OMG. His Credential damn scary. Chen Show Mao

Yahgo22

  On 3/30/2011 at 2:17 AM, Duckduck said:

sorry but reality is this guy is another ant gona get zapped by lightning. he has corporate skills but his political background is zero. he has more chance getting a senate seat in the US as there is $ talks. Here is only 1 familee talks. dun kid ourselves

Isn't corporate skill more demanding than political skill? Anyone in his position who advised wrongly will see their job gone within the next few days. You see our minister, how many mistake have they done and what happened to them? "Let move on" !!!!!!

On 3/30/2011 at 2:28 AM, Yahgo22 said:

The Credential of the highest paid leader in the world.

He studied mathematics at Trinity College, Cambridge University, where he graduated in 1974 with First Class Honours in Mathematics and a Diploma in Computer Science (with distinction). He subsequently obtained a Master of Public Administration (MPA) from Harvard University's Kennedy School of Government in 1980.

Lee joined the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) in 1971 and rose quickly through the ranks becoming the youngest Brigadier General in Singapore's history.

** His promortion in the military is like the bungee jumping at Clarke Quay.

it's all in the name... <_<<_<

Ah Long has the shortest Working History :

1) A regular in the SAF (From xxx to xxx )

2) Politician (Presently)

On 3/30/2011 at 2:32 AM, Nlstch said:

Isn't corporate skill more demanding than political skill? Anyone in his position who advised wrongly will see their job gone within the next few days. You see our minister, how many mistake have they done and what happened to them? "Let move on" !!!!!!

This Chen Show Mao guy is a corporate/M&A lawyer in private practice in law firm lah. Hired gun. They are normal people except that they work very long hours and are somewhat intelligent. There is nothing in his CV that says he was responsible for making executive, management and operational decisions for large corporation or even employed by a large corporation in a management role.

Being in private practice, advising and working on corporate deals is TOTALLY different from actually MANAGING and RUNNING a large corporation hor. He may be a good corporate lawyer but can he manage a country? So it seems to me that this guy is no different from the hundreds of corporate lawyers in singapore, both in practice and in-house, who have worked on billion dollar deals for their corporate clients before.

Working on big corporate deals is no biggie for any practising lawyer who has reached a certain rank. Go serach online for the CV of all the partners and junior partners of the bigger law firms in Singapore and every one of them will have a tua-kang-looking CV like this Chen guy's, believe it or not. So all of them got potential to contest in GE and run the country?

For every Chen Show Mao, there is an Alvin Yeo, SC, from Wong P, with even bigger and relevant (to Singapore) credentials. The PAP has a stranglehold on the best lawyers in Singapore.

he has corporate skills but his political background is zero.

who has prior political background before they join?

Even LKY got no political experience before he became a politician. he ever run a country before singapore mei?

I don think any school in the world teaches anyone to be a politician, all OJT one la. no?

with this in mind, i don see why we cant give those aspire, no experience opposition politician a chance.

Edited by Tom_kkh

  On 3/30/2011 at 3:11 AM, Tom_kkh said:

who has prior political background before they join?

Even LKY got no political experience before he became a politician. he ever run a country before singapore mei?

I don think any school in the world teaches anyone to be a politician, all OJT one la. no?

with this in mind, i don see why we cant give those aspire, no experience opposition politician a chance.

Our Ah Long, Ah Goh, Ah Wong & etc etc have meh?

Edited by Yahgo22

On 3/30/2011 at 2:28 AM, Yahgo22 said:

The Credential of the highest paid leader in the world.

He studied mathematics at Trinity College, Cambridge University, where he graduated in 1974 with First Class Honours in Mathematics and a Diploma in Computer Science (with distinction). He subsequently obtained a Master of Public Administration (MPA) from Harvard University's Kennedy School of Government in 1980.

Lee joined the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) in 1971 and rose quickly through the ranks becoming the youngest Brigadier General in Singapore's history.

