Vulcann 6th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 ...& indirectly scores an own goal. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 have a good feeling that sylvia lim and her a team will likely capture a GRC this time as well as Chiam, if his team targets mr kansing. I was attending a neighbour's late mom's funeral wake last night. As we were sitting down and chatting amongst the neighbours that attended, I got the distinct feeling that most of the neighbours above 50yrs are die-hard PAPa fans. They kept relating how singapore would not be what it is today without the PAP, and when election come, they will definately vote for PAPa. It's a good party. I am not sure what the demographics are, and whether a sampling of senior citizens from single block is representative of most of the senior citizen voters but I think whatever the case is, it's an uphill battle for chiam and sylvia to get a GRC foothold, even though all the Internets seem to be against the PAPaya. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andylkkg 4th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 have a good feeling that sylvia lim and her a team will likely capture a GRC this time as well as Chiam, if his team targets mr kansing. Yes, recently, there are many talks of this topics and even among Taxi drivers' break-time talks. This was even before LTK/CST's indicated intention to lead a team and run in GRCs separately. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 I was attending a neighbour's late mom's funeral wake last night. As we were sitting down and chatting amongst the neighbours that attended, I got the distinct feeling that most of the neighbours above 50yrs are die-hard PAPa fans. They kept relating how singapore would not be what it is today without the PAP, and when election come, they will definately vote for PAPa. It's a good party. I am not sure what the demographics are, and whether a sampling of senior citizens from single block is representative of most of the senior citizen voters but I think whatever the case is, it's an uphill battle for chiam and sylvia to get a GRC foothold, even though all the Internets seem to be against the PAPaya. Unfortunately I think I will have to agree with you bro. Internet not representation of the whole of SG. But I'll still be doing my small part. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Unfortunately I think I will have to agree with you bro. Internet not representation of the whole of SG. But I'll still be doing my small part. IMHO....Older gen usually retired and does not need to shoulder the responsibility of raising a family. During their time, HDB does not cost that much, no ERP or COE , no GST, MP dun earn so much n yet still trying to suck u dry.....etc..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 I was attending a neighbour's late mom's funeral wake last night. As we were sitting down and chatting amongst the neighbours that attended, I got the distinct feeling that most of the neighbours above 50yrs are die-hard PAPa fans. They kept relating how singapore would not be what it is today without the PAP, and when election come, they will definately vote for PAPa. It's a good party. I am not sure what the demographics are, and whether a sampling of senior citizens from single block is representative of most of the senior citizen voters but I think whatever the case is, it's an uphill battle for chiam and sylvia to get a GRC foothold, even though all the Internets seem to be against the PAPaya. I used to know a person who was a high ranking silver servant..... He die, die voted for PAP all thur the many elections until he was 'retrenched' from the silver service and was offerred a post in a private limited set up. NO more silver service bonus...no July payout , no performance bonus ...no more full medical coverage...only 13 month. Thereafter his entire mindset changed. He cursed many of the policies and cast suspect on the intentions of the party. See the similiarites? The baxtards are all loyal to the $$$$...no more $$$$ ...no more loyalty. Needless to say, which if any party, this former silver servant is going to vote for this coming election! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 (edited) ...& indirectly scores an own goal. But seriously they have saying that the oppo guys only turn up during GE time but what about their own new elites? Many of them were just plucked out of their jobs & plunged into the constituencies immediately. Case in point is the scholar who just resigned & is likely to challenge the WP chief in Hougang. A few helpouts & walkarounds that's it? Some did not even have grassroots experience at all, not that it is a pre-requisite but it will reinforce the feeling that they know the ground better before being voted in via the GRC system. Like some bros mentioned, do they know how much a kopi-o cost in our heartland coffee shops or they just sip their expresso only in Star***s or Cof** **ean outlets? Sometimes I just wish during parliament session that we need some housewife or taxi uncle as MPs to speak about B&B