B200 free upgrade to C200??!

Damienic

Yup. Mine is 1.8L turbo CGI. I reckon is the torque, a full 250Nm, which comes in as low as 1600rpm thus lesser need to rev so better FC lor [:p]

Hmm, noticed there is a slight difference in torque betweem the 1.8 and 1.6. The 1.6 torque is 230 NM from the specs on website.

The C180CGI produces the same 250Nm torque as the C200K. But peak torque on the turbocharged, direct-injected CGI comes in at much lower revs so it feels more torquey and willing to pull than the kompressor.

ask you all go mod already once you mod ah you wont even be comparing low end torque figures

but if the CGI mod, lagi smoke the kompressor how? [:p][laugh][laugh]

The C180CGI produces the same 250Nm torque as the C200K. But peak torque on the turbocharged, direct-injected CGI comes in at much lower revs so it feels more torquey and willing to pull than the kompressor.

so the C180 1.6 is less torquey? kena smoked by Chris Tan who claimed in a review in 2009 that the performance of the 1.6 C180 is just as good as the 1.8 model.. :huh:

Different engine lah .....

C180 - C180K 1,8 Kompressor engine replaced with C180 K 1.6 Kompressor then to C180 CGI (for a few batches) now back to C180K 1.6 Kompressor

C200 - C200K 1.8 Kompressor engine replaced with C200 CGI Turbo engine

If compared the C180K 1.8, performance is similar to that of C180 1.6 but C180 CGI is a different engine, it is turbo charged and not supercharged.

C180 - C180K 1,8 Kompressor engine replaced with C180 K 1.6 Kompressor then to C180 CGI (for a few batches) now back to C180K 1.6 Kompressor

If compared the C180K 1.8, performance is similar to that of C180 1.6 but C180 CGI is a different engine, it is turbo charged and not supercharged.

actually same engine just lup turbo instead of supercharger [laugh]

but the performance of the 1.6 Kompressor not as good right? if the torque is anything to go by...I mean between the 1.6 and 1.8CGI..

Edited by Damienic

confirm smoke. zero logic for MB (or any car company for that matter) to abandon their long-held kompressor tech and invest hundreds of millions of $$ on the latest turbocharged direct injection technology......juz to produce the same or less power?? [hur]

but the performance of the 1.6 Kompressor not as good right? if the torque is anything to go by...I mean between the 1.6 and 1.8CGI..

bro, if u got chance, test drive both the 1.6L komp and the 1.8L CGI. you can instantly feel the difference.

I have test driven the 1.6L komp before but no chance to test drive the 1.8L CGI yet...why did they decide to do away with the 1.8L CGI for the C180?

confirm smoke. zero logic for MB (or any car company for that matter) to abandon their long-held kompressor tech and invest hundreds of millions of $$ on the latest turbocharged direct injection technology......juz to produce the same or less power?? [hur]

its not the power issue. its the Euro V emissions

I have test driven the 1.6L komp before but no chance to test drive the 1.8L CGI yet...why did they decide to do away with the 1.8L CGI for the C180?

Cat B vs Cat A. OMV oso 7k less on the 1.6L komp. So, instantly can sell 30k cheaper plus rob the A4's sales and practically kill off the 3-series. Plus, think it was oso cannibalizing the higher margin C200CGI sales as the new C180CGI engine is oredi quite a gem and can hold it's own. Most of the C-class CGI models u see on the roads are the C180 instead of the C200.

What I heard was that c&c dun make much on the c180cgi plus it's cannibalizing into the sale of the c200. Thus after selling it for a few mths they reverted back to the c180k.

Cat B vs Cat A. OMV oso 7k less on the 1.6L komp. So, instantly can sell 30k cheaper plus rob the A4's sales and practically kill off the 3-series. Plus, think it was oso cannibalizing the higher margin C200CGI sales as the new C180CGI engine is oredi quite a gem and can hold it's own. Most of the C-class CGI models u see on the roads are the C180 instead of the C200.

yeah the CAT A vs CAT B thingy plus the savings in road tax was also partly what attracted me..hehe..nevertheless the C180 1.6 is still a good car..at least when compared to 320, I still find the driving experience better for the C180 1.6

What I heard was that c&c dun make much on the c180cgi plus it's cannibalizing into the sale of the c200. Thus after selling it for a few mths they reverted back to the c180k.

oh I see....thanks for the explanations... [cool]

...just wonder why can't they once and for all just reveal the true price of the cars?? would it really hurt their sales if they dun use such gimmicks? I think not but seems like they still insist on doing it.. [rolleyes]

When I "confronted" them about their gimmicky price advertisements, they (some of the higher end brands) claimed that their rivals are doing it hence they need to do the same otherwise they will lose their potential customers to rivals. Lexus is also one of the biggest culprit when it comes to pricing gimmicks!

It seems that getting a customer to just step into their showroom is like a battle half won already...hehehe.

Maybe the fear offending their previous customers forced them to be deliberately vague in the discounts offered during promotions.

Edited by Topspin