Civic6228 6th Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 haha perhaps I just dun follow the motor industry enough.. yeah lor..sick of all this kind of discounts which comes with string attached... :angry: Goat's hair comes from the Goat's body and there are many ways to skin a cow .... They will have rebates, overtrades, service credits etc for different packages .... at the end of the day, the final netted buy price is the most important. I would wait for the new FL C class if I am "targeting" to buy this car, there is a "writeout" on the new FL C Class in the The Straits Times today. IMO, the interior of the FL is nicer compared to the current one. External, I actually prefer the current one with the eye-lid. Not sure whether they will be puting in the 7 Speed Auto on the entry level C-180 and C-200. But they are, then I think it is worth the wait. However, if they are giving a good deal to clear the stock for the current model .......... it may would considering. If the deal is not sweet enough, I would wait for the FL model. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 Hi, anyone check out the recent C&C buy B200 and get free upgrade to a C200 promotion? Is it logical? The list price of B200 is 167,800 and the C200 is 203,800. If the promo is true, then it is akin to buying a C200 at 167,800. If this is so, then which C class buyers would still want to buy the C180 of which the list price is 163,800 which is just 4K cheaper and what's more, C180 is under CAT A and the C200 is under CAT B? Then wouldn't they cannabalise their own sales of C180 which makes up quite a big bulk of Mercs sales in SG? Interesting to see if anyone had gone down to check out this promo.. WAH u 'r right! if choose the B200 option and get the C200, paper value for C200 will be so much more than the C180, say 1 year later. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 apologies. i think it was a C180 CGI that was done away with. no longer know what CGI, K, ML, and whatnot stands for. Mercedes currently has 3 trims Classic Elegance Avant Garde Previously there were ML K Equipment level differs between the 3 with classic being the lowest and Avant Garde the highest. In certain models, exterior fittings and looks can differ too. However classic is not being sold much more. ML and K were only for previous models. CGI = Charged Gasoline Injection, basically means 4 pot with Turbo and direct injection Kompressor = Supercharged 4 pot basically same engine but with a roots blower instead of a turbo 7g-tronic = the gearbox Savvy? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 Goat's hair comes from the Goat's body and there are many ways to skin a cow .... They will have rebates, overtrades, service credits etc for different packages .... at the end of the day, the final netted buy price is the most important. I would wait for the new FL C class if I am "targeting" to buy this car, there is a "writeout" on the new FL C Class in the The Straits Times today. IMO, the interior of the FL is nicer compared to the current one. External, I actually prefer the current one with the eye-lid. Not sure whether they will be puting in the 7 Speed Auto on the entry level C-180 and C-200. But they are, then I think it is worth the wait. However, if they are giving a good deal to clear the stock for the current model .......... it may would considering. If the deal is not sweet enough, I would wait for the FL model. Actually i kinda prefer the current interior and exterior. the FL interior looks abit cramp and is going towards bmw style We will have to wait to see if they put 7 g tronic in the 4pots. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 WAH u 'r right! if choose the B200 option and get the C200, paper value for C200 will be so much more than the C180, say 1 year later. except you'll be bleeding from the interest of the 90% loan you took Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 19, 2011 Author Share March 19, 2011 ill let you know one la dont worry i have to be in tune with the industry because its my business too mah. FL one i dont think will be priced different i suppose it will just replace the previous iterations market placement Oh I see..you are in the car sales industry? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 Oh I see..you are in the car sales industry? no la i help with installing mercedes benz systems and parts remember? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 19, 2011 Author Share March 19, 2011 Goat's hair comes from the Goat's body and there are many ways to skin a cow .... They will have rebates, overtrades, service credits etc for different packages .... at the end of the day, the final netted buy price is the most important. I would wait for the new FL C class if I am "targeting" to buy this car, there is a "writeout" on the new FL C Class in the The Straits Times today. IMO, the interior of the FL is nicer compared to the current one. External, I actually prefer the current one with the eye-lid. Not sure whether they will be puting in the 7 Speed Auto on the entry level C-180 and C-200. But they are, then I think it is worth the wait. However, if they are giving a good deal to clear the stock for the current model .......... it may would considering. If the deal is not sweet enough, I would wait for the FL model. I read the ST today on the new FL c class...frankly speaking, I could not see any difference in the exterior..hehe.. Do you know when they might start to clear stocks for current model in SG? What is the level of discounts one can reasonably expect for stock clearance models?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 I read the ST today on the new FL c class...frankly speaking, I could not see any difference in the exterior..hehe.. Do you know when they might start to clear stocks for current model in SG? What is the level of discounts one can reasonably expect for stock clearance models?? the discounts can differ maybe up to 10k more than usual but remember of the limited choices in colour and models. the exterior differs mainly in the bumper, the front headlamps and the hood. Conversion can be done quite easily if any of you guys are interested Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 19, 2011 Author Share March 19, 2011 no la i help with installing mercedes benz systems and parts remember? oh ok...I might have missed it...unique profession sia..so you would have all the first hand info on mercs... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 oh ok...I might have missed it...unique profession sia..so you would have all the first hand info on mercs... okok la its not my primary job but feel free to drop me a pm if you need any help with anything mercedes from part nos. to installation of systems eg, bi-xenons and interior stuff cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 19, 2011 Author Share March 19, 2011 okok la its not my primary job but feel free to drop me a pm if you need any help with anything mercedes from part nos. to installation of systems eg, bi-xenons and interior stuff cheers great..next time if I really get the c class will look for you if I need anything.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 19, 2011 Author Share March 19, 2011 the discounts can differ maybe up to 10k more than usual but remember of the limited choices in colour and models. the exterior differs mainly in the bumper, the front headlamps and the hood. Conversion can be done quite easily if any of you guys are interested hmmm, discounts of up to 10k or so is not bad... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 19, 2011 Author Share March 19, 2011 in the first place, not many people buy B-class anyway. maybe they give direct similar upgrade for people who show interest in A-class? (to B-class, if there is still A-class locally) anyway they're just trying to give the impression of "value-adding" to potential customers. customers love that. wanna buy something worth $50 then end up they will feel, with the free upgrade or gifts, they have bought something worth $80 actually I wonder why would anyone buy an a class or a b class..it is freaking expensive and the performance is noticeably not as good as the c class..the A class list price only 3k lower than C180 and B200 is even more ex than C180.. actually such gimmicks of "value adding" doesn't work on me..maybe it does on others.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 19, 2011 Author Share March 19, 2011 except you'll be bleeding from the interest of the 90% loan you took I think it is absolutely unimaginable to take a 90% loan on C200...that is like 140k..monthly installments over $1600..omg.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jsf777 1st Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 also in today's ST ad...book a E200CGI and get upgraded to E250CGI Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear March 19, 2011 Author Share March 19, 2011 actually this sounds more expected..E200 to E250..I would have expect buy a C180 and upgrade to C200 rather than a buy B200 and upgrade to C200.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 great..next time if I really get the c class will look for you if I need anything.. sure thing would be happy to help and see you so excited confirm will get one la ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...