Grimicer Clutched March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 On 3/18/2011 at 4:20 AM, Mlbl said: I'm an owner of the new 6 speed Kia forte 1.6 SX. I've done extensive research before buying the car and here are few things I can say why forte is better VS toyota vios: 1) Keyless entry + Engine Start/Stop Button (this is subjective matter whether having this is better vs normal ignition key type) 2) Stability programmes (forte has more stability controls vs vios and forte also has traction control which can be toggled on or off) 3) Auto headlight leveling 4) Reverse camera (this is the best feature IMHO) 5) Electro-chromic mirror (i believe vios still using old fashioned push/pull rear view mirror type, for forte, it is automatic just press a button and the bright lights from cars will auto-dim) 6) More spacious 7) Rear parking assist system 8) Fully automatic aircond. the new forte might be worthwhile but the old forte is not worthwhile if talking about trade. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade777 5th Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 (edited) On 3/16/2011 at 10:02 PM, Jkcs said: most jap brand cars are assembled elsewhere outside japan so how can it qualified as MIJ? You have said it. The word "assembled". It is still a Jap car with Jap parts. And a Korean car with Korean parts. How about Mercedes-Benz also made in Thailand or BMW in South Africa. No need compare. Like Korea buy Korea, if got more money then buy Jap. No point saying Jap car this and that. No one wants to say the car he or she bought is lousy. Down the road and in times to come, China made car owners will also claim China cars are better then Korean cars. China made cars got so much more gadgets than Korean cars. No end and humans generally "Ai bin". Simple logic is buy what you like and no need to justify for other people. Branding is important to many. Like that very stressful. If you think Korean cars is good and can live with it, just buy. If cannot tahan the "stigma", then just get a Jap or Conti. Edited March 19, 2011 by Renegade777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 (edited) On 3/19/2011 at 1:30 AM, Grimicer said: the new forte might be worthwhile but the old forte is not worthwhile if talking about trade. Not exactly true. The difference in brand new price of new and old forte is approx $8k (the price tends to fluctuate). The differences btw the 2 cars are: 1) 6 speed vs 4 speed (FC lower by small margin, acceleration improve a little bit - less than 1sec) 2) bodykit (some ppl felt without body kit is nicer as bodykit spoil the "flow" of the body shape) 3) bluetooth capacility (u can get aftermarket double DIN DVD system with bluetooth for around $1500) Whether these differences are worth the approx $8k extra is up to u. In addition, if u dun tink u will hang on to ur forte for more than a few yrs, u can get a 1yr old forte from used market. For the 6 speed u have to buy new one. Or if u want to buy brand new 4 speed, i believe got big discount at showroom. U can check it out. Cheers. Edited March 19, 2011 by Kar_lover Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porche 5th Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 On 3/16/2011 at 2:28 PM, Aaron_soh80 said: Watch wad u say..wait forte owner not happy.. i own a korean made too, doesn't made sense to change to a used one....change to a new one lah. i'm also waiting to see the new Avante Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 On 3/17/2011 at 4:15 AM, Hiphiphoray said: Changing a 1.5ltr car to a 1.6ltr purely just on looks and very minimum "whatever" improvements is pure dumb if u ask me. Unless its a sigificant jump to 2.0ltr or 2.4ltr or even a TC one. Then it will be a totally different driving experience. I know cos i jump from OPC lancer cs3 1.6ltr to normal plate sonata 2.4ltr.........shiok man!!!! Before the exchange, i test-drive all sorts of cars from 1.6ltr one to 2.4ltr to TC one. The jump from 1.6ltr to 2.4ltr is just nice, not too a overwhelming change and soft on the $pocket$. Besides, this 2.5yr old sonata only cost me 44.8k back then. Ever since have been driving it for 3+ years liao and enjoying it very much. hey, HHH, u used to have this electrical wiring issue in ur sonata, has it been resolved? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 On 3/17/2011 at 4:15 AM, Hiphiphoray said: Changing a 1.5ltr car to a 1.6ltr purely just on looks and very minimum "whatever" improvements is pure dumb if u ask me. Unless its a sigificant jump to 2.0ltr or 2.4ltr or even a TC one. Then it will be a totally different driving experience. Ur statement is a very "head"-level statement which is basically dat any horizontal change is dumb cos spend more money but no change in "status". However, if TS can well afford to jump to a K5/C5/508/Passat/Golf i am sure he would consider it. But such upgrades is a completely different financial ball game. For me, i "downgraded" from a Fit to a MIK Koup and it has been such a great downgrade! I never looked back and nor regretted. The extra features and nice design are very "heart"-felt and a joy to own. Sure i wish it had a TC engine and 7 