Do you like windscreen pamplets??

KARTer

If we park our car in public car parks, chances are when we get back to the car, we will find these pamplets 'pasted' on our windscreen advetising all sorts of stuff...... we then have to take them down and walk to the waste bin .....

Legally, are the persons who leave these paper on our car considered littering? and we end up clearing up the litter for them?? ........... sometime i am just lazy to walk to the dust bin, so i re-place the paper on the roof of my car and drive off.... let the wind take care of the paper.... what don't belong to me, belong to nature, including the wind :D:D:D

Seriously, although businesses need to advertise their service or products, but doing so by littering is really LJ!!!

Once I parked my car in my open air carpark when it rained one day and bright sun another day. One such paper of paper was placed on my windscreen then. The stupid piece of paper stuck to my windscreen and I needed to use penknife to remove that cursed piece of paper. Cursed that MF that produced the ad and the MF that placed it on my car.

Now every time I see such paper on my windscreen, feel like calling the advertiser and tell them not to be so cheapskate. Want to advertise, do it in the mass media and not cause trouble to others.

The worse is when its raining and u din notice the pamphlet, then turn on wipers and drive off.... u see small broken pieces of papers shredded by the wipers all over the windscreen... KNN. [furious]

To be fair, i have also seen thoughtful advertisers who covered the pamphlet with a transparent plastic bag. So that the pamphlet wouldn't get wet due to rain or morning dew.

precisely they don't want their pamphlets to be wet hence the plastic bag. because if it is wet and torn, who can read the words on it? the outcome is wasted their $$

On 3/19/2011 at 2:46 PM, Palmer said:

Once I parked my car in my open air carpark when it rained one day and bright sun another day. One such paper of paper was placed on my windscreen then. The stupid piece of paper stuck to my windscreen and I needed to use penknife to remove that cursed piece of paper. Cursed that MF that produced the ad and the MF that placed it on my car.

Now every time I see such paper on my windscreen, feel like calling the advertiser and tell them not to be so cheapskate. Want to advertise, do it in the mass media and not cause trouble to others.

Last year a MacDonald advert paper was left on my bonet, and it rained.... same as your situation, when it dried up, the paper got stuck to the paint.... i called and wrote to MacDonald to complain and I didnt remove it but asked them to send their man to get that paper off my bonnet... they asked me to drive my car to their office for investigation, i f'kd them on the phone and emailed the same.... they were the one who caused the problem, i insisted they come to my office to remove it from my car

then they got their insurance men to talk to me... i told them to send me a replacement car and i will send my car to my own workshop to scrap the paper off, repaint the bonnet, all at their cost..... they finally agreed.....

Lucky for them, and for me.... the workshop use wax to remove the paper and the paint was not affected..... i just paid the workshop about $20 and didnt even bother to talk to MacDonald any more [:)]

you should have asked the workshop to bill the insurer

maybe they bill 1k and arrange some special perks for you ?

On 3/19/2011 at 2:46 PM, Palmer said:

media must pay.

phamplets are free.

On 3/19/2011 at 2:01 PM, KARTer said:

If we park our car in public car parks, chances are when we get back to the car, we will find these pamplets 'pasted' on our windscreen advetising all sorts of stuff...... we then have to take them down and walk to the waste bin .....

Legally, are the persons who leave these paper on our car considered littering? and we end up clearing up the litter for them?? ........... sometime i am just lazy to walk to the dust bin, so i re-place the paper on the roof of my car and drive off.... let the wind take care of the paper.... what don't belong to me, belong to nature, including the wind :D:D:D

Seriously, although businesses need to advertise their service or products, but doing so by littering is really LJ!!!

Think you already know the answer.

Of course no lah.

If your car is parked in open carpark, those pamplets really create problem for you. Esp if u went overseas and no one is ard, if those pamplets left on your windscreen under sun & rain, it might get stuck on your windscreen and cannot be remove!

On 3/19/2011 at 2:01 PM, KARTer said:

Bro, if polis or nea ocifers see the paper fly off from your car, they can fine you for littering...... mai sng xiao......

But haven't we have some good offers from these advert? I did have a few good offers before on servicing and grooming...

Edited by Rudra

i hate when someone put a pamplets on windscreen!!! if i did not drive for few days the paper can stuck onto my windscreen after its rain and removing it will leave the paper stain on it!!!

On 3/19/2011 at 2:49 PM, Pcslim said:

The worse is when its raining and u din notice the pamphlet, then turn on wipers and drive off.... u see small broken pieces of papers shredded by the wipers all over the windscreen... KNN. [furious]

I did that once and from that point of time, i started cursing person who places pamphlet on the windscreen. Worst part, sometimes, it slows and strucks the wiper and if you are in middle of the traffic, you can't do much to stop and remove it.

On 3/19/2011 at 4:08 PM, Melvinnn said:

i usually don't waste paper.. so i put it on the car next to me. =X

i like you style

but bro, dont you remember that I am parking next to you