Friendstar Supercharged December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 U have bought urself a reliable workhorse. Fc is decent. But not fantastic. If u r driving auto, the only problem is shift shock when u r on nsh travelling above 120 kmh. Do note dried leaves tend to accumulate in between car door and car body. For servicing, u can go to lavender esso synergy and look for ah Kang. Btw. the ride is good for 5 adults in Singapore. its comfy enough as the middle seat is quite flat while conti tend to be very buldging ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 Hi hi, Just bought a 6.5 years Rio 1.4A HB. Just wondering what I should change now since I'm the The second owner? I recalled reading somewhere must change engine oil, Coolant, timing belt and what else? How to tell if I need to change these oil incl. Power steering fluid and ATF fluid? If not dark black no need is it? Also, as I'll be sitting 4A and 1 big child or 5 A, do u think the 1.4A Rio Can handle the full load? Silly me just realised my big clan after I bought the car!!! :( Engine Oil 10k for full syn. Timing belt usually 80k. ATF usually 40k. ATF dark brown black is a tad late. Best change when brownish. Not wait till dark brown. Rio should be 1200kg kerb weight. 1.4 should be 95hp. FC & pick up likely suffer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theredstar 2nd Gear December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 (edited) Hi hi, Just bought a 6.5 years Rio 1.4A HB. Just wondering what I should change now since I'm the The second owner? I recalled reading somewhere must change engine oil, Coolant, timing belt and what else? How to tell if I need to change these oil incl. Power steering fluid and ATF fluid? If not dark black no need is it? Which workshops are good with RIo? I'm staying Bishan area But don't mind travelling to a good and trust worthy WS as I'm really New to car ownership and maintenance. :) Also, as I'll be sitting 4A and 1 big child or 5 A, do u think the 1.4A Rio Can handle the full load? Silly me just realised my big clan after I bought the car!!! :( space wise i think is decent ba used to have one baby seat,one booster seat behind. Regualrly ferry (including myslf) 3A + 2C sometimes 4A + 2C (remove booster) so i think 5A shldn't be a prob since baby seat is vv wide had to change to low gear to go up kentridge park with family in tow otherwise, always chiong before going uphill if traffic condition allows lor. lol u got urslf s nice hardy ride lah Edited December 23, 2013 by Theredstar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verieying Neutral Newbie December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 (edited) Thanks all for Sharing! Am glad to hear that despite the 1.4L capacity, the car is hardy and can take 4A or more comfortably! Was still afraid that the car will be slow and draggy or struggling with so many pax... So worried that when I fit everyone in the car cannot tahan all the weight/ cannot climb as only 1.4L ;P W.r.t. the workshop, besides the Esso Synergy at Lavender, anyone had experiences with Harmony or RDY whch I read from forums are familiar with Korean cars but am not sure how their services or prices are with Kia Rio? Thanks a lot! Appreciate your advices! Cheers~ Edited December 23, 2013 by Verieying Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged December 23, 2013 Share December 23, 2013 I had owned a RIO 1.4M. Pro: 1. Quite and smooth engine. 2. FC around 17km/l with 70% highway and 30% city. 3. Never had any problem. Change car to a Sienta due to family needs for 7 seater. 4. Low maintenance each time less than $100 doing it outside, cause C&C is very exp. Cons: 1. Not as solid ride as my 1st ride SEAT IBIZA. Car owned: 1st car - SEAT IBIZA (2nd Hand 3 to 6 yrs old) - Power steeling pump broke 2nd Car - Hyundai Accent 2001 (2nd Hand 3 to 6 yrs old) - Drive shaft need to chaneg soon. 3rd Car - KIA RIO 1.4M 2006 (Brand new) no problem at all. 4th Car - Toyota Sienta Sep 2008 (Brand new) no major problem. BEST car to drive is SEAT IBIZA, most comfortable and quite car to drive is KIA RIO 1.4M. wah... i didn't see this thread earlier when i was sourcing for my car. bro... you owned the Accent and the RIO. between the two cars, how do they compare? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verieying Neutral Newbie December 26, 2013 Share December 26, 2013 (edited) Hi gurus, Just realised my 2nd set of Kia Rio key the alarm doesn't work. i.e. can't arm the alarm. press the key no red light. thinking it's probably battery flat or key spoilt. (manual key can work though =) Anyone know where I can repair it? or if it's just a battery issue, is it something we can change ourselves? Also another thing, I realised that just driving pass those drain covers on road can be really bumpy and loud! wondering if it's coz my tyres is just 175/70/14 or 175/50/14 (paiseh can't remember) so i'm assuming that since it's only 14" it's "lower" so more bumpy? Or it's just the nature of the car? TIA! P.S. : Loving my new 2nd hand 1.4A Rio.. but going up steep expressways etc... step on accelerator still doesn't go beyond 40km/hr hahaha Edited December 26, 2013 by Verieying Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged December 26, 2013 Share December 26, 2013 P.S. : Loving my new 2nd hand 1.4A Rio.. but going up steep expressways etc... step on accelerator still doesn't go beyond 40km/hr hahaha try shifting down progressively till you get the power to go uphill. (ie D -> 3, 3 -> 2, 2 ->L) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged December 27, 2013 Share December 27, 2013 Don't need. Just step harder. Kia Rio is rev happy Hi gurus, Just realised my 2nd set of Kia Rio key the alarm doesn't work. i.e. can't arm the alarm. press the key no red light. thinking it's probably battery flat or key spoilt. (manual key can work though =) Anyone know where I can repair it? or if it's just a battery issue, is it something we can change ourselves? Also another thing, I realised that just driving pass those drain covers on road can be really bumpy and loud! wondering if it's coz my tyres is just 175/70/14 or 175/50/14 (paiseh can't remember) so i'm assuming that since it's only 14" it's "lower" so more bumpy? Or it's just the nature of the car? TIA! P.S. : Loving my new 2nd hand 1.4A Rio.. but going up steep expressways etc... step on accelerator still doesn't go beyond 40km/hr hahaha Hi ying. Try changing battery. And yes. Kia Rio suspension is very uncomfortable. Try driving up plaza sing and u will understand But regard it as sporty lor. Or go slower. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Verieying Neutral Newbie December 27, 2013 Share December 27, 2013 Thanks Ahgong and Friendstar! I've changed the battery, now the alarm key has light, just haven't tried arming the car. Looks good now though! ;P Ok, shall try either stepping even much harder, or lower to just gear 3 if necessary ;) Now am wondering what's the damage to my pocket the next time I service... the mileage at 82+km, they've changed the engine oil, and showed me the A/T Fluid, seems not to be of dark colour... but now worried that must change timing belt, fan belt etc then will cost me a bomb I read?? Also since it's a second hand car, don't know what else I should change but I read online in the Kia forum that Engine oil, ATF oil and Coolants are a must? Since they've changed engine oil I reckon I can just tell the WS familiar with Korean cars to change the ATF and coolant? Also Gurus, am getting mixed info, the black rubbery belt that can be seen just next to the engine box, is that the timing belt? some dealer said it's timing belt, some said, no it's not, just some fan belt which is not ex... which is which huh? Sorry for the multiple questions as I'm first time car owner, so learning the ropes bit by bit. Just last night I was reading about tyres trying to make more sense of the numbers which is something like 175/55/14R etc hahaha ;P Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic December 27, 2013 Share December 27, 2013 Thanks Ahgong and Friendstar! I've changed the battery, now the alarm key has light, just haven't tried arming the car. Looks good now though! ;P Ok, shall try either stepping even much harder, or lower to just gear 3 if necessary ;) Now am wondering what's the damage to my pocket the next time I service... the mileage at 82+km, they've changed the engine oil, and showed me the A/T Fluid, seems not to be of dark colour... but now worried that must change timing belt, fan belt etc then will cost me a bomb I read?? Also since it's a second hand car, don't know what else I should change but I read online in the Kia forum that Engine oil, ATF oil and Coolants are a must? Since they've changed engine oil I reckon I can just tell the WS familiar with Korean cars to change the ATF and coolant? Also Gurus, am getting mixed info, the black rubbery belt that can be seen just next to the engine box, is that the timing belt? some dealer said it's timing belt, some said, no it's not, just some fan belt which is not ex... which is which huh? Sorry for the multiple questions as I'm first time car owner, so learning the ropes bit by bit. Just last night I was reading about tyres trying to make more sense of the numbers which is something like 175/55/14R etc hahaha ;P Thanks! given the lack of torque, no other ways but to drop gear to go up a slope. No point straining your engine with the higher gear and it actually sips more fuel that way. Its prudent to change the belt as it probably costs a few hundreds. Once broken, it will costs easily few times more to do a top overhaul. No, you cant see a timing belt as it is concealed in a plastic cover. What you saw its the serpentine belt aka air con belt etc... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 27, 2013 Share December 27, 2013 (edited) Thanks Ahgong and Friendstar! I've changed the battery, now the alarm key has light, just haven't tried arming the car. Looks good now though! ;P Ok, shall try either stepping even much harder, or lower to just gear 3 if necessary ;) Now am wondering what's the damage to my pocket the next time I service... the mileage at 82+km, they've changed the engine oil, and showed me the A/T Fluid, seems not to be of dark colour... but now worried that must change timing belt, fan belt etc then will cost me a bomb I read?? Also since it's a second hand car, don't know what else I should change but I read online in the Kia forum that Engine oil, ATF oil and Coolants are a must? Since they've changed engine oil I reckon I can just tell the WS familiar with Korean cars to change the ATF and coolant? Also Gurus, am getting mixed info, the black rubbery belt that can be seen just next to the engine box, is that the timing belt? some dealer said it's timing belt, some said, no it's not, just some fan belt which is not ex... which is which huh? Sorry for the multiple questions as I'm first time car owner, so learning the ropes bit by bit. Just last night I was reading about tyres trying