** His promortion in the military is like the bungee jumping at Clarke Quay.

was he in the guiness book of records for the fastest promotion from recruit to general?

On 3/30/2011 at 3:15 AM, Yahgo22 said:

Our Ah Long, Ah Goh, Ah Wong & etc etc have meh?

as i mentioned, no politician in the world has any prior training before they embark on the political world. So what credential we are talking about?

  On 3/30/2011 at 2:58 AM, Viceroymenthol said:

This Chen Show Mao guy is a corporate/M&A lawyer in private practice in law firm lah. Hired gun. They are normal people except that they work very long hours and are somewhat intelligent. There is nothing in his CV that says he was responsible for making executive, management and operational decisions for large corporation or even employed by a large corporation in a management role.

Being in private practice, advising and working on corporate deals is TOTALLY different from actually MANAGING and RUNNING a large corporation hor. He may be a good corporate lawyer but can he manage a country? So it seems to me that this guy is no different from the hundreds of corporate lawyers in singapore, both in practice and in-house, who have worked on billion dollar deals for their corporate clients before.

Working on big corporate deals is no biggie for any practising lawyer who has reached a certain rank. Go serach online for the CV of all the partners and junior partners of the bigger law firms in Singapore and every one of them will have a tua-kang-looking CV like this Chen guy's, believe it or not. So all of them got potential to contest in GE and run the country?

For every Chen Show Mao, there is an Alvin Yeo, SC, from Wong P, with even bigger and relevant (to Singapore) credentials. The PAP has a stranglehold on the best lawyers in Singapore.

You are right and you are not.

The ability to steer a company through M & A like that shows an ability to think strategically and analyse issues very well. It is in the way he applies what he know, in anticipating issues and managing the process.

But if you want to argue that this guy is little more than a "hired gun", what then would your opinion be of the latest PAP canidate - her of Kate SPade fame?

Which of the two would you trust more to be a part of government?

On 3/30/2011 at 3:22 AM, Unidentified said:

was he in the guiness book of records for the fastest promotion from recruit to general?

My progress was also very fast. I was promoted 4 times in the space of 9 months, Rec-Pte-Cpl-3SG. I reckon I would have hit one or two star after my 10 year cycle if that carried on but then, my career stagnanted and I henta kaki until MR. [bigcry]

On 3/30/2011 at 3:27 AM, Bavarian said:

My progress was also very fast. I was promoted 4 times in the space of 9 months, Rec-Pte-Cpl-3SG. I reckon I would have hit one or two star after my 10 year cycle if that carried on but then, my career stagnanted and I henta kaki until MR. [bigcry]

i think you were short changed bro... you should enlist again.. I'll have a word with the current chief of army, good friend of mine... we'll have you promoted very quickly again - 3SG, SSG, SSSG SSSSG, SSSSSG by the time you hit 50, your rank will be SSG-to-power-of10! [:p]

Even if this mao guy won a seat, he will not be the gahment. The gahment will stil be the lighning guys. But it's still good if he won a seat , with his credential, I hope he plays a better devil's advocate to expose any weakness in the gahment policies.. As for now, non of our opposition are of this calibre yet.

sorry but reality is this guy is another ant gona get zapped by lightning. he has corporate skills but his political background is zero. he has more chance getting a senate seat in the US as there is $ talks. Here is only 1 familee talks. dun kid ourselves

Do you see that 27 year old sweet pie cum strawberry shortcake potential MP chosen by lighting, by any chance, has any political background? except being in some grassroot org and having a hubby that is PA to Ah loong?...come on...with Chen's corp background..he should be able to challenge the MIW in term of economic policy and ways to improve Singapore....understand he might join the WP for coming GE....with his background, he can join the lighting anytime...if he choose likewise..that said something about this man....very interesting...

Edited by LoverofCar

On 3/30/2011 at 3:27 AM, Bavarian said:

why never sign on? [laugh]