Gearoil 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 I share this thought. The high pricing mainly means we have to work our asses off to pay off our loans. What HIGH PRICES..you buy what you can afford ..comfortably or else stay with your own parents and don't get married if you CAN"T EARN A GOOD INCOME! How does it benefit Sgeans when we sell high and buy high, with no real value add to the quality of life? We are mostly sitting on a paper profit. WHO ASKED YOU TO SELL? You are supposed to stay in it and stay PUT! Should our future generations slough their way just for a place to stay? The only winners, like most have said here, are the PRs who sell and profit-take before returning to their M'sia, Indo etc hometowns with lots of spare change. Not counting their CPF full withdrawals too. Slough what? As I have said in my first reply the same applies...you are just repeating the same woes of yours! Most of us can't afford to do that mainly due to our roots here i.e. parents, children, relatives, frens, jobs...What roots you talking? If you can't afford ....MY same reply applies...you are again repeating your woes! I worry for our children when I see this:You worry about yourself first lah...don't come here to talk cxok and project your worries onto your supposed dependents, who have to earn their own rights in society! MM Lee: Your HDB home value will never drop ("85% of Singaporeans are living in HDB flats and we intend to keep the values of these homes up. It will never go down," said MM Lee.) I feel like an MP answering this bugger's post! No wonder many MP HATE to attend the Meet the People's Session! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 look at taipei and beijing/shanghai the 'new' generation is totally give up and said ... i will never ever be able to own a flat for myself ... ever ..... are we going that direction? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Author Share March 30, 2011 Surprisingly most bros here are pretty long sighted and can think beyond themselves and for the next generation?!! This does not seems to gel with the majority that Mah was talking about. I guess none of the bros here were polled by the newspaper. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 Agree wif u on the financial planning and expectation part. Gahmen on the other hand shud just go ahead to build flats, not under the BTO scheme. This scheme is causing problems for those in need to buy a flat urgently. And I dare say prices sold direct fm HDB are not subsidized at all. Worry for children? Why worry? When parents die, they inherit property and its up to them to rent or sell it. So why worry? Does that mean when when your son got married, its time for you to die ?? Therefore your logic is Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 the word "affordability" is subjective... if you earn 8k, including your wife (6-8k), of course this is affordability... we shall be looking at majority... whose income hovering around 3k max (take home) or even lower... this group of ppl form the majority..after doing some maths, you will realise you are a SLAVE to your housing loan... in future, my kid probably drawing 10k/monthly (3-5% inflation) How much will a unit (4 room) cost?? 1 mil5mil?? or even 10 mil??? Thats the reason why people have been saying the million dollars govt don't know what is "affordability" to the commoners any more. They only like to use statistics and tell you someone with a household income of S$1500 can afford to have a fulltime housewife, 5 childrens and living in a 5 room flat. Affordable living right? Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 As the discussion goes, it is more depressing...........will SG be the future for our next generation? suck thumb... sell you flat to finance theirs... if you have 2 kids.... and each of them have to buy a 500k flat... u sell your 500k flat.... give them 25 % as downpayment...rest keep yourself.. go old folks home and live till u die if you have 4 kids... each get 25% and u have nothing left... kids are busying financing their loans.. no extra $$ for you... u will be push from 1 family to another... left to rot and die!!! hhaaaa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daniel3 Clutched March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 Hi All, Remember the time that HDB aim is to provide housing for SINGAPOREANS AND SINGAPOREANS Only. in the 1990s,hdb 5 room flat is only S$50k ony.singaporeans is able to have a house and enough money for retirement in their cpf account. In order to push for higher growth,they allow PRs to buy into hdb flats,pushing the price to now what is today.500k,600k now all flats have to pay for in 30 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 Don't worry folks, MBT have ready many places in the many columbariums in Singapore, all at affordable prices. He will keep to his promise that u will all be able to afford housing one way or the other(world). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 i clear my loan in 4 yrs time... i dont wan to be another fool, walking into the trap... This is what the govt fear most. Everybody loan free and huge saving... them everybody decided to retire and shake leg... what happen to the GDP? Their KPI and their BONUS? and their peanut pay slip? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 This is what the govt fear most. Everybody loan free and huge saving... them everybody decided to retire and shake leg... what happen to the GDP? Their KPI and their BONUS? and their peanut pay slip? Fear what? You are wrong as usual lah!...you got study simple economy or not? You make such a comment becos you are already dead biased towards the gov....that is the PAP! If ppl are loan free of their housing...most if not ALL govs would be super happy for them! They are not longer a burden to the gov and society for their housing and can have more money to invest and move the economy! The aim is to strive for ppl to retire... based on their own independent income and NOT ON THEIR CPF ALONE! With important loans paid up...the entire GDP will flourish and their KPI more than achieved. Of course , the Papies as usual will claim FULL credit for it ( theye should only take part credit lah)..and get BIG rewards for it too! While it is actually the prudence of each individual who should claim to do so. MCFers really have to buck up...... to put more constructive comments especailly on issues like this!.