Nlatio Turbocharged March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 If you want to talk about renewal.... why is the oldest serving MPs is still in Parliament. Why do you need SO many Senior Minister? To be fair.... you cannot just replace the SM..... he got the right connection at the right places... except Dr M.... .... and this is impt involving foreign policies.... got dai chi, pick up a call and talk to so and so in the State Department..... you ask Dr M... think he can only reach the State Department Switchboard room.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ticklish8 3rd Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 The worst part is they getting ALL these so CALLED foreign TALENT to contest in this GE.... U telling me there is not enough Singaporean as candidate? What's next???? Seems like 2nd gen taking over and yes, the kids of former MPs...i mean WTF...they really that talented meh??? And, yes, seems no diff from North Korea where power passed to the chewren Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 i mean WTF...they really that talented meh??? We will know soon.... whether they a kan or beh gan.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 To put things into perspective, even if the ruling party lose all 9 SMCs & 2 nos. of 4-man/women GRCs, they are still the majority government though the parliament will be filled with plenty of forceful debates instead of the present 82-2 overwhelmingly 压起來打situation. Which is why they can afford to have more SMCs these ime round & lose a few of them. Think about it.... yeah and people forget that the needs of a developing and developed country are quite different. when singaproe is developing country in the past, we are better served with a feisty leadership because need to galvanize people to move ahead in the stage of growing. however, as a developed country now, we need to have a more engaging leadership style and this will only be possible if there are healthy number of opposition in the parliament. this reasoning can be better understood by applying it on educating a child. when the child is young, it requries the parents to be more authoritative and disciplinary in dealing with their children. but when the child grows up, it is better to engage them by disccusion, sharing ideas instead of not giving them a say at all. our electorate would have been mature enough by now to warrant a more open style of governance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 The worst part is they getting ALL these so CALLED foreign TALENT to contest in this GE.... U telling me there is not enough Singaporean as candidate? What's next???? To be fair again..... they are Singaporean... they from bolehland, Yes.... but they already hab the Pink ICs..... they are now one of us..... not as if we asking Bangala or PR to run..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Seems like 2nd gen taking over and yes, the kids of former MPs...i mean WTF...they really that talented meh??? And, yes, seems no diff from North Korea where power passed to the chewren That is why even when they invited you for 'tea'...it was all but a show...they don't want ppl like you one! You no reocrd..(maybe those record that cannot be shown type! )...not come from connected famileeee...definitely not able to show completely that you can carry Balls ALL THE WAY! They cannot trust you one.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 If you want to talk about renewal.... why is the oldest serving MPs is still in Parliament. Why do you need SO many Senior Minister? Look at the candidate.. U have one son from a former cabinet minister (Lee Yock Suan), u have one son from a MP (Ong Ah Heng), u have one dynasty, what kind of legacy is WKS creating? Just an illusion to me..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 yeah and people forget that the needs of a developing and developed country are quite different. when singaproe is developing country in the past, we are better served with a feisty leadership because need to galvanize people to move ahead in the stage of growing. however, as a developed country now, we need to have a more engaging leadership style and this will only be possible if there are healthy number of opposition in the parliament. this reasoning can be better understood by applying it on educating a child. when the child is young, it requries the parents to be more authoritative and disciplinary in dealing with their children. but when the child grows up, it is better to engage them by disccusion, sharing ideas instead of not giving them a say at all. our electorate would have been mature enough by now to warrant a more open style of governance. And the question is... How grown up you think we are (as a nation)??? Like the above analogy... your parent will always treat you like kids even you already 70 years old... And you just need to look around to see that sometime, cannot blame them for thinking so..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Ms Foo Mee Har, a product of Mah Bow Tan ( Hainanese clan ah kor ) sure kenna chia luck!! those bankers of hers can tell you more about her style of management, dun tink she work towards citizen's benefit, while she has made gains for the bank, she is serving public's pain Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 That is why even when they invited you for 'tea'...it was all but a show...they don't want ppl like you one! You no reocrd..(maybe those record that cannot be shown type! )...not come from connected famileeee...definitely not able to show completely that you can carry Balls ALL THE WAY! They cannot trust you one.... heh how u noe hor...mebbe i one of the 24?....knn.... damn...neber see u a few days....hope u died nia...but sigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 You didn't read or understand my post above ar? The oppo only need to take out one vital GRC or even SMC.. That is where the man stands! Very difficult under the present circumstances.. Unless both oppo MPs together with SL or the scholar couple plus a few well-known & qualified minority candidates make up the GRC team to challenge the man & his team. