So_nice 6th Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 we can only hope and pray things go ok. for those whom thinks this incident is nothing, juz let them be. we cant change the way they think but we know who are the 1st to runaway when things goes wrong! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic March 19, 2011 Author Share March 19, 2011 sometimes replies here baffle me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pippo20 Neutral Newbie March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 And so you do? You are a nuclear engineering expert? Or did you get your information from some over-reacting media outlets? Read this for some perspective will you? MITNSE Heroic yes. Suicidal no. Radiation exposure can be managed. No one has to die. I say again, this is no chernobyl. We have a nuclear expert in this forum..! The Japanese need you asap!!!! They may gv u some AV stars for your advice:) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanlee 1st Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 how many Singaporeans would have such courage? When rubber hit the road, I am sure there will be Singaporean who will have such courage... Likewise I will see the exodus of FT out of Singapore... maybe exodus of the Singapore elite community too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 When rubber hit the road, I am sure there will be Singaporean who will have such courage... Likewise I will see the exodus of FT out of Singapore... maybe exodus of the Singapore elite community too... Isn't it interesting that this bunch of heroic jap people that are making the sacrifice is neither FT or elite too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 To me the Japs are very advance in terms of technology and the way they do things. However, I am quite shock that this nuclear thing can happen. Don't they know that the whole of Japan is quake prone area and they gotta to be extra careful when building a nuclear plant. Think they were careless. I am wondering whether did they conduct a risk assessment before building nuclear plants coz anything bad happen would be a big blow to the country and its people. I am not sure whether they conduct any studies on how hard or the highest a quake can go and then built a nuclear plant that can whichstand twice the impact for safety sake. For example, if the highest is 9 on the scale for a quake, they should built a nuclear plant that can "tahan" up to a scale of maybe 18 to buffer the shock. This nuclear thingy is very serious and cannot play play one. If meltdown or really explode until mushroom appear I really cannot imagine what will happan to Jepun and its neighbours. Really feel sorry for them and hope everything goes smoothly and quickly. Bro, it is not the quake that kills this plant. It is the tsunami. You can design a building/plant to withstand quake. And the Japs are pretty good at that. But you cannot design something to withstand tsunami or the effects that come with it. It's too unpredictable. The plant didn't collapse because of the quake. But it's system got knock out by the tsunami. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 sometimes replies here baffle me yeah, some people downplay such events until machiam this heroic mission is no different from taking a fart in a coffeeshop. school holidays lah bro!! google is their best friend, whether school days or holidays. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 Bro, it is not the quake that kills this plant. It is the tsunami. You can design a building/plant to withstand quake. And the Japs are pretty good at that. But you cannot design something to withstand tsunami or the effects that come with it. It's too unpredictable. The plant didn't collapse because of the quake. But it's system got knock out by the tsunami. In that case, why can't they built super high and strong wall around because Japan being a prone area for this kind of calamities. Gotta to have some kind of buffer, or else everyone is going to be very sorry. Countries can be wipe off from the map. Too great a risk to take. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 In that case, why can't they built super high and strong wall around because Japan being a prone area for this kind of calamities. Gotta to have some kind of buffer, or else everyone is going to be very sorry. Countries can be wipe off from the map. Too great a risk to take. Dude... please read up before posting that kind of uninformed opinion. The plant was very old and reactor 1 was a 40 year old design, scheduled to be decommissioned in 2 weeks when the thing struck. The plant was designed to withstand a quake of magnitude 8.2. The quake that struck was of magnitude 8.9. You do know that the Richter scale is logarithmic right? Or maybe not, since you mentioned that a quake of magnitude 18 is twice the power of one of magnitude 9. A quake of magnitude 8.9/9.0 is roughly 7 times more powerful than one of magnitude 8.2. If I were an engineer and this weren't such a crisis, I'd be shouting "F**K YEAH CIVIL ENGINEERING!" in triumph right now. A magnitude 18 quake is meaningless - the planet would have shattered itself to bits by then. Btw, magnitude 9 quakes are very rare as it is. A tsunami of this power is even rarer, on the order of one in a thousand plus years. No, that's not MIW statistics like the stupid 1 in 50 years b-------t. Next, go read up on how tsunami-proofing buildings involve designs that at the moment run counter to quake-proofing buildings. Designing for one compromises the other. Quakes happen far more often in Japan. The aftershocks as of now number well past 500-600, many above 6.0 or even approaching 7.0 in magnitude, and yet you don't see buildings crumbling in Tokyo. Before asking why this and that couldn't be or wasn't done, please consider what was already done and look up readily available information. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 Dude... please read up before posting that kind of uninformed opinion. The plant was very old and reactor 1 was a 40 year old design, scheduled to be decommissioned in 2 weeks when the thing struck. The plant was designed to withstand a quake of magnitude 8.2. The quake that struck was of magnitude 8.9. You do know that the Richter scale is logarithmic right? Or maybe not, since you mentioned that a quake of magnitude 18 is twice the power of one of magnitude 9. A quake of magnitude 8.9/9.0 is roughly 7 times more powerful than one of magnitude 8.2. If I were an engineer and this weren't such a crisis, I'd be shouting "F**K YEAH CIVIL ENGINEERING!" in triumph right now. A magnitude 18 quake is meaningless - the planet would have shattered itself to bits by then. Btw, magnitude 9 quakes are very rare as it is. A tsunami of this power is even rarer, on the order of one in a thousand plus years. No, that's not MIW statistics like the stupid 1 in 50 years b-------t. Next, go read up on how tsunami-proofing buildings involve designs that at the moment run counter to quake-proofing buildings. Designing for one compromises the other. Quakes happen far more often in Japan. The aftershocks as of now number well past 500-600, many above 6.0 or even approaching 7.0 in magnitude, and yet you don't see buildings crumbling in Tokyo. Before asking why this and that couldn't be or wasn't done, please consider what was already done and look up readily available information. heard magnitude 9 is 15,000 times of magnitude 7 which mean the destruction is 15,000 time the 2 atomic bomb dropped on them during WWII..... I hear this from news one, dun shoot me if I was wrong..