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 Surprisingly most bros here are pretty long sighted and can think beyond themselves and for the next generation?!! This does not seems to gel with the majority that Mah was talking about. I guess none of the bros here were polled by the newspaper. Frankly there is nothing wrong with property price appreciation. In tandem with the salary increase, always slower is ideal. In the past, HDB flats are priced almost the same in any area of SG. Why since 1990s the change of plans ? Pegging the price of new flats slightly lower than resale ? Can you imagine if the same old basic principles are not changed. Will it be better ? Public housing - pls define the true meaning. Why should PRs be allowed to buy Resale HDB ? If t hey rent say $2000/mth, its money thrown to the drain. Now they are allowed to buy, even the price bought $500k and did not appreciate, they saved their $2000/mth. my place got so many Bills stick by Agents saying ready PRs willing to pay Top $ for any house shows PRs are sucking $ from our flawed system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 Remember MBT tells us recently, if u plan to buy property don't buy now, wait a while more? Could it be a real hint? Could it be that due to GE coming, over the last 2 years he cannot let property prices slide because he needs the votes of home owners more than home seekers, but once he gets voted in again, he plans to reverse the upwards trend and start making prices go south? So -> Win GE - Year 1-2 price dives 10%- year 3 stabilize - year 4-5 price rockets 30%- Win GE - Year 1-2 price dives 10% - year 3 stabilize - year 4-5 price rockets 30%- repeat..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Author Share March 30, 2011 Frankly there is nothing wrong with property price appreciation. In tandem with the salary increase, always slower is ideal. In the past, HDB flats are priced almost the same in any area of SG. Why since 1990s the change of plans ? Pegging the price of new flats slightly lower than resale ? Can you imagine if the same old basic principles are not changed. Will it be better ? Public housing - pls define the true meaning. Why should PRs be allowed to buy Resale HDB ? If t hey rent say $2000/mth, its money thrown to the drain. Now they are allowed to buy, even the price bought $500k and did not appreciate, they saved their $2000/mth. my place got so many Bills stick by Agents saying ready PRs willing to pay Top $ for any house shows PRs are sucking $ from our flawed system. I totally agree with what you said. Appreciation is normal with inflation and growth. But when it runs out of control you start seeing the ripple effects it has on society. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zak7182 Neutral Newbie March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 is he really doing a good job? The most dumbest question..... Heads shall roll upcoming erection.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 Frankly there is nothing wrong with property price appreciation. In tandem with the salary increase, always slower is ideal. In the past, HDB flats are priced almost the same in any area of SG.Canyou say what is in the past can apply presently?...do you even realise alot has changed...even the aspiration of the presnt generation? Why since 1990s the change of plans ? Pegging the price of new flats slightly lower than resale ? As long as it is lower, you cannot say it is NOT cheaper leh! IT IS STILL CHEAPER...and that IS A FACT! Can you imagine if the same old basic principles are not changed. Will it be better ?You alway live in the past? Wanting more amenties and modern building ....with old prices is it? GET REAL! Public housing - pls define the true meaning. It means it is open to the public as a first option to owning a housing...if you can't afford it now...it is becos you lack way behind in your earning abilities! Why should PRs be allowed to buy Resale HDB ? Why you red eye is it? They buy resale ....you go buy direct from HDB lah! why you complain becos you can't afford resale? Is this NOT your own fault? If they rent say $2000/mth, its money thrown to the drain. Now they are allowed to buy, even the price bought $500k and did not appreciate, they saved their $2000/mth. How others run their life ..you also want ot kapo and say....YOU TAKE CARE OF YOUR OWN WITH YOUR OWN MEANS LAH! my place got so many Bills stick by Agents saying ready PRs willing to pay Top $ for any house shows PRs are sucking $ from our flawed system.Why you so disturbed by all this bills? they are PRs buying resale.... why are you so troubled?...You mean you want to kapo on other ppl's life too? If you are to gain now from selling and get a huge PROFIT ...I bet you WOULD NOT BE COMPLAINING Complaining for the sake of complaining is it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 who said no Sporean would want to give up citizenship. I want, in fact I qualify for some countries already but problem is my parents don't want Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 (edited) guys....first of all, we need to look at this objectively. if you are looking from the affordability point of view, of course you will kpkb if home prices go up. But if you own a house, obviously you would want to see its value goes up rather then go down right? So his point of rising home prices is a good thing is not wrong. If your home prices have drop instead, you will be in deeper problems because you will need to take out cash to top up your loan. However, a lot of pple here are not happy because they are looking from the affordability point of view. But this a totally different issue. If your kids cannot afford, then it will be a financial planning and expectations issue rather than because house prices went up. I mean is there anyone who owns a house would want their house prices to plunge so that their kids can afford it? So don't lump the two issue together. Rising house equity is good for house owners, but if the next generation cannot afford it, then they just have to compromise their expectations, locations, a smaller house, and do more financial planning beforehand. The chief problem here is.. NEW FLATS are priced according the MARKET VALUE and NOT actual building costs.. You want to let property price fluctuate according to market force, please do so - for open market AND private sector. But we're looking a new flats whose potential buyers are newlyweds. Why priced them according to market forces? Edited March 30, 2011 by Shull Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 shd try to pay up asap..300k for 30 yrs is indeed very affordable. Think abt cars, we pay 1 k every mth for it! I just did a quick calculation, with all the interest put in, it's still as good as paying approx 1k/mth... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...