GLZT 6th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 my kopitiam downstairs have a "new" special blend ice teh or kopi for $2, thought wat special... until i saw someone order it, it's just their normal teh or kopi blended with ice Is it a kou fu? I know some kou fu got that $2 "special blended" teh and kopi which is about 50% bigger portion than the normal teh kopi ice cup. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Park88 1st Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Got such a 'relevant authority' that monitors prices at cofi shop meh? This cofi shop can prepare to beat flies oready. ST Forum Mar 24, 2011 $2 for iced tea without milk at a coffee shop ON TUESDAY, I ordered a glass of iced tea without milk at the New Hawa coffee shop in Selegie Road. When the waitress delivered the drink, she shocked me with the bill: $2. As I paid up, I questioned the amount, which she agreed was pricey. I checked the price with another helper and she too replied that I was charged the correct amount. And how much was a canned soft drink? "$1.50," she replied. Already displeased, I turned furious when I tasted the drink, which was sugar dissolved in water. When I complained to the waitress that the price was unusually high, and worse, the drink tasted like anything but tea, she summoned the boss. A man who looked to be in his mid-40s turned up and I related to him what had transpired. He was not bothered about the pricing but said he would add more tea in my drink. When he returned with the drink, I asked him why his drink prices were so high, and he said all prices were going up. Why is a coffee shop charging $2 for a drink that should cost at most $1.20? I hope the relevant authorities will look into this matter. Jaykumar Rajoo funny people these are same kind of people who would pay $25 ++ for a small glass of beer with no questions asked Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 (edited) ST Forum Mar 24, 2011 $2 for iced tea without milk at a coffee shop ON TUESDAY, I ordered a glass of iced tea without milk at the New Hawa coffee shop in Selegie Road. When the waitress delivered the drink, she shocked me with the bill: $2. As I paid up, I questioned the amount, which she agreed was pricey. I checked the price with another helper and she too replied that I was charged the correct amount. And how much was a canned soft drink? "$1.50," she replied. Already displeased, I turned furious when I tasted the drink, which was sugar dissolved in water. When I complained to the waitress that the price was unusually high, and worse, the drink tasted like anything but tea, she summoned the boss. A man who looked to be in his mid-40s turned up and I related to him what had transpired. He was not bothered about the pricing but said he would add more tea in my drink. When he returned with the drink, I asked him why his drink prices were so high, and he said all prices were going up. Why is a coffee shop charging $2 for a drink that should cost at most $1.20? I hope the relevant authorities will look into this matter. Jaykumar Rajoo Does this makes sense now? Edited March 24, 2011 by Happily1986 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pltang Clutched March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Anyone notice that the cheese on fillet-o-fish was only half a slice? Talk about cheapskate. Alot of stuff either drop in size/proportion, or increase in cost, or both. cheeze in filet has along along been half slice since a long time ago..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pltang Clutched March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Is it??? When I worked in McD in early 90's, it is one slice of cheese. But how did they cut it into half??? Usually it comes in a stack of 100+ pieces per stack. The person doing McChicken and Fillet O Fish shares the same stack of cheese with the person making Cheese Burger, Double Cheese Burger and Big Macs. So if fillet o fish is half a slice, then the cheese burger also use half a slice???? Then Double Cheese Burger is one slice??? Sorry its been a while long while since I had McD due to health reasons. not defending mcd, but back in the early 90s, filet and mcchicken are on one side of kitchen, and onli filet uses cheeze, theirs has always been cut half from that stack, n if they dun cut it half, the cheeze slice is bigger than the fish portion itself cheeze, double and macs are on other side coz they are beef, those are full slice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pltang Clutched March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Is it a kou fu? I know some kou fu got that $2 "special blended" teh and kopi which is about 50% bigger portion than the normal teh kopi ice cup. think varinice, the one i saw was same 16oz cup, mayb got bigger at special price too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 New Hawa "hig class" kopi tiam mah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Park88 1st Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 how to expect authorities to monitor look at NTUC many of their prices are more expensive than my friendly neighbourhood shop NTUC used to say they buy in bulk so got bargaining power then how come what went wrong or they price machine got problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 The price will get worse after this ge, if you choose the wrong parties...