Curahee 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 I remember he say flat should not be treated like investment but now he say flat value keep increasing is gd which in turn make it like an investment tool... A bit contradicting lei ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 leaving a country for good requires some self-determination. anything can be done. Absolutely agree. Windwaver, since you're able to qualify, do take the step and get out of this slave machinery. For the price of a Low end condo unit here, you can build a palace in most SEA countries with cash to spare or a respectable sized house complete with garage and car in other actual 1st world countries. I'm also looking to migrate. There's nothing left here for me or my children other than slavery. Migrate. Join MNC come back SG as PR. Buy flats meant for Sgreans. Sell and move back to chosen home after flat appreciates. COLD HARD CASH. Sgreans still paying thru their nose on paper.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 I remember he say flat should not be treated like investment but now he say flat value keep increasing is gd which in turn make it like an investment tool... A bit contradicting lei [laugh] he only tell u that the value will appreciate which is good in paper... but didnt ask u to make this as part of the investment folio... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 That's why there's such a thing called MOP. You get flats at way below market value, you cannot flip the flat for profit for a min number of years. After which, it's open market and whatever prices are dictated by market forces. Remember, if i decided to sell the flat and gain some profits, i will need to buy a new place to stay, and i've to get that from the open market. Sell high, buy high. Unless i downgrade, it's very difficult to profit out of it. The point i'm trying to make is, new HDBs are meant for first time buyers to have an affordable place to start a family. If they price it out of reach for young couples, how to make them start a family? Let alone have kids? O.K so it seems that both of us has agreed that if you sell high ..you buy high.. so it's better to stay than sell or move.....unlike some forumers here that don't even see this point and bring in PR and FT to the issue. I'll try to answer your 2nd question. Incomes have risen ....this... you must agree, that is why many couples have harped upon why the pervious income ceiling ( $8k) was set and they ( as couple) earn much more now...so they increase the ceiling to $10k. Meaning that now, ppl have so much money that they are calling for the gov to rise the ceiling so that they qualify to buy HDB! So it seems that ppl who are complaining, are those who fall back behind in society and blame the gov for their woes in life! THESE PPL SHOULD BE BLAMING THEMSELVES!...for being half baked in life and can't earn a good income! So your point does not cut it ...as a matter of fact.... it goes against HARD FACTS that young couples can't find HDB affordable nowadays. In reality, young professional couples are now NOT LOOKING at mere HDBs..they are going for DBSS and even condos! There will always be a segment of ppl in society that do not improve and some even get worse as the standard of living gets higher. In fact, some Sinkie fare much worse ( and all having at least 16 years of english education) when they compete with FTs and PRs!....totally terrible! If one were to fall behind....there is nothing much to blame except for himself/herself. This is another HARD FACT. Some Sinkie are out to make it look like HDB are out of reach for first time buyers but infact , these first time buyers are really to be blamed...they choose and pick the HDB they want and reject them if they do not suit them....and they cry father mother....that it was becos it was too expensive but the REAL reasons were otherwise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 (edited) 羊毛出在羊身上 剃了毛拿来用,那就要赤裸上阵。 Edited March 30, 2011 by Csnewbie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 (edited) [laugh] he only tell u that the value will appreciate which is good in paper... but didnt ask u to make this as part of the investment folio... ya lor......technical BS. Edited March 30, 2011 by Csnewbie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 O.K so it seems that both of us has agreed that if you sell high ..you buy high.. so it's better to stay than sell or move.....unlike some forumers here that don't even see this point and bring in PR and FT to the issue. I'll try to answer your 2nd question. Incomes have risen ....this... you must agree, that is why many couples have harped upon why the pervious income ceiling ( $8k) was set and they ( as couple) earn much more now...so they increase the ceiling to $10k. Meaning that now, ppl have so much money that they are calling for the gov to rise the ceiling so that they qualify to buy HDB! So it seems that ppl who are complaining, are those who fall back behind in society and blame the gov for their woes in life! THESE PPL SHOULD BE BLAMING THEMSELVES!...for being half baked in life and can't earn a good income! So your point does not cut it ...as a matter of fact.... it goes against HARD FACTS that young couples can't find HDB affordable nowadays. In reality, young professional couples are now NOT LOOKING at mere HDBs..they are going for DBSS and even condos! There will always be a segment of ppl in society that do not improve and some even get worse as the standard of living gets higher. In fact, some Sinkie fare much worse ( and all having at least 16 years of english education) when they compete with FTs and PRs!....totally terrible! If one were to fall behind....there is nothing much to blame except for himself/herself. This is another HARD FACT. Some Sinkie are out to make it look like HDB are out of reach for first time buyers but infact , these first time buyers are really to be blamed...they choose and pick the HDB they want and reject them if they do not suit them....and they cry father mother....that it was becos it was too expensive but the REAL reasons were otherwise. True, true. If HDB flats are so expensive, how come every BTO launch oversubscribed??