Grix17 Clutched April 7, 2011 Share April 7, 2011 All these merely say that Toyota is RELIABLE, even in extreme conditions .. but ultimately not too exciting. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eng40765 1st Gear April 7, 2011 Share April 7, 2011 On 4/2/2011 at 3:28 AM, 13177 said: Thought if u are a toyota fan, during your entire life and u will at least own one Corolla Altis once. All my friends and relatives who only thought and know toyota is the "best" car, they have bought a Corolla or Corolla Altis before, although some of them might have already own some other make/model. I like the 2004 to 2005 era vios model, looks really sporty with the bodykits and the look really look fresher than other popular model during tht time. I almost wanted to get one for myself, but the price tag of $65K back then put me off! And i also dun like current vios, design looks so ugly. To add to your point above, my friends/family who thought toyota is the "best" car is coming from the reliability and cost point of views, not design/gadgets. Boring never came to their mind. Everyone knows there are cheaper and nicer 1.6 lits koreans/chinese out there and more comfortable and turbo 1.6 contis out there. One thing Toyota can do is come out with a radically difference design for their cars like honda / mazda did but they didnt do that. A new line of design can help increase their market share since reliability is there. Toyota parts (like nissan, maybe honda slightly higher) are not high cost and readily available, ask any workshop they will tell you. This lead to lower cost of maintenance (due to simpler design) and parts etc as compared to Contis. Toyota has never tried to beat the high end market with toyota, they do that with Lexus globally but tech/design wise, Lexus is still boring as compared to Audi/BMW etc. Altis will always look and be basic because thats the strategy. Those who has tried corolla might try Lexus when they have more cash and still want some reliability. All boils down to market acceptance, Toyota wouldnt be number one without this strategy . Maybe one day, Contis like BMW would come out with a "corolla" class. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear April 7, 2011 Share April 7, 2011 Before buying my first car, I went around asking friends, uncles, second car dealers and workshops which brand is most reliable and all tells me Toyota. However, I only own Toyota once coz the design. As for the truth to me, frankly, for day to day driving, Toyota is one damn good car to move around without any stress. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear April 7, 2011 Share April 7, 2011 On 3/29/2011 at 10:58 AM, Gt2929 said: I dun think my Toyota is boring leh from ur avatar, we drive the same Toyota leh Ok la, its a pleasure to drive it. still abit boring Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear April 7, 2011 Share April 7, 2011 On 4/7/2011 at 1:44 AM, Grix17 said: All these merely say that Toyota is RELIABLE, even in extreme conditions .. but ultimately not too exciting. That is the whole point! And that is why Toyota vehicles sell so well! It is made "boring", more due to its predictability and stability.. I am making an assumption here, but I think what folks here are trying to say is Toyota cars lacks emotion or feel of being driven by vehicle. That emotive *touch* is missing..... The late-Toyota test driver, Hiromu Naruse, call this Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gt2929 1st Gear April 7, 2011 Share April 7, 2011 Hehehe ya lor abit boring maybe due to no steering feel... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Majordan 2nd Gear April 7, 2011 Share April 7, 2011 different car got different niche market la... not everyone wanna look 'sporty' or worship 'conti' ppl who appreciate Toyotas probably thinks Mazda, BMW or VW look very juvenile.. aka "see ghin na" cars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear April 7, 2011 Share April 7, 2011 On 4/7/2011 at 3:08 AM, Renegade777 said: Before buying my first car, I went around asking friends, uncles, second car dealers and workshops which brand is most reliable and all tells me Toyota. However, I only own Toyota once coz the design. As for the truth to me, frankly, for day to day driving, Toyota is one damn good car to move around without any stress. nobody poking your rear, thus moving around no stress Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppie24 1st Gear April 7, 2011 Share April 7, 2011 On 4/7/2011 at 3:45 AM, Gt2929 said: Hehehe ya lor abit boring maybe due to no steering feel... Talking about steering feel, someone spoil his steering motor and it cost liao $3k+ to replace! NB....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikelcy1963 1st Gear April 7, 2011 Share April 7, 2011 On 4/7/2011 at 3:24 AM, Wishcumstrue said: That is the whole point! And that is why Toyota vehicles sell so well! It is made "boring", more due to its predictability and stability.. I am making an assumption here, but I think what folks here are trying to say is Toyota cars lacks emotion or feel of being driven by vehicle. That emotive *touch* is missing..... The late-Toyota test driver, Hiromu Naruse, call this Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lazydala Neutral Newbie April 7, 2011 Share April 7, 2011 .... from pure Toyota brand, I find Landcruiser Prado and Mark X are exciting... Just that BM do not carry .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gt2929 1st Gear April 8, 2011 Share April 8, 2011 Huh...steering motor oso can spoil??? WTH 3k+ to replace...omg... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
NAI011 Clutched April 8, 2011 Share April 8, 2011 i would second that cause ever own 2004 VIOS but upgrade to CIVIC FD ... the VIOS is good reliable car could hit 180 with minor mod ....but space constrain ...... miss my SFQ996R ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...