Fcw75 Hypersonic March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 it just show u're one of those. u think everybody out there can afford a WRX? many Vi*s, Mazd*3, *etz(many other makes out there, or shd i say almost every make ) also driver like F out there, then how? Its the Driver!!! Driver!!! NOT THE CAR!!!!!! Whatever lah. As long as you are happy. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karnaugh Neutral Newbie March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 If David can beat Goliath, I don't see what's wrong with a friendly challenge if both parties are up for it. If you don't seek challenges from someone/something that is better, how does one improve? It will forever be stagnant. Many variables are involved lah. As a wise man once said. "Everyone can drive a fast car. But not everyone can drive a car fast!" It all boils down to the driver. Without a master, a tool is merely a useless item. Sorry but I beg to differ. With all the tech nowadays any driver can be a fast straight line warrior. You can put my gf in a GTI with DSG and she probably can beat my CTR without much effort if I don't make perfect shifts. What you said is true only if you add cornering into the equation. But from what I see Sg drivers are mostly straight line warriors. Fast on traffic light sprints can liao. Which is why VW cars are so popular due to their strong pick up even for bread and butter models, but I don't find their handling inspiring at all. No offense to VW drivers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Architect Neutral Newbie March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 Sorry but I beg to differ. With all the tech nowadays any driver can be a fast straight line warrior. You can put my gf in a GTI with DSG and she probably can beat my CTR without much effort if I don't make perfect shifts. What you said is true only if you add cornering into the equation. But from what I see Sg drivers are mostly straight line warriors. Fast on traffic light sprints can liao. Which is why VW cars are so popular due to their strong pick up even for bread and butter models, but I don't find their handling inspiring at all. No offense to VW drivers. Oh wait....all the challenges that people are talking about are about straight lines? My mistake then as I always thought true driving is about taking everything into the equation. You want a fast straight line car...just have deep pockets and a right foot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karnaugh Neutral Newbie March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 Oh wait....all the challenges that people are talking about are about straight lines? My mistake then as I always thought true driving is about taking everything into the equation. You want a fast straight line car...just have deep pockets and a right foot. The car in context is a rex. A stock rex handling again is above average at most but nothing awesome. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrlau Clutched March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 it just show u're one of those. u think everybody out there can afford a WRX? Only the smart, strong and successful people can afford a WRX. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Architect Neutral Newbie March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 The car in context is a rex. A stock rex handling again is above average at most but nothing awesome. Stock rex can hold its ground to the type Rs though if you are talking about track driving. And yes...it still boils down to the driver. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karnaugh Neutral Newbie March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 Stock rex can hold its ground to the type Rs though if you are talking about track driving. And yes...it still boils down to the driver. Stock STI maybe. But definitely not a stock Rex. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Architect Neutral Newbie March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 Stock STI maybe. But definitely not a stock Rex. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4daAjys1ojo I'm sure it can hold it's ground....... And besides, taking a stock rex to compare with a top of the line type Rs already isn't a true comparison. The stock rex is basically a watered down version of the STI which requires some tweaks to its handling whereas the type Rs already come stock with race ready stiffening chassis and suspy. A better comparison would be a base rex with a 2.0 civic and the integra type s. And please don't talk about one is FI and the other is NA else there will never be an end. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear March 29, 2011 Author Share March 29, 2011 Stock STI maybe. But definitely not a stock Rex. nope. stock sti handling is still a notch down fr the CTR. stock Wrx is worse.