Just a Question Regarding Drink and Drive.

Mona-vie

Cause I recently went to a party at my friend's house. Took a can of Tiger beer (330m can not big one). I am just wondering can if be considered drink and drive?

Cause I am somewhat sensitive to alcohol so my face did felt warm. It subside after around 1 hr (took some coke and plain water in the process as well). Left my house around 2hrs after I finish the can.

I felt perfectly normal. However, I don't know how much alcohol is there in my blood. Thus I wonder if I can be consider drink and drive? The law only state the alcohol in the blood but never state how many cans you can drink.

I just wonder would a can of beer cause anything?

Cause I recently went to a party at my friend's house. Took a can of Tiger beer (330m can not big one). I am just wondering can if be considered drink and drive?

Cause I am somewhat sensitive to alcohol so my face did felt warm. It subside after around 1 hr (took some coke and plain water in the process as well). Left my house around 2hrs after I finish the can.

I felt perfectly normal. However, I don't know how much alcohol is there in my blood. Thus I wonder if I can be consider drink and drive? The law only state the alcohol in the blood but never state how many cans you can drink.

If the alcohol impairs your ability to drive though not above the legal limit, you can still be charged.

Can't remember the exact figure, but there is a volume of alcohol in the system that automatically constitutes drink driving. One beer should be fine for anyone.

That being said the law also states that you can be found to be drink driving regardless of limits if you get into an accident with any alcohol in your blood.

Can't remember the exact figure, but there is a volume of alcohol in the system that automatically constitutes drink driving. One beer should be fine for anyone.

That being said the law also states that you can be found to be drink driving regardless of limits if you get into an accident with any alcohol in your blood.

not always true....it's related to body size n gender....a petite lady might fail the breathanalyzer test even after 1 can of beer....

ok bro..

unless you are the size of a kid, one can of tiger you bottoms up... take the breath test sure pass...

i ever took a few beers... took the test like almost 2hrs later also pass... (btw the blow pipe is different from last time one, cannot fake blow side ways...)

but EVEN if you pass the test and get into an accident, you WILL kanna charge for drunk driving...

if you fail the test on the spot, handcuff and up van... go police station take test again...

at station pass or fail test wat happens i dont know...

This is a question which shouldn't be asked as there is only one roole.

Don't drink and drive.

u mean dun drink n drive immediately....

i see no problem if someone has a glass of wine/beer during dinner....then 2-3 hrs later get into the car n drive....with the food, the alcohol shld have been digested by then....

u mean dun drink n drive immediately....

i see no problem if someone has a glass of wine/beer during dinner....then 2-3 hrs later get into the car n drive....with the food, the alcohol shld have been digested by then....

i wouldnt even think twice about not drinking if i am driving... so long i am gonna head home by 10-11pm... but ofcourse if i feel dizzy i will stop myself... getting drunk/puking and hangovers are stupid things to do to one's self...

if the party mood is good... got great chio bu company... all happening and wanting to get really high, then will call my drive back service or pick the car up the next day...

getting caught drunk driving and getting fined is one thing... killing a life is a whole different story...

i guess it eventually boils down to personal judgement....i think most sensible ppl will know themselves whether they can handle the driving or not after consuming alcohol....

the law serves to punish those who make the wrong judgement....but i think it's so common to drink during dinner in the western culture, there's no way any country will make the law so strict tat drinking n driving r made exclusive to each other

how long between alcohol and driving?

Ok..I admit im quite a heavy drinker.

lets say I drink 1 bottle of black label from 2300-0400.

Went home sleep. Wake up and drive to work at 0800

Will fail the breath test?

What about I drink 2 bottles of red wine in the afternoon ard 1200-1600.

Then I drive out ard 2200.. like this will fail the breath test?

Edited by Baphomet

The legal limit in Singapore is 0.08 BAC or 80mg of alcohol per 100ml of blood. This measure is known as Blood Alcohol Concentration and is roughly equivalent to 1 standard drink.

Also, you were defintely OK after 2 hours because a person's liver can oxidise alcohol at about 1 standard drink per hour. A standard pour being 30ml of spirit, mixed with whatever. Or a 330ml can of beer, which contains 16.5ml of ethyl alcohol assuming the beer has 5% abv.