to make more sense of the numbers which is something like 175/55/14R etc hahaha ;P Thanks! Timing belt is always encased inside a metal cover. The exposed belt is accessory/alternator/fan belt. Edited December 27, 2013 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 27, 2013 Share December 27, 2013 Now am wondering what's the damage to my pocket the next time I service... the mileage at 82+km, they've changed the engine oil, and showed me the A/T Fluid, seems not to be of dark colour... but now worried that must change timing belt, fan belt etc then will cost me a bomb I read?? Also since it's a second hand car, don't know what else I should change but I read online in the Kia forum that Engine oil, ATF oil and Coolants are a must? Since they've changed engine oil I reckon I can just tell the WS familiar with Korean cars to change the ATF and coolant? Just last night I was reading about tyres trying to make more sense of the numbers which is something like 175/55/14R etc hahaha ;P 80k is supposed to be the norm to change timimg belt. Entire set should cost at least $300+. If burst while running, entire engine will topsy turvy. Will be lucky if don't cui the whole engine. ATF should not be dark. Brownish can consider to drain fill liao. 175/55 thought normally its 15 inch. Do check ur door panel. (sticker) Not sure how much is safe allowance if go below min weight rating. 175/55-15 is stock rear size for mitsi I. That's a very light car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sorrow 2nd Gear December 27, 2013 Share December 27, 2013 Thanks Ahgong and Friendstar! I've changed the battery, now the alarm key has light, just haven't tried arming the car. Looks good now though! ;P Ok, shall try either stepping even much harder, or lower to just gear 3 if necessary ;) Now am wondering what's the damage to my pocket the next time I service... the mileage at 82+km, they've changed the engine oil, and showed me the A/T Fluid, seems not to be of dark colour... but now worried that must change timing belt, fan belt etc then will cost me a bomb I read?? Also since it's a second hand car, don't know what else I should change but I read online in the Kia forum that Engine oil, ATF oil and Coolants are a must? Since they've changed engine oil I reckon I can just tell the WS familiar with Korean cars to change the ATF and coolant? Also Gurus, am getting mixed info, the black rubbery belt that can be seen just next to the engine box, is that the timing belt? some dealer said it's timing belt, some said, no it's not, just some fan belt which is not ex... which is which huh? Sorry for the multiple questions as I'm first time car owner, so learning the ropes bit by bit. Just last night I was reading about tyres trying to make more sense of the numbers which is something like 175/55/14R etc hahaha ;P Thanks! Hi Bro, am driving 1.6. things that are to be changed i think are highlighted by the Bros here alr. If changing belts, usually is change all belts including water pump. I think price range is about S$350 if i dun recall wrongly, not too sure of your definition of ex though, got mine change about 1.5 yrs back in JB plus coolant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theredstar 2nd Gear December 27, 2013 Share December 27, 2013 Hi Bro, am driving 1.6. things that are to be changed i think are highlighted by the Bros here alr. If changing belts, usually is change all belts including water pump. I think price range is about S$350 if i dun recall wrongly, not too sure of your definition of ex though, got mine change about 1.5 yrs back in JB plus coolant. I tot water pump is with timing belt? And only because the labour is duplicated So might as well change tgt And dun think is only 300+ 300+ shld be the fan belts... Going up slope Soon with MCE shldn't have this problem liao rt? Lol Quick fixes are QF or just anticipate and speed up before the slope lor I nv drop gear before... Until the week before I sold my ride. Lol All the patterns come out Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic December 27, 2013 Share December 27, 2013 Timing belt is always encased inside a metal cover. The exposed belt is accessory/alternator/fan belt. my observation is most timing chain uses metal casing while belt uses plastic material. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnixer 3rd Gear December 27, 2013 Share December 27, 2013 my frn radiator just up lorry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sorrow 2nd Gear December 28, 2013 Share December 28, 2013 I tot water pump is with timing belt? And only because the labour is duplicated So might as well change tgt And dun think is only 300+ 300+ shld be the fan belts... Going up slope Soon with MCE shldn't have this problem liao rt? Lol Quick fixes are QF or just anticipate and speed up before the slope lor I nv drop gear before... Until the week before I sold my ride. Lol All the patterns come out Bro ya, water pump usually change with timing belt, later I go back find my receipt, really cannot remember Liao,lol Ur ex ride is 1.4/1.6? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear December 28, 2013 Share December 28, 2013 Tyres matter a lot. I changed tyres on my ex-Verna to Michelin Energy and it was dead quiet. Suspension geometry on this car sucks. There's no way around fixing it. Don't waste money on strut bars and aftermarket shocks and all that. They make the car worse because the front and rear aren't balanced to start with. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...