Moredhel 2nd Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 wow!!! shift to N and let your car roll over to traffic red infront?? You are daring!!!!?? Manual car yes you can do this way but for auto car better not. Been doing that for some years. If it's as bad as what some claim, my GB should be utterly chui by now. So far, alot of claims basedon some concept that it will damage, but no solid theory or tests to show any relation. Perhaps in countries where the GB is supposed to last 20-30 years, it's a big deal..here in 10yr COE SG? Anyway, I think disengaging the gear trains (transmission) from the wheels is not a big issue since 'N' performs the same function whether in an AT transmission or a MT transmission. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Been driving manual style for AT for years. SO far GB still fine. Will shift to N when in front red light and some distance and roll over(habit of manual). Anytime car is in stationary position sure is at 'N'. Gear shift timing always try to coincide with traffic light change + 1s for power to transmit and vehicle to move off. Reversing, car should completely be at stop while at N before shifting to R. (D drive to lot, brake, put to N, use inertia to move into parking position, brake-stop, put to R and reverse, brake, put to N, release brake to stabalize, pull handbrake.) wah, ur parking procedure very complicated leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 wah, ur parking procedure very complicated leh Buay lah...when list out, looks abit complicated but it's common procedure leh. Most people D to R which may damage gearbox due to abrupt shift. N is like clutch in for MT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Buay lah...when list out, looks abit complicated but it's common procedure leh. Most people D to R which may damage gearbox due to abrupt shift. N is like clutch in for MT. so when u go fr D to N, the car is still moving a little n u dun need to step on brakes to change gear? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aspri Clutched March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Just curious, just how many bros in MCF on auto-transmission will take the effort to shift their gear to N when coming to a halt at traffic light? I used to drive a manual car, hence it's kinda of a habit for me to put to N when waiting for traffic light to turn green. Any difference whether to shift to N or not? I keep at D at all times other than going in reverse or parked. Shifting it to N frequently increases wear and tear. Not much benefit in terms of saving on gas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 so when u go fr D to N, the car is still moving a little n u dun need to step on brakes to change gear? Need. The whole point is to put as little stress on the transmission when reversing gear direction. D, brake to slow down, N, (brake to adjust speed)move to position, Brake-stop, R, Park into lot, N, P. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jl1500k Clutched March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 (edited) Shifting it to N frequently increases wear and tear or not I think only times can tell. So those pp have already been doing so for the past 5 to 8 years then should be safe lor. Edited March 24, 2011 by Jl1500k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roberttan 5th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 base on my understanding DONT need to shift to N when waiting at Red light. so is up to you But 1 question do you press the button when shift between N and D? Those car AUTO gear shift is like ladder pattern with no button dont need to answer this question MY understanding is Auto GB with push button Should NOT press the button between N and D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Confirm +double confirm there is the letter N and chinese character of warning,and some japanese strokes. warning goes off after I engage in D or P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Just curious, just how many bros in MCF on auto-transmission will take the effort to shift their gear to N when coming to a halt at traffic light? I used to drive a manual car, hence it's kinda of a habit for me to put to N when waiting for traffic light to turn green. Any difference whether to shift to N or not? I see some taxi drivers better.. shift to P.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 I see some taxi drivers better.. shift to P.. ai ya, if i drive a taxi, u think i'll care abt the car's gears being damaged? it's not really my own car mah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 when i was a NSF, i used to get a lift from a fellow NSF in stagmont. He drove a sunny NC16 and his driving modus operandi made me very . even driving in trunk roads, he will whack the car till about 4 to 5k rpm and then when approaching red lights, shift the lever to the 2 or D2 (i can't remember, but it's the selection that limit you to gear 2, supposed to be for hill descent) he told it is engine brake. He told me cars are meant to be whacked. Very eye opening experience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PPeripheraL Clutched March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 when i was a NSF, i used to get a lift from a fellow NSF in stagmont. He drove a sunny NC16 and his driving modus operandi made me very . even driving in trunk roads, he will whack the car till about 4 to 5k rpm and then when approaching red lights, shift the lever to the 2 or D2 (i can't remember, but it's the selection that limit you to gear 2, supposed to be for hill descent) he told it is engine brake. He told me cars are meant to be whacked. Very eye opening experience. Yep but limiting to a lower gear(even for auto cars) there will be the same engine breaking effect as manual. but good luck on the GB Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 (edited) when i was a NSF, i used to get a lift from a fellow NSF in stagmont. He drove a sunny NC16 and his driving modus operandi made me very . even driving in trunk roads, he will whack the car till about 4 to 5k rpm and then when approaching red lights, shift the lever to the 2 or D2 (i can't remember, but it's the selection that limit you to gear 2, supposed to be for hill descent) he told it is engine brake. He told me cars are meant to be whacked. Very eye opening experience. He should drive a manual instead. 4~5K is nothing for a manual GB and lotsa down gears are actually good for manual tranny and engine. Edited March 25, 2011 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 (edited) my colleague change from D to N at every stop, regardless is it at red traffic light or jam. I have counted yesterday, per drive trip, he shift for at least 50 times! Yes i am in kl. and his proton is 5 yrs old, he told me he never encounter any problem with his gear box i asked him y he wans to make himself so bz, he say can save petrol....... Edited March 25, 2011 by Tom_kkh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VellfireS 4th Gear March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 ai ya, if i drive a taxi, u think i'll care abt the car's gears being damaged? it's not really my own car mah. Oh ya.. I can see that from the way they drive @ ECP.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chess Neutral Newbie March 25, 2011 Share March 25, 2011 For me will keep it in D mode, light tap on brake to hold the car station. I will put on full brake when need to get something just in case unintention release of brake nia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear March 26, 2011 Share March 26, 2011 my colleague change from D to N at every stop, regardless is it at red traffic light or jam. I have counted yesterday, per drive trip, he shift for at least 50 times! Yes i am in kl. and his proton is 5 yrs old, he told me he never encounter any problem with his gear box i asked him y he wans to make himself so bz, he say can save petrol....... i dun think it's been verified tat doing so can save petrol..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...