Advice on $ To fork out to change vios to forte

Tubecreamer

why waste money?

agree also. the forte is no better than the vios. if i am to rate it, i would say quality and performance is the ABOUT the same as the VIOS.

Your vios listed @ 57k doesnt mean ppl will buy your vios for that amount.

Probably have to discount about 10k from that price thereabouts.

Trade in difference + transfer fees + whatever miscs costs will costs you about 15k liao at the very least maybe more depending on the dealer.

Then there is any bank loan, u will definately be penalise. Pls dont go do over-trade hor!!!! [dead]

Thereafter have to worry about the car condition. Sway sway this car got kena serious accident before......u're gona regret big time.

All these fuss for a same age car and slight improvement in safety , comfort, bigger or whatever u think its ok, just does not make sense.

know that i've been mulling over this.

gotta ask for advice.

my vios j auto (since june '09) listing for $57,800 on sgcarmart now.

I am looking at a forte (june '09) listing for $62,800.

If I let car dealer handle, besides the increase in monthly installment, how much fees in total am I looking at

agree!!

09 vios listed 57.8k, definitely dealer take-in less than