Therefore, after 2 hours, almost all the alcohol would've been broken down into water and carbon dioxide. In fact, 1 hour was all you needed to be perfectly safe. [thumbsup]

Still, if your tolerance to alcohol is low, best not to drink and drive lah! [drivingcar]

Actually, one beer will likely impair judgement less than a bout of flu, fever or a dose of drowsy cough medication. I wonder if ppl pay too much attention to the amount of alcohol as to the bigger picture of ability of judgement? That said, some drivers drive like drunk even without drinking lol

how long between alcohol and driving?

Ok..I admit im quite a heavy drinker.

lets say I drink 1 bottle of black label from 2300-0400.

Went home sleep. Wake up and drive to work at 0800

Will fail the breath test?

What about I drink 2 bottles of red wine in the afternoon ard 1200-1600.

Then I drive out ard 2200.. like this will fail the breath test?

The bottle of black label contains 25 standard drinks, your liver would therefore require 25 hours (slightly less because alcohol is secreted through your sweat glands & when you pee) to break it down completely. So YES, if you drive to work at 8am the follwing morning, you WILL fail the breath test! In fact, this is a tactic the Aussie police use. Catch people on Sunday morning going to Church, after a night of binge drinking! Sneaky Basterds!

2 bottles of wine contain about 12 standard drinks. So by the same calculation, about 12 hours before it's safe to hit the road. NO MATTER how well you feel, how sober your disposition, your blood alcohol concentration will be above the limit if you don't follow these guidelines. Remember that it doesn't matter how tolerant one is to alcohol, the human liver can only break it down at ONE standard drink per hour. So don't drive if you wanna drink!! [thumbsup]

The legal limit in Singapore is 0.08 BAC or 80mg of alcohol per 100ml of blood. This measure is known as Blood Alcohol Concentration and is roughly equivalent to 1 standard drink.

Also, you were defintely OK after 2 hours because a person's liver can oxidise alcohol at about 1 standard drink per hour. A standard pour being 30ml of spirit, mixed with whatever. Or a 330ml can of beer, which contains 16.5ml of ethyl alcohol assuming the beer has 5% abv.

Therefore, after 2 hours, almost all the alcohol would've been broken down into water and carbon dioxide. In fact, 1 hour was all you needed to be perfectly safe. [thumbsup]

Still, if your tolerance to alcohol is low, best not to drink and drive lah! [drivingcar]

this explains why the lexus driver after hitting tree branches at 5am can sleep until 8am and then coolly goto police station and declare she cannot hear anything over lexus soundproofing. Sleep from 6am to 8am allows all evidence to sleep away.

The bottle of black label contains 25 standard drinks, your liver would therefore require 25 hours (slightly less because alcohol is secreted through your sweat glands & when you pee) to break it down completely. So YES, if you drive to work at 8am the follwing morning, you WILL fail the breath test! In fact, this is a tactic the Aussie police use. Catch people on Sunday morning going to Church, after a night of binge drinking! Sneaky Basterds!

2 bottles of wine contain about 12 standard drinks. So by the same calculation, about 12 hours before it's safe to hit the road. NO MATTER how well you feel, how sober your disposition, your blood alcohol concentration will be above the limit if you don't follow these guidelines. Remember that it doesn't matter how tolerant one is to alcohol, the human liver can only break it down at ONE standard drink per hour. So don't drive if you wanna drink!! [thumbsup]

[thumbsup] thanks !

this explains why the lexus driver after hitting tree branches at 5am can sleep until 8am and then coolly goto police station and declare she cannot hear anything over lexus soundproofing. Sleep from 6am to 8am allows all evidence to sleep away.

Hmmm...not too clear on the details of that story. What actually happened ah?

[thumbsup] thanks !

Anytime! [cool]

bro you machiam Doctor sia... [thumbsup] thanks for the info...

Actually, one beer will likely impair judgement less than a bout of flu, fever or a dose of drowsy cough medication. I wonder if ppl pay too much attention to the amount of alcohol as to the bigger picture of ability of judgement? That said, some drivers drive like drunk even without drinking lol

yes yes... many sober ppl drive as if drunk... hahaha [laugh]

By right....by left.

Never kena road block.....all the theories hold true.

If kena breath analyser......all the explaination also no use.