Parkingidiot 1st Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 I could not resist this one... so early on Friday morning see this kind of news, must share!! NS for Singaporeans..... Jobs for Foreigners.... and the fellas who provide the jobs for foreigners must sit comfortably... so Herman Miller chairs for MOM staffers... so let the whining by the PAPaya supporters begin about how everything we blame the gahmen... Mar 25, 2011 MOM staff to get ergonomic chairs -- PHOTO: HERMAN MILLER MIKE STAFF at the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) headquarters in Kim Seng Road can expect designer chairs at their workplace soon. The ministry is buying 472 Herman Miller chairs (photo), each priced at $575, for general office use for its staff. The chairs, which are not delivered yet, will cost $271,400 in total. Herman Miller, an American manufacturer of office furniture and equipment, is famous for producing furniture in the modernist style. An MOM spokesman confirmed in a statement yesterday that it has awarded a tender for the supply and delivery of the ergonomically designed chairs. The chair model is called Celle, known for its cellular suspension system which supports the back and lumbar region. The tender was awarded to local furniture supplier Xtra Office. In evaluating the tenders submitted, the MOM spokesman said, various factors were considered, such as the ergonomic design, durability and value for money. 'Taking all these factors into account, the successful tenderer met our requirements and offered the best value for money over the lifespan of the chairs.' http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_649117.html ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 herman miller good chairs.. otherwise, choose vitra.. oh.OT liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgnick 1st Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 Hmm, that photo, looks like Ang Mo Kio. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 This is what I had called the excesses....time and again... YOG, higher and higher pay for thmeselves...some just say they retire and then get appointed SMs.... While they tell the peasants you got to work PASS RETIREMENT AGE, get rebates or don't get it based on HOW THEY LOOKED AT YOU, tell you that you only need three meals a day at hawker centre or they dine at top notch restaurants and provide those on welfare only the amount requried for 1 DECENT MEAL ADAY! Good lah... Sinkie... Don't get the point ...YOU GET SCREWED HARDER next time round! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 I could not resist this one... so early on Friday morning see this kind of news, must share!! NS for Singaporeans..... Jobs for Foreigners.... and the fellas who provide the jobs for foreigners must sit comfortably... so Herman Miller chairs for MOM staffers... so let the whining by the PAPaya supporters begin about how everything we blame the gahmen... Mar 25, 2011 MOM staff to get ergonomic chairs -- PHOTO: HERMAN MILLER MIKE STAFF at the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) headquarters in Kim Seng Road can expect designer chairs at their workplace soon. The ministry is buying 472 Herman Miller chairs (photo), each priced at $575, for general office use for its staff. The chairs, which are not delivered yet, will cost $271,400 in total. Herman Miller, an American manufacturer of office furniture and equipment, is famous for producing furniture in the modernist style. An MOM spokesman confirmed in a statement yesterday that it has awarded a tender for the supply and delivery of the ergonomically designed chairs. The chair model is called Celle, known for its cellular suspension system which supports the back and lumbar region. The tender was awarded to local furniture supplier Xtra Office. In evaluating the tenders submitted, the MOM spokesman said, various factors were considered, such as the ergonomic design, durability and value for money. 'Taking all these factors into account, the successful tenderer met our requirements and offered the best value for money over the lifespan of the chairs.' http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_649117.html haha for a minute i was thinking who is herman miller hehe.... darn good one, brother Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dice 3rd Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 Eh I tot gahman is 3 quotes take the cheepest one... Wait the minute, maybe this is the cheepest one which means... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 Photo taken by you?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assaxefour 1st Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 For a ministry that i considered as the worst performer among all ministry, this excess beyond words! Smelly fish.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 My office chair is only $59.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 Eh I tot gahman is 3 quotes take the cheepest one... Wait the minute, maybe this is the cheepest one which means... Means they must really like the chair lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 woah is there a need to waste tax payer money for it? my coy chair can last more than 5 yrs also no chance and non-designer too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 chair costing almost $600? fark it. these pple are crazy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 I should really consider going into civil service. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 let's look at it another way. you see, usually working with the gov the welfare (annual leave,childcare leave, mc, nitty gritty off days, claim this claim that etc) is sibeh tok kong one. so when gov buys them a sud sud boh chio expensive chair (supposedly good for their back,sitting posture,health etc), then they shouldnt have too many "excuses" to take mc due to poor health, go for smoke breaks (coz the chair very comfortable), extended lunch break (coz chair so comfortable, rather eat in)... also, it could be a motivational plot to let the employees feel that they are well taken care of.. summarize, GE coming. [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 summarize, GE coming. [laugh] Yes GE coming so everyone also must song! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanlee 1st Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 For a ministry that i considered as the worst performer among all ministry, this excess beyond words! Smelly fish.. You might considered it the worst performer... Maybe the Government considered them the best performer in bringing in so many FT in so short a time... Not sure, if they compare with the rest of the world, in bring in the most FT in the last few years... I wont be surprise if MOM is the best! on the this. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 when you have a rich grandfather or father.... you are spoiled more and more like the indonesian/chinese tycoon kids... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 chair costing almost $600? fark it. these pple are crazy $600 is NOT THE RECORD... The last time I heard a certain tertiary institution purchased chairs costing more than S$2k for it's teaching and reserach staff... Talk about the need to increase Uni fees!! ============================================================== Being screwed LEFT ..RIGHT...CENTER is not really the worst thing.. Being SCREWED again and again is.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...