade lifts. 2-election and won. 3-disappeared. 4-election coming. 5-proposed more lifts upgrade. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 On 3/30/2011 at 3:27 AM, Bavarian said: My progress was also very fast. I was promoted 4 times in the space of 9 months, Rec-Pte-Cpl-3SG. I reckon I would have hit one or two star after my 10 year cycle if that carried on but then, my career stagnanted and I henta kaki until MR. my progress is also very fast and even more promotion in a short time. Rec-OCT(1whitebar)-OCT(2whitebars)-OCT(3whitebars)-2LT-LTA. hmmmm... should i sign on instead? but then again, "i really dunno what am i defending anymore". =p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 On 3/30/2011 at 2:32 AM, Nlstch said: Isn't corporate skill more demanding than political skill? Anyone in his position who advised wrongly will see their job gone within the next few days. You see our minister, how many mistake have they done and what happened to them? "Let move on" !!!!!! What you said is true, but only half the story.......... the other half:- politics is as dirty as a unflushed toilet bowl x 1000........ some miw is the vetaran after 45 years I sincerely wish Mr Chen wisdom and courage against all the dirty tricks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 On 3/30/2011 at 2:40 AM, Yahgo22 said: Ah Long has the shortest Working History : 1) A regular in the SAF (From xxx to xxx ) 2) Politician (Presently) so he confirmed not a job hopper.......... but then again who would job hop in a family business? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 On 3/30/2011 at 2:58 AM, Viceroymenthol said: This Chen Show Mao guy is a corporate/M&A lawyer in private practice in law firm lah. Hired gun. They are normal people except that they work very long hours and are somewhat intelligent. There is nothing in his CV that says he was responsible for making executive, management and operational decisions for large corporation or even employed by a large corporation in a management role. Being in private practice, advising and working on corporate deals is TOTALLY different from actually MANAGING and RUNNING a large corporation hor. He may be a good corporate lawyer but can he manage a country? So it seems to me that this guy is no different from the hundreds of corporate lawyers in singapore, both in practice and in-house, who have worked on billion dollar deals for their corporate clients before. Working on big corporate deals is no biggie for any practising lawyer who has reached a certain rank. Go serach online for the CV of all the partners and junior partners of the bigger law firms in Singapore and every one of them will have a tua-kang-looking CV like this Chen guy's, believe it or not. So all of them got potential to contest in GE and run the country? For every Chen Show Mao, there is an Alvin Yeo, SC, from Wong P, with even bigger and relevant (to Singapore) credentials. The PAP has a stranglehold on the best lawyers in Singapore. one question: who in the current ruling party has prior political experience before they entered it? .... wrote so long but said nothing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 On 3/30/2011 at 6:04 AM, Ender said: Even if this mao guy won a seat, he will not be the gahment. The gahment will stil be the lighning guys. But it's still good if he won a seat , with his credential, I hope he plays a better devil's advocate to expose any weakness in the gahment policies.. As for now, non of our opposition are of this calibre yet. Yes, agree......... vote wisely!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 On 3/30/2011 at 12:58 PM, Latio2005A said: Forget to add, if he gets elected as President, siao liao the govt....where is the key? where is the reserve? miw is hi tech these days... they no long use manual key... it's a digital combinaton lock you see.... but if the new President asks for the code number... miw will give him 0979836490237508435-0843597219869258-436589410523109875-021958-=21-08514-3=67431=-97581275802309750175-287509230597057430965730975049317509143754354354, and this is only page one of pages 100000000000000000000000 ............... now, lets hope new presi has the memory for it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 On 3/30/2011 at 5:19 PM, KARTer said: miw is hi tech these days... they no long use manual key... it's a digital combinaton lock you see.... but if the new President asks for the code number... miw will give him 0979836490237508435-0843597219869258-436589410523109875-021958-=21-08514-3=67431=-97581275802309750175-287509230597057430965730975049317509143754354354, and this is only page one of pages 100000000000000000000000 ............... now, lets hope new presi has the memory for it not only that, u need to enter a 256bit encrpytion key. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged March 31, 2011 Share March 31, 2011 On 3/30/2011 at 2:19 PM, Ladykillerz said: my progress is also very fast and even more promotion in a short time. Rec-OCT(1whitebar)-OCT(2whitebars)-OCT(3whitebars)-2LT-LTA. hmmmm... should i sign on instead? but then again, "i really dunno what am i defending anymore". =p wow...5 promotions in 24 mths. Another 24 months you'll be a brigadier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged March 31, 2011 Share March 31, 2011 SIngaporeans.... Common, if EVEN a guy like Chen Show Mao you also say not good, nitpick here and there.... I say I give up hope. Seriously, if Chen Show Mao loses in the upcoming election, I will probably think seriously about migrating. What sort of opposition are you asking for? If someone like Chan Show Mao loses, do you think ANY MORE singaporeans will stand up and run for opposition? Who else here has a better CV than him? I am willing to vote a monkey in just to encourage more able singaporeans to stand up and run for office. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megatop 3rd Gear March 31, 2011 Share March 31, 2011 On 3/30/2011 at 2:58 AM, Viceroymenthol said: This Chen Show Mao guy is a corporate/M&A lawyer in private practice in law firm lah. Hired gun. They are normal people except that they work very long hours and are somewhat intelligent. There is nothing in his CV that says he was responsible for making executive, management and operational decisions for large corporation or even employed by a large corporation in a management role. Being in private practice, advising and working on corporate deals is TOTALLY different from actually MANAGING and RUNNING a large corporation hor. He may be a good corporate lawyer but can he manage a country? So it seems to me that this guy is no different from the hundreds of corporate lawyers in singapore, both in practice and in-house, who have worked on billion dollar deals for their corporate clients before. Working on big corporate deals is no biggie for any practising lawyer who has reached a certain rank. Go serach online for the CV of all the partners and junior partners of the bigger law firms in Singapore and every one of them will have a tua-kang-looking CV like this Chen guy's, believe it or not. So all of them got potential to contest in GE and run the country? For every Chen Show Mao, there is an Alvin Yeo, SC, from Wong P, with even bigger and relevant (to Singapore) credentials. The PAP has a stranglehold on the best lawyers in Singapore. We have a few surgeons turned Ministers. They were the brightest in their fields. Don't tell me they were so talented that they could manage our country? Chen Show Mao is coming out to run for office, in the opposition no less. I think he can and will give the PAP a run for their money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Best_ctzn Clutched March 31, 2011 Share March 31, 2011 On 3/31/2011 at 12:27 AM, Wind30 said: SIngaporeans.... Common, if EVEN a guy like Chen Show Mao you also say not good, nitpick here and there.... I say I give up hope. Seriously, if Chen Show Mao loses in the upcoming election, I will probably think seriously about migrating. What sort of opposition are you asking for? If someone like Chan Show Mao loses, do you think ANY MORE singaporeans will stand up and run for opposition? Who else here has a better CV than him? I am willing to vote a monkey in just to encourage more able singaporeans to stand up and run for office. Has this guy been living in Singapore all this while? Can somebody fill in how long he has been in foreign countries? Can he be a credible voice who understand your problems? He could be a mouth-piece, but whose? Worst would be of foreign influence. By virtue of this, he is OUT. And do not be worry about lack of ppl going to opposition fold, there will always be no lack of them! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...