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Architect Neutral Newbie March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 And for the record, I never said the rex handling is better....I just said it can hold its ground and it's down to the drivers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 If David can beat Goliath, I don't see what's wrong with a friendly challenge if both parties are up for it. If you don't seek challenges from someone/something that is better, how does one improve? It will forever be stagnant. Many variables are involved lah. As a wise man once said. "Everyone can drive a fast car. But not everyone can drive a car fast!" It all boils down to the driver. Without a master, a tool is merely a useless item. What you say makes sense but ah brother, we are talking about challenging to a race.. Which is otherwise mostly limited by a car's performance, even so for straight line sprints. That's why we are severely limited by this. It's not like after trying 100 times of friendly sprint, your car will increase in BHP :p You will know when to change gear better, launch the car better etc.. But it doesn't make the car faster than what the factory made it out to be. And yes. Nowadays anyone can get behind a car and drive it reasonably well. Sports cars nowadays are v easy to drive. I'm up for the spirit of challenging, whether I'm the challenger or challenged. But for most of the latter, the other driver sees red. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Architect Neutral Newbie March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 What to do. Singaporean drivers are not gracious. Generally speaking ah. Not pin pointing U see Jap drivers. The loser learns from the experience and tries to be better. Singaporeans lose liow will pattern chut gar liow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
20G 1st Gear March 29, 2011 Author Share March 29, 2011 What to do. Singaporean drivers are not gracious. Generally speaking ah. Not pin pointing U see Jap drivers. The loser learns from the experience and tries to be better. Singaporeans lose liow will pattern chut gar liow. not juz pattern chut gar liao, most of them hand sign oso chut gar liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fu11thr0tt1e Turbocharged March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 Just wanna share this with u. I've driven in my stock rex btw 220 to 240Km/h in the middle of the night all the way to KL (only stop once for fuel) without any problem. Take 2hrs odd to reach. Moral of the story, keep the car stock if u want relaibility. I've seem many of the friends who mod their rides has relaibility issue especially travelling long distances. Having driven and owned a Subaru RSk Turbo Manual with more than 600 bhp to boot, the EJ25 I had was wheezing outta boost when the GS300 is cruising. U cant be boosting all the 380 kms up north :) This one, I have to beg to differ and eat the humble pie. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fu11thr0tt1e Turbocharged March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 If u insist of saying its the car, i think we should change the title to " WHY SO MANY PEOPLE HATE PERFORMANCE CAR" and not just WRX alone! These are pure physic, you can learn all these from F1. The fast car is installed with Big Brake kit. BBK need to warm up to work properly, to keep the BBK warm, the car cannot travel at low speed. So when the driver saw the jaywalker or cyclist, they want to brake and realised the brake power is only 20%, they have to bang bus stop to siam jaywalker or cyclist. Fast car usually come with big spoiler, if the car is travel too slow, the spoiler will not create enough down force to hold the car on the road. Tyres is another reason why fast car cannot drive too slow, because the tyres also need to keep warm to have optimum grip. If the car is too slow, the tyre will too cold and tendency to lost control is very high. http://www.sportscomet.com/NASCAR/7093.htm Its the CAR!!! CAR!!! NOT THE DRIVER!!!!!! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HARDGAYHOOOO Neutral Newbie March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 Yesterday spoken to a fren whom I haven't seen for a long time. our conversation somehow drifted to car bullies an at a point he got so agitated he cursed ppl like me who drives a wrx go crash and die.. and then I replied him telling him I hope shd a Wrx abt to crash, the Wrx will crash into him and drag him to meet his maker tgt.. wats ur reason for hating Subaru Wrx? Cos drivers of WRXs tend to give me the impression that they are bunch of hardcore racers lots of time with giangic exhaust pipes . Fact is , compare to performance cars 5 years in the past, you can own a decent WRX for as low as 70k as compare to others like evo , fairladies, integra,celica etc etc which usually over 100k or so. Therefore drivers of WRX gave ppl the impression that there are ppl who wanna to own a performance car on a lower budget (generally saying but not all) . At least it is a car of performance I have to agree. Unlike cars like tuscani,Kia coupe etc etc ....nice to look at that's all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ee-ing Neutral Newbie March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 Just need to read all dos post, so childish one ah ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fu11thr0tt1e Turbocharged March 29, 2011 Share March 29, 2011 on NSH as stated, displacement will win imo. the WRX wun be able to sustain top running speed as long as a GS. but i'm just guessing Nope! u are wrong! My stock rex can do avg spped of 230km/h all the way to KL with one fuel stop in 2 hrs odd! No whatsoever problems at all! Tested and proven a few times already! ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...