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 heard magnitude 9 is 15,000 times of magnitude 7 which mean the destruction is 15,000 time the 2 atomic bomb dropped on them during WWII..... I hear this from news one, dun shoot me if I was wrong..... Hmm over the years I've come to realize that the news agencies, even the BBC, don't check their scientific facts very well. If it's the Richter scale that we're talking about, the difference of 2.0 in magnitude corresponds to a factor of roughly 1000 in terms of energy released. It's still a massive difference, but I guess bigger numbers are more sensational and better sell the news. Seismologists no longer use the Richter scale unless it's for press releases though... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 U dun hao lian here n tok c--k behind ur computer la.. U so smart Alec then go volunteer with red cross and go to japan to join the brave 50 la.. Prove to yourself that your radiation sickness can be managed.. You dun need this to become Chernobyl to prove deadly.. U want all to be dead before u start to be alarmed? Wan to be hero dun talk so much, just do it.. We all not as brave as these 50 workers, so can only salute them for their selflessness, n not trivialize their sacrifice like some people.. Not happy? Your problem Lo.. Hahaha.. Interesting that so many things you said apply to yourself too. Oh don't worry I am happy. I say again, it's not suicidal. If you want to believe otherwise so be it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Caravan 5th Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 This is a tweet taken from BBC live yesterday: Mayor of Minamisoma, the town 20km north of Fukushima, speaking earlier today is quoted on the BBC as follows "They cannot deliver relief goods because of high radiation? No! The level of radiation here is only a few micro sieverts per hour. We do not blame lorry drivers. We blame media and journalists. They are crying out "dangerous! dangerous!" but we live here. They are cutting off the supply of food and goods to us and let us starve to death." Fear and paranoia, no thanks to the media, and the people who blindly believe them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lurpsexx 6th Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 Interesting that so many things you said apply to yourself too. Oh don't worry I am happy. I say again, it's not suicidal. If you want to believe otherwise so be it. Wa Lao! U really prove to be school kid troll sia.. Kena suan Liao wan to talk back? Limpei play u enuf Liao la.. U happy, I care? Worry? Dun waste my time man.. Suicidal? Only when u do it then I clap hand la.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 Interesting that so many things you said apply to yourself too. Oh don't worry I am happy. I say again, it's not suicidal. If you want to believe otherwise so be it. Dare to put your last dollar on the table no one will die working at the site now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 Today's newspaper put 3 died already. I wonder if this situation happened in Singapore, will the technicians and engineers be so heroic and sacrifice for the good of the general public. Why can't they just shut down the reactors and fill it up with concrete. The Fukushima 50 is more than 50 person, it's called 50 is because at anytime there are 50 person on duty. It's reported total is about 180 - 200 personnel. All will probably suffer permanent radiation caused ailments if they did not die while carry out suicide mission. What will you do if you are the top man, Will you 1) continue to run the reactors and provide electricty to the city - but engineers will have to stay put to maintain the plant. or 2) Shut down the reactors fill up with concrete like the Chernobyl and have partial blackout to the city - but not so many engineers have to die. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear March 20, 2011 Share March 20, 2011 (edited) Dude... please read up before posting that kind of uninformed opinion. The plant was very old and reactor 1 was a 40 year old design, scheduled to be decommissioned in 2 weeks when the thing struck. The plant was designed to withstand a quake of magnitude 8.2. The quake that struck was of magnitude 8.9. You do know that the Richter scale is logarithmic right? Or maybe not, since you mentioned that a quake of magnitude 18 is twice the power of one of magnitude 9. A quake of magnitude 8.9/9.0 is roughly 7 times more powerful than one of magnitude 8.2. If I were an engineer and this weren't such a crisis, I'd be shouting "F**K YEAH CIVIL ENGINEERING!" in triumph right now. A magnitude 18 quake is meaningless - the planet would have shattered itself to bits by then. Btw, magnitude 9 quakes are very rare as it is. A tsunami of this power is even rarer, on the order of one in a thousand plus years. No, that's not MIW statistics like the stupid 1 in 50 years b-------t. Next, go read up on how tsunami-proofing buildings involve designs that at the moment run counter to quake-proofing buildings. Designing for one compromises the other. Quakes happen far more often in Japan. The aftershocks as of now number well past 500-600, many above 6.0 or even approaching 7.0 in magnitude, and yet you don't see buildings crumbling in Tokyo. Before asking why this and that couldn't be or wasn't done, please consider what was already done and look up readily available information. Yeah ! I may not have these knowledge but it still happened. They have done it but it still happened. And when something like this happen, everything that is done in the past is not good enough. People suffer and no excuse for whatever can be said. Somethings don't need knowledge. Edited March 20, 2011 by Renegade777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged March 20, 2011 Share March 20, 2011 This is a tweet taken from BBC live yesterday: Mayor of Minamisoma, the town 20km north of Fukushima, speaking earlier today is quoted on the BBC as follows "They cannot deliver relief goods because of high radiation? No! The level of radiation here is only a few micro sieverts per hour. We do not blame lorry drivers. We blame media and journalists. They are crying out "dangerous! dangerous!" but we live here. They are cutting off the supply of food and goods to us and let us starve to death." Fear and paranoia, no thanks to the media, and the people who blindly believe them. that's why our garment control the media mah.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...