speed dual clutch transmission but dat would put it in a completely different price band altogether. Having said dat another bro upgraded from a Koup to a SSS for his own set of reasons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 stay put wif ur vios. the forte is no much better then it. dun let the 124bhp fool u. it's juz a hoax on tat heavy body. go for a better car if u're on the upgrade. might wanna look at lancer 1.8T, swift sport or colt turbo if u wan more power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mlbl Neutral Newbie March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 isnt it too early to tell since forte is just around 1 year + on the road? Need more time to gauge whether it will be reliable or otherwise. Past history not accurate anymore since this is a new batch of korean cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear March 19, 2011 Share March 19, 2011 On 3/19/2011 at 3:16 AM, Kar_lover said: Having said dat another bro upgraded from a Koup to a SSS for his own set of reasons. lol i'd think thats a downgrade koup is so much more spacious and comfortable yet the fuel economy and power are unbeatable Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PPeripheraL Clutched March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 it all depends on what the driver values. if he has a family of let's say average (2 kids) it would definitely make much more sense to get a vios rather than a koup. if practicality, one would also choose a vios. but if you prefer a car with a "sportier" or "fiercer" outlook, of course the koup would be the clear winner. so it all boils down to what one prefer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flamehao89 Neutral Newbie March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 erm i don think forte is faster than vios..no offence alright:) yes the horses for forte may seem ard 20 plus more than a vios but i don think this 20 plus horses can cover the weight different of 200+ near to 300 kg:) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flamehao89 Neutral Newbie March 21, 2011 Share March 21, 2011 On 3/16/2011 at 2:43 PM, Spurman said: Forte overall a better car than Vios.. 1) Bigger space 2) nicer looks exterior 3) a little more powerful compared to Vios 4) MIK 5) interior nicer However, 1) slightly more expensive Road tax 2) same or slightly worse FC as to Vios.. I guess Vios should be 13km/ltr, Forte 12km/ltr.. 3) Selling a car, admin fees, etc, depreciation, new loans, means new interest to pay off. erm i don think forte is faster than vios..no offence alright:) yes the horses for forte may seem ard 20 plus more than a vios but i don think this 20 plus horses can cover the weight different of 200+ near to 300 kg: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Majordan 2nd Gear March 22, 2011 Share March 22, 2011 life is short.. if you feel like getting it .. go for it when i was pondering to change car i also over analyse things. if you can afford it, Forte is a slightly bigger and better looking car than Vios. why not? in sg roads, dont talk about power / no power. everywhere got traffic lights, you got 400hp also no use. but personally i dont like the feeling of underpower when the car is in full capacity cos very sluggish. go calculate what is the hp per kg for both cars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jordanplus 1st Gear March 22, 2011 Share March 22, 2011 In sgp road dun just talk abt hp, u need more torque than horse. Talk abt Kia got 5 years unlimited mileage warranty, it's provided urs have to service by AD, if u service at outside WS, that the end for ur warranty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear March 22, 2011 Share March 22, 2011 If you want to upgrade from the Vios and get a bigger car, get the used 2006 Sonata. That one then I'd call it an upgrade. From Vios to Forte? Who're you trying to kid? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Majordan 2nd Gear March 22, 2011 Share March 22, 2011 might as well say bmw 7-series... dude, obviously he has a budget right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JX83 3rd Gear March 22, 2011 Share March 22, 2011 I said don't change no point changing.. I personally feel that the 2 cars make no difference almost the same.. Like some ppl said here unless u change to a different make or type or different feel in driving.. Another thing if ur Vios is 1st hand means u are the 1st owner no point changing to a 2nd hand car.. Unless u are changing 2nd hand to 2nd hand.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andytanlc Neutral Newbie March 22, 2011 Share March 22, 2011 it the same cat car between vois and forte so no point changing ...... unless changing to higher CC or MPV u pay less rd tax and insurance now really not much diff if change to forte anyway gd luck to u if i were u i will change to 2000cc car other than 1600cc cos really make no diff bro dun waste money on car jus for 10yrs .. point A to point B only ok if really got much more to spend than get something bigger other than same class do u get wat i mean ??? happy hunting ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...