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 And the question is... How grown up you think we are (as a nation)??? Like the above analogy... your parent will always treat you like kids even you already 70 years old... And you just need to look around to see that sometime, cannot blame them for thinking so..... simple, grown up is the ability to think contribute o the disussion. as a kid, naturally we lack experience and the sophistication to think properly btu when grown up and after having enough education, we are able to engage our parents in discussion. with such a high literacy rate in singapore, definitely we are ready. we were not ready in the past because citizens seldom questions the ruling party. but look at the number of discussions it is in this forum now about the GE and you get the drift that our citizens are ready to engage the goverment Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 simple, grown up is the ability to think contribute o the disussion. as a kid, naturally we lack experience and the sophistication to think properly btu when grown up and after having enough education, we are able to engage our parents in discussion. with such a high literacy rate in singapore, definitely we are ready. we were not ready in the past because citizens seldom questions the ruling party. but look at the number of discussions it is in this forum now about the GE and you get the drift that our citizens are ready to engage the goverment And, they are not ready yet, or rather to accept such dialogue. As much as they try, the modus operandi is still 'do as you are told, and what i say' kind of mentality Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 And the question is... How grown up you think we are (as a nation)??? Like the above analogy... your parent will always treat you like kids even you already 70 years old... And you just need to look around to see that sometime, cannot blame them for thinking so..... u syre anot.....got ah one person say we still becoming a nation....knn... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 And, they are not ready yet, or rather to accept such dialogue. As much as they try, the modus operandi is still 'do as you are told, and what i say' kind of mentality yeah i get the impression it is them who is not ready to engage the citizens rather than the citizens not ready. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 yeah and people forget that the needs of a developing and developed country are quite different. when singaproe is developing country in the past, we are better served with a feisty leadership because need to galvanize people to move ahead in the stage of growing. however, as a developed country now, we need to have a more engaging leadership style and this will only be possible if there are healthy number of opposition in the parliament. this reasoning can be better understood by applying it on educating a child. when the child is young, it requries the parents to be more authoritative and disciplinary in dealing with their children. but when the child grows up, it is better to engage them by disccusion, sharing ideas instead of not giving them a say at all. our electorate would have been mature enough by now to warrant a more open style of governance. Total agreement with your statement. The difficult part is when to let go... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 (edited) Wah say...u guys really contradicting...Some complain why must get converted citizens from our fav naybor fr e North, cannot get local Sporeans isit? Then some complain when local Sporeans are put up by PAP (although some seem unhappy they are sons of ex MPs or minister). Here's my take, PAP policies of selecting candidates for running of election has always been focusing on selecting the BOB from their industries. Then they invite them for tea season n pyscho them to join politics n serve the people n nowadays their own pocket too (I m not talking abt corruption but their pegged to private sector pay). Fact is many reject them, prefer to stick to their low profile but wealthy lifestyle. Only a few really say yes to them n some after many persuasion rounds. What they seem to overlook is that there is no hard n fast rule n I must admit it is bloody difficult to test integrity of someone or his desire to serve the people as an MP. If these wealthy folks (irregardless of backgrnd) are willing to serve the people, they will be willing to forgo some monetary gain, coz in the first place they are alreadi affluent. AS for the He who can't sing, as usual, he scored an own goal, Aka SCREWED UP AGAIN. Coz he is one w the worst track record in the public eyes. Then his candidates all have high profile background, but has he addressed their ability to be humble, to listen to the ground, to put their heart n soul in serving the public or their GRC? Why a high flying banker from Std Chrt? That I can never understand. These people are known to be single minded in their pursuit of clients' money. How much do they know abt bread n butter issues? But let's be honest though, politics is dirty, that is why it is usually dominated by LAWYERS turned politician. It is always a delicate balance of appeasing the public while doing things behind them, which is why it is such a good fit for Lawyers. Honest, hardworking people who truly wants to serve the people n do his job right will usually be played out by this lawyers cum politician. But I for one, will never vote for any team with Bankers who serve high net worth customers, no matter how impressive their resumes are. Edited March 24, 2011 by Sabretan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Isn't it wonderful to be able to said anything you want & can accuse other parties, & know you will not be sue (or at least sued & win) by the other party. No, I am not talking about keyboard warriors, but our dear PAP ministers. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...