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Is it a kou fu? I know some kou fu got that $2 "special blended" teh and kopi which is about 50% bigger portion than the normal teh kopi ice cup. the koufu at kaki bukit...that premium iced milk coffee and tea @ $2. like the size of a normal bubble tea cup. however it is sickening sweet!! i brought before and i saw the auntie put heaps of condensed milk to make it milky. dont try if u dont have a sweet tooth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Good mah, they charge higher prices, you pay higher price, our GDP will become stronger. So maybe next year we have 2 digit GDP growth as well, & show off to other countries, & our world class, hardworking MP & senior sevent can get their well deserved 8 month GDP bonus again. yah... then in the end, S$ value become rupiah.... 1 coffee $S100,000 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Kopi/teh 'o', some cofi shops charging 80cents, some 90 cents. With milk extra 10 cents. Ice extra 20 to 30 cents. Can avoid drinking just avoid. then we have to act like auntie... bring own water bottle to coffeeshop liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laurencelau 1st Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Did the coffeeshop have the sign "No outside food/drinks" ??? I seldom eat at coffeeshop nowadays. I will tabao back home and eat. Can have my own drink at home at much cheaper price. Only spent on drinks during lunch time. I now also tabao back home and eat. Use to drink 4 to 5 cups of kopi O daily. Now no more kopi O at coffeeshop. Change habit to drink Pu-er. The coffeeshop can gangup and up prices as they like, I can also do drink. I have change my habit and give up coffee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 not defending mcd, but back in the early 90s, filet and mcchicken are on one side of kitchen, and onli filet uses cheeze, theirs has always been cut half from that stack, n if they dun cut it half, the cheeze slice is bigger than the fish portion itself cheeze, double and macs are on other side coz they are beef, those are full slice During my time at McD, the patties for cheese burger and big macs were on one side. And fillet o fish n Mc Chicken deep fryer was on the opposite side. In the middle is where the preparation table is. Third level of the preparation table is the packs of buns. Second level of the preparation table is the hotplate toaster to heat up the buns. First level is the working area where the cheese, pickles, sauces and wrappers are. The cheese, pickles and sauces are in the middle of the preparation table. So the guy prepare cheese burger can access the cheese. The guy preparing fillet o fish can also access the cheese. While preparing, both guys will be facing each other but cannot actually see each other cos block by the toaster and packs of buns. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 (edited) Talk about price hike, I was quite shock just last nite.. I order from a typical koufu foodcourt, from a mixed rice stall. The dishes; chicken in black soya source type, tougeh, salted egg and tohu with a bowl of porridge, ,, it cost me $5.20.. I've never paid anything above 5 before especially at heartland area for such meal... my lunch time bak kut teh cost me $6.2. my colleague malay rice and dishes cost him $6.8 and these are prices in coffeeshop, not even the air conditioned food court. Edited March 24, 2011 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 tat foodcourt quite expensive, i agree....tat's why nowadays dun go there anymore Yes thanks for informing, after they 'renovated'...one fish fillet rice is $6.50?? From 4.50?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 During my time at McD, the patties for cheese burger and big macs were on one side. And fillet o fish n Mc Chicken deep fryer was on the opposite side. In the middle is where the preparation table is. Third level of the preparation table is the packs of buns. Second level of the preparation table is the hotplate toaster to heat up the buns. First level is the working area where the cheese, pickles, sauces and wrappers are. The cheese, pickles and sauces are in the middle of the preparation table. So the guy prepare cheese burger can access the cheese. The guy preparing fillet o fish can also access the cheese. While preparing, both guys will be facing each other but cannot actually see each other cos block by the toaster and packs of buns. during my time, we flip beef petty more professional Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Good mah, they charge higher prices, you pay higher price, our GDP will become stronger. So maybe next year we have 2 digit GDP growth as well, & show off to other countries, & our world class, hardworking MP & senior sevent can get their well deserved 8 month GDP bonus again. Thats a good one..I see you also scholar economist...To obtain double digit growth in GDP and minister salaries...just refer to the formula: GDP = private consumption + gross investment + government spending + (exports − imports) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...