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 today you play good cop? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 THESE PPL SHOULD BE BLAMING THEMSELVES!...for being half baked in life and can't earn a good income! Another selfish sinkie comment... Just becoz you think you made it in life, the gahment should neglect those who got left behind?? My wife employ some low income locals, they do really need gahment help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 True, true. If HDB flats are so expensive, how come every BTO launch oversubscribed??? tat is a sad thing in case you don't know. they don't even build enough flats for demand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Without_a_car Clutched March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 tat is a sad thing in case you don't know. they don't even build enough flats for demand. Where else in the world you find a government giving a low income family $60k housing grant to buy a new flat? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Author Share March 30, 2011 Another selfish sinkie comment... Just becoz you think you made it in life, the gahment should neglect those who got left behind?? My wife employ some low income locals, they do really need gahment help. Ignore the dumb racist la. Just a pathetic human being pretending to know it all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 $60K is peanut if the price is already marked up by $200-300K. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 at this rate, if sell a 4 room flat and downgrade to a 3 room, will i have spare cash for renovation? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 today you play good cop? Could be a different person...you know.... With the SAME NICK? How about me introducing some of my clones to you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 True, true. If HDB flats are so expensive, how come every BTO launch oversubscribed??? One of Singaporean weaknesses is kiasu. Scare don't subscribe now later price will increase further. If this mentality continues, how not to pay thru the nose? When I talked to a young married couple recently, they told me whether they like it or not, they still need a roof over their head to start a family. Buying a new flat seems a logical move for 1st timer like them. When asked why they would go for the pricey flat, they told me they only have 1 chance in life to buy the most ideal flat in SG (the subsequent one have to pay hefty levy in cash and lower chance of being balloted). Also this could be their only house. Most importantly, the HDB has painted a rosy picture that their flat is heavily subsidzed and will only appreciate and will not come down. So by buying a flat, they already gain alot. So the posion already been infused along the line that: 1. Get the best flat your current CPF/income can sustain; 2. Believe that the flat price must go up and will not come down (in a way support the idea that flat have to be expensive); 3. It is alright to use CPF to service 30 years loan since paper value will always go up faster than CPF interest; What many don't know is or choose to ignore is, can every native flat buyers be gainfully employed all the while and cope with the loan for the next 30 years? Of course, we say all should work hard lah and blah blah blah but most of them will only find their disposable income getting lesser and lesser as they aged. Actually I sorta agree that flat prices should not move faster than the mean increases in salary of the commoners. I.e. flat remain afforable and yet people have money to set aside CPF for retirement. If want good return and for investment purpose, let the foreigners and the well off ones fight it out in the open market. Leave the public housing alone i.e. public housing is only meant for the Singaporean. Want to rent ok but not to be owned by PR. Don't let it become a GDP tool to look nice on the country asset. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 Where else in the world you find a government giving a low income family $60k housing grant to buy a new flat? in case you don't know... 30 over yrs ago when they shifted us out of our dwellings...they gave us very tiny real peanuts. they made money using the land. the subsidies are to get us a new dwelling place,w/o cashing out benefit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alantan1978 1st Gear March 30, 2011 Share March 30, 2011 simple.. the problem start when he assume the role... and he's ur MP right... go ask him for a solution.... Well.... I will not even vote him as my MP for the coming election. It's all because of his "SMART" talent that bring all this to us. Hope the opposition party brings him down this election. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...