Mah Bow Tan on his good job in raising your asset value

Greatbirdlegend

should tweak the name of Build To Order to Build After Order (BAO).

Also stands for BAO (tan lui) :ph34r:

The risks the developer (HDB) faced have been greatly reduced with the introduction of BTO.

Edited by Megatop

The truth is that you can only make money IF you can afford to buy another unit in addition to the one that you're living in. We're staying here for good. We're not like some foreigners who can totally sell out, cash out their current unit and return to home countries to live like kings.

For most people, what they're staying in is almost certainly HDB. Their 2nd unit absolutely cannot be HDB, only private. Which makes it quite an impossible dream for average (and even upper average) income earners these days with the ridiculous prices quoted.

So, high prices for what?? Can eat, har?? The high prices eventually end up being a burden to our next generations.

This is why I totally disagree with PRs buying resale HDB. Public Housing are for Citizens only.

Can PRs in HKG buy Public flats ??

Good illustration..

Wow..didnt know Sengkang 4 room pigeon hole so expensive..$450k average??? WTF.. :blink:

I nearly bought an exec flat in compassvale street, near compass point from HDB at $280k+ in 2008..but back out coz i prefer stay in mature estate & near parents...

Ahem.. May I suggest him to continue the 'good job' by raising all singapore 3/4/5 rm flats above $1m. Then all singaporeans will become millionaires because of his 'good work'. [laugh][hur]

Inflation will hit 80%.

Next time you must push a trolley full of cash to buy a loaf of bread just like Zimbabwe

There is definitely nothing wrong with rising value of HDB flat. The problem is that new flats are priced according to resale values.

here is my theory ....

if supply > demand, hdb resale price will not go crazy. if hdb resale price did not go crazy, the "market value" will not go up.

if market value don't go up, new hdb flat is not able to price at "inflated" market value, give you $30k/$40k subsidy and yet still make a very very handsome profit because the selling price is not based on "cost of making" but "market value". on the other hand, give you $30k/$40k leh ... you think really give you money ar ... whose money ar ... it's a number game only.

since hdb don't have coe, then must inflate its OMV gao gao la ..... [laugh]

yeah ... hdb is an asset but that is 25 years later ... now i collect money chop chop first. whether in the future you can actually turn a fully paid hdb into $$ either by re-mortgage to cash out or downgrade that's another story. by then, there could be another policy liao ! by the way, when you fully paid the hdb in 25 years or so, even you sell the house, you must also return the 25 years accrued interest hor on top of what you have used to service the loan.

There is definitely nothing wrong with rising value of HDB flat. The problem is that new flats are priced according to resale values.

exactly.. That's why everyone has been asking Marlboro Tan to be transparent in the costs of building a HDB flat..

Yes very good job indeed, but i have one suggestion.

1rm flat - $1M

2rm flat - $2M

3rm flat - $3M

4rm flat - $4M

5rm flat - $5M

Exc flat - $6M

This way everyone can downgrade smaller flat YET earn at least $1M mah.

Otherwise, current pricing, I downgrade to smaller flat also LPPL earn nothing, so what CORK MBT talking?

is he really doing a good job?

Well hell yes! If not how come these blokes are still around?

Either you kick their arses or get yours kicked.

By now your hineys should be raw and numb from these "more good years" [laugh]

exactly.. That's why everyone has been asking Marlboro Tan to be transparent in the costs of building a HDB flat..

exactly.... [;)]

i wondering what's made my sub 200k 5 rm raised to 450k range... [laugh]

i pity those fresh grad... after 30 yrs... cpf (OA)not even 6 digits!!!! [bigcry]

the so-called affordable is not affordable at all... cos at the end of the day...u are left with nothing but a flat and mediasave /special account... u have no $$$ to drink even a cup of coffee everyday...have a pack of lunchbox and probably rely on your kids for dinner, whose struggling hard to fight inflation!!! [sweatdrop]

if he ever walk past and ACCEPT negative comments, i will walk over and ask him about the inflation. [:)]

Selling at high price.....buy another property with high price...LPPL....unless Singapore got caves for you to live in.....so no need to buy another house...TALK c--k ONLY LAH!

east coast seaside can? [laugh]

Yes very good job indeed, but i have one suggestion.

1rm flat - $1M

2rm flat - $2M

3rm flat - $3M

4rm flat - $4M

5rm flat - $5M

Exc flat - $6M

This way everyone can downgrade smaller flat YET earn at least $1M mah.

Otherwise, current pricing, I downgrade to smaller flat also LPPL earn nothing, so what CORK MBT talking?

you think Jap Yen ar.... [laugh]

sell your $450k flat and see you can buy another flat at lower price with the same size and quality ... hehe

exactly.... [;)]

i wondering what's made my sub 200k 5 rm raised to 450k range... [laugh]

i pity those fresh grad... after 30 yrs... cpf (OA)not even 6 digits!!!! [bigcry]

the so-called affordable is not affordable at all... cos at the end of the day...u are left with nothing but a flat and mediasave /special account... u have no $$$ to drink even a cup of coffee everyday...have a pack of lunchbox and probably rely on your kids for dinner, whose struggling hard to fight inflation!!! [sweatdrop]

if he ever walk past and ACCEPT negative comments, i will walk over and ask him about the inflation. [:)]

sell your $450k flat and see you can buy another flat at lower price with the same size and quality ... hehe

i clear my loan in 4 yrs time... i dont wan to be another fool, walking into the trap... [:p]

Rising housing in the end benefits speculators who already have a roof over their head, or buyer who eventually would sell off their property to live off another country when the time is ripe for them. Does not benefit sgrean who made here home.

The way things going, affordabel living can only comes in a cages.. MAchiam like the cage peolpe in HK last time.. I worry for our future generations and any good gahment should have the same worry..

Edited by Ender

How to be transparent?

Last time, new flats are sold accordingly to actual costs and resale flats are base on demand and location.

Nowadays all new flats prices are base on resale HDB prices minus 50 to 80 thousand...

That's why he said it is complicated.....because no matter where to jerk up the cost also cannot justify HDB selling prices.....