SimplyTWL 1st Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 Just curious, just how many bros in MCF on auto-transmission will take the effort to shift their gear to N when coming to a halt at traffic light? I used to drive a manual car, hence it's kinda of a habit for me to put to N when waiting for traffic light to turn green. Any difference whether to shift to N or not? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PPeripheraL Clutched March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 Just curious, just how many bros in MCF on auto-transmission will take the effort to shift their gear to N when coming to a halt at traffic light? I used to drive a manual car, hence it's kinda of a habit for me to put to N when waiting for traffic light to turn green. Any difference whether to shift to N or not? I only shift to N and pull handbrake if i know the wait is gonna be long um the only difference between D and N is that when on N, no power will be transmitted to the wheels, while at D power is transmitted.. so there will be no difference. however if u change to N but never hold footbrake or handbrake, the car might roll if the road is not even Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 i change to neutral at traffic lite....so far 4yr ++ still ok...i tot will be less taxing on the brakes if i do so Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrkiasume Neutral Newbie March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 same here. i usually shift to N. unless the light is like going to turn green in about 10-15secs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimplyTWL 1st Gear March 23, 2011 Author Share March 23, 2011 Same sentiments to shift to N for long wait at traffic light. Just noticed some friends and relative who will not change to N even if traffic light have just turned red. I think on the brakes wearing out part have no much difference as brake pads will wear out faster when the brake rotors are moving. just stepping on the brakes to hold the rotors shouldn't be any big issue. How about fuel consumption? any difference like if in D will consume more or N might save more petrol even if it is minimal? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 i dun shift to Neutral at red lights....dun want to put strain on gears n transmission unnecessarily....at most, if my right leg is tired, i'll pull my handbrake Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richardlimbs Clutched March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 I do, not at every light though... mosttly when the lights just turned red and I know the wait is going to be long. My theory is not to strain the brakes keke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 I do, not at every light though... mosttly when the lights just turned red and I know the wait is going to be long. My theory is not to strain the brakes keke brake pads only wat....cheap cheap....transmission is the expensive item Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Servic Clutched March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 I do, not at every light though... mosttly when the lights just turned red and I know the wait is going to be long. My theory is not to strain the brakes keke lol.. i do the same too but with hand brake set.. and with a different reason.. so tat my foot need not be on the brake pedal always.. lazy la... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karnaugh Neutral Newbie March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 (edited) I do, not at every light though... mosttly when the lights just turned red and I know the wait is going to be long. My theory is not to strain the brakes keke How do you strain your brakes when the wheels have completely stopped? :o Weird logic people have. The only thing you are going to strain is your AT box when you keep shifting up and down. Edited March 23, 2011 by Karnaugh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 Yes, switch to N to D constantly when ur at traffic stop will cause more wear & tear to ur gearbox.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Memphis1972 1st Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 Yes, switch to N to D constantly when ur at traffic stop will cause more wear & tear to ur gearbox.. very true, my sis in law drive honda airwave, got this habbits shift to n... 4 n 1/2 yrs gearbox kaput,,so he sell off his car cos to ex for japan import gearbox[6/7k] think good luck to owner who got his car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 very true, my sis in law drive honda airwave, got this habbits shift to n... 4 n 1/2 yrs gearbox kaput,,so he sell off his car cos to ex for japan import gearbox[6/7k] think good luck to owner who got his car... i got this habit and my airwave coming to 4.5yrs liao ...knn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aloytryp Neutral Newbie March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 I do this quite often when knowing will need to stop more than 30 sec. N strain lesser on transmission. Not sure about wear and tear, some dun do that also up the lorry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 I do this quite often when knowing will need to stop more than 30 sec. N strain lesser on transmission. Not sure about wear and tear, some dun do that also up the lorry. i see.....so far so good...just manage to convince myself not to change car n drive for 10yrs...if up lorry..i must buy liao :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 I do this quite often when knowing will need to stop more than 30 sec. N strain lesser on transmission. Not sure about wear and tear, some dun do that also up the lorry. if u step on brakes while gear is at D, i dun think it strains the transmission more than if u switch it to N, rite? the wear n tear might not happen if ppl change the gears carefully....problem is some drivers do it rough n end up between gears....(it's afterall a "black box" tat u dun see with ur eyes, but over time, who knows wat kind of damage is done) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 You need pretty strong right leg muscle to hold the brake for extended period and then when moving off, you need your tired right leg to modulate with the correct foot pressure on the gas pedal in stop-start traffic. It's a torture to your right leg. No wonder Europeans are still sticking to stick shift. Stop - free to N, pull handbrake and relac. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear March 23, 2011 Share March 23, 2011 Just curious, just how many bros in MCF on auto-transmission will take the effort to shift their gear to N when coming to a halt at traffic light? I used to drive a manual car, hence it's kinda of a habit for me to put to N when waiting for traffic light to turn green. Any difference whether to shift to N or not? I do, but its more of an experiment as I'm planning on keeping my Demio for 10yrs (or even 20yrs if it can make it). I do have a few rules though 1) I only shift to N when completely stopped. 2) I do not shift and hit the accelerator immediately after. I wait for power to the wheels first. The reason is that rolling in N may heat the ATF oil to the point where negligible protection is offered thus causing more wear/damage, and that increasing the throttle before the gear is engaged/full engaged puts more strain on the gearbox. BTW, there is no additional wear on the brake system regardless of if the tranny is in N or D. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...