$2 for iced tea without milk at a coffee shop

Latka

Got such a 'relevant authority' that monitors prices at cofi shop meh?

This cofi shop can prepare to beat flies oready.

ST Forum

Mar 24, 2011

$2 for iced tea without milk at a coffee shop

ON TUESDAY, I ordered a glass of iced tea without milk at the New Hawa coffee shop in Selegie Road. When the waitress delivered the drink, she shocked me with the bill: $2.

As I paid up, I questioned the amount, which she agreed was pricey. I checked the price with another helper and she too replied that I was charged the correct amount. And how much was a canned soft drink? "$1.50," she replied.

Already displeased, I turned furious when I tasted the drink, which was sugar dissolved in water. When I complained to the waitress that the price was unusually high, and worse, the drink tasted like anything but tea, she summoned the boss.

A man who looked to be in his mid-40s turned up and I related to him what had transpired. He was not bothered about the pricing but said he would add more tea in my drink. When he returned with the drink, I asked him why his drink prices were so high, and he said all prices were going up.

Why is a coffee shop charging $2 for a drink that should cost at most $1.20? I hope the relevant authorities will look into this matter.

Jaykumar Rajoo

i also agree that beverages prices has gone up quite a lot recently.... but $2 for an ice tea is a bit too ex if its a normal neighbourhood coffeeshop. I can never find a cup of coffee below $1 now... a cup of ice coffee can easily cost anything from 1.20 to 1.40....

Kopi/teh 'o', some cofi shops charging 80cents, some 90 cents. With milk extra 10 cents. Ice extra 20 to 30 cents.

Can avoid drinking just avoid.

the best is to make your kopi/tea at home..... dun drink outside

home made is cheap and ALOT better than outside.

these days i already stop drinking outside for some time already....... i just made my drink at home and enjoy the comfort of the sofa.

Realised that not only it saves $$, but its also good for your own health.

you know how the coffee beans / tea leaves are made for those coffee shops / food courts? It's obviously not the same quality that you can buy for home use. Those coffee beans are mixed with flour and carbon burnt. Those tea leaves are not leaves... they are tea powders.

Talk about price hike, I was quite shock just last nite.. I order from a typical koufu foodcourt, from a mixed rice stall. The dishes; chicken in black soya source type, tougeh, salted egg and tohu with a bowl of porridge, ,, it cost me $5.20.. I've never paid anything above 5 before especially at heartland area for such meal...

Tea is the most easiest to make.

Just a bottle of hot water and some tea bags/leaves.

$2.....might be better to save it and pump petrol for my car and less worrying about fuel consumption!

these days i already stop drinking outside for some time already....... i just made my drink at home and enjoy the comfort of the sofa.

you know how the coffee beans / tea leaves are made for those coffee shops / food courts? It's obviously not the same quality that you can buy for home use. Those coffee beans are mixed with flour and carbon burnt. Those tea leaves are not leaves... they are tea powders.

remember to BYO water bottle.... they also charge for plain water :D :D

maybe soon they charge corkage fee on water bottle [laugh] [laugh]

Wondering with all these increases in food/beverage prices, how can our inflation be just at around 5%? Is easily 10-20% based on the increase of 20-50 cents we now commonly see [sweatdrop]

somehow to me, the kopitiam kopi n ah nei teh tarik taste better than my diy ones. mayb its jus my incompetence hehe

expensive then dont buy and drink. this is free market mah.

can i complain starbucks drip coffee expensive cos i can get elsewhere $1?

check out killiney & ya kun coffee ... the cup is small ... not the normal coffee shop tall glass, which is good for some who don't want to drink a lot after a meal but the price is sibei not small

then its high time you master your skills.......... who knows, this could turn into your 2nd career after retirement. :D

dun understand why this "Jaykumar Rajoo" complain for F??? if the waitress billed him $2 upon serving him the drink, then as a customer can reject it if the price is way too high....typical singaporean mentality, KPKB on the price but in the end guay guay pay for the drink and LL finish it. if u think the matter is not right then do something abt it and not paid and drank liao then write to ST forum to complain.....wussy

Wondering with all these increases in food/beverage prices, how can our inflation be just at around 5%? Is easily 10-20% based on the increase of 20-50 cents we now commonly see [sweatdrop]

garment will never tell the truth publicly. only the ppl on the ground knows what's going on........ it doesnt take a PhD scholar to know the real inflation %

i also agree to an extent.

this guy shld check the price first before ordering anything. its the consumer's right to know the price first before buying anything.