issues & not about our foreign relations with Liechtenstein, about a 10-year exhange programme with Mus Edited March 24, 2011 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 One thing for sure, they don't know the true meaning of being POOR. They came from rich family. They were BORN with Golden Spoon. They were send abroad for their further studies. Only the rich can afford to do so. exactly! when your incomes are 6 digit pm, how would you understand a heartlander's pleas for conservancy fees, utility fees in arrears? the impact of $0.30 more a meal for a family of 5? these were some of the arguments put forth by the oppostion to those obscene salaries. but wat happened? nothing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 But seriously they have saying that the oppo guys only turn up during GE time but what about their own new elites? Many of them were just plucked out of their jobs & plunged into the constituencies immediately. Case in point is the scholar who just resigned & is likely to challenge the WP chief in Hougang. A few helpouts & walkarounds that's it? Some did not even have grassroots experience at all, not that it is a pre-requisite but it will reinforce the feeling that they know the ground better before being voted in via the GRC system. Like some bros mentioned, do they know how much a kopi-o cost in our heartland coffee shops or they just sip their expresso only in Star***s or Cof** **ean outlets? Sometimes I just wish during parliament session that we need some housewife or taxi uncle as MPs to speak about B&B issues & not about our foreign relations with Liechtenstein, about a 10-year exhange programme with Mus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 these ppl, i guess mouth open will talk about rich & successful ppl, corporate ladder, landed property, stocks, Porsche, Lambo, exotic vacation & patek phillpe. you think they talk to you about market fish/ vegetable price increased, petrol price up, MRT fare up, ...five cent ten cent type of issues? I see so many examples of people of humble beginnings, once achieved success in life, bathed in rich lifestyle, no longer humble. I believe, 1 good example is TTD. I'm sure he entered the Charitable Org with a Heart of Gold and end up with a Tap of Gold. I'm sure many new faces are people from humble backgrounds too but money has ways to change our DNA, like it or not, many will lose their humility. They have achieve success from their hard work does not mean they can change the lives of poor people. Doing something good to self always have priority over others... Like the old Chinese saying : "Within the Books lies a Golden House". How true. from the Olden days till now, Poverty Prevails. We don't need Successful people to be MPs, just HUmble people with Heart of Gold. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Summer69 Clutched March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 I was attending a neighbour's late mom's funeral wake last night. As we were sitting down and chatting amongst the neighbours that attended, I got the distinct feeling that most of the neighbours above 50yrs are die-hard PAPa fans. They kept relating how singapore would not be what it is today without the PAP, and when election come, they will definately vote for PAPa. It's a good party. I am not sure what the demographics are, and whether a sampling of senior citizens from single block is representative of most of the senior citizen voters but I think whatever the case is, it's an uphill battle for chiam and sylvia to get a GRC foothold, even though all the Internets seem to be against the PAPaya. i guess... those top earners, civil servants, professional and employer will certainly support them, they want status quo, they are much vested (stocks, property, career, businesses), they don't like instability. same goes to the housewife, ah ma/ gong and the gullible. STATUS QUO & STABILITY is the key aka got shelter, got food, got job. only those in the 20's to 50's....avg joe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 I was attending a neighbour's late mom's funeral wake last night. As we were sitting down and chatting amongst the neighbours that attended, I got the distinct feeling that most of the neighbours above 50yrs are die-hard PAPa fans. They kept relating how singapore would not be what it is today without the PAP, and when election come, they will definately vote for PAPa. It's a good party. I am not sure what the demographics are, and whether a sampling of senior citizens from single block is representative of most of the senior citizen voters but I think whatever the case is, it's an uphill battle for chiam and sylvia to get a GRC foothold, even though all the Internets seem to be against the PAPaya. Bro my own mum also feel that way. With all the RC activities like heavily-subsidised (this word is correctly used here as it is really cheap!) food factory/farm/temple visits, cheap National Day dinners & free gifts during CNY/mid-autum festivals, they are all too happy to enjoy all these. Most of the older generation folks like you have mentioned have children like us to take care of them & providing for them for they may not feel the pressure from the rising costs due to inflation. Ever wonder why our parents time they can raise 6, 7 children throughout with single income but nowadays both parents working our a*s off to just provide for 1 or 2 kids? I do not know if they are right about always having the need to stay ahead of the competition & if not will become slums, our women folks having to work as maids overseas but is it necessary to always strive at such a lightning pace? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 my dad and his kopitiam kakis jus hap to be the opposite haha. during the last GE, the opposition and rulling party were making their rounds and they cheered the opposition in front of the paps haha. chao lau bengs! anyw my views are fr sylvia lim's last GE result when she narrowly lost in her maiden fight. hope this time would be better for her, being more experienced and higher profiled. Chiam with Kenneth Jeya supposedly intend to contest GRC, this pair looks a good balance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Summer69 Clutched March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 I see so many examples of people of humble beginnings, once achieved success in life, bathed in rich lifestyle, no longer humble. I believe, 1 good example is TTD. I'm sure he entered the Charitable Org with a Heart of Gold and end up with a Tap of Gold. I'm sure many new faces are people from humble backgrounds too but money has ways to change our DNA, like it or not, many will lose their humility. They have achieve success from their hard work does not mean they can change the lives of poor people. Doing something good to self always have priority over others... Like the old Chinese saying : "Within the Books lies a Golden House". How true. from the Olden days till now, Poverty Prevails. We don't need Successful people to be MPs, just HUmble people with Heart of Gold. 人不为己,天诛地灭 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 First thing is ....who give these ppl in power to install such 'whip'? Who gives them the right, to carve up the place ( demographically) in whatever parts they wish to their advantage, come voting day? Who gives them the power to have things like GRCs? Who gives them the right to pay thmeselves ...HIGHER AND HIGHER PAY? Hmm...does my questions answer your questions? If it does...then you know what to do when that day comes! Complete agreement with everything you mentioned here bro I always know what to do when that crucial time which happen every 4 years Which is why I am glad that my preferred MP is still in parliament since the day I started voted many many moons back.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Yes, recently, there are many talks of this topics and even among Taxi drivers' break-time talks. This was even before LTK/CST's indicated intention to lead a team and run in GRCs separately. the new boundary for hougang wil hit LTK..i thk running for GRC looks the way...wil it b a double whammy for paps? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 I see the new candidates credentials I really flipped. Elect as MP need PHD, Scholar, Top Gun private sector job ? For what ? So High up there their brains cannot understand the Heartland problems at meet the people sessions. Do you need a Solid Gold Tap for a HDB flat ? agree. humans tend to go for impressive brands, outlook, cv in their choices of candiates, purchase etc. one needs to also consider the appropriateness/fit of the choices to the user. one of my ex company is small and yet want to implement Oracle/SAP for the system some jobs that requires hands on work hires high flying candidates who will not roll up their sleeves and get their hands dirty at ground level participation bigger name is erroneously thought by them to be better choice. but they always forget that it is the fit to the user that is most important. chinese saying 杀鸡不需要用牛刀 if our cabinet already bursting its seams with talents, why would we need another high flyer MP who don't know what the problems the commoner facing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koko 4th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 I was attending a neighbour's late mom's funeral wake last night. As we were sitting down and chatting amongst the neighbours that attended, I got the distinct feeling that most of the neighbours above 50yrs are die-hard PAPa fans. They kept relating how singapore would not be what it is today without the PAP, and when election come, they will definately vote for PAPa. It's a good party. I am not sure what the demographics are, and whether a sampling of senior citizens from single block is representative of most of the senior citizen voters but I think whatever the case is, it's an uphill battle for chiam and sylvia to get a GRC foothold, even though all the Internets seem to be against the PAPaya. I noticed that also... most of the older generation is a die hard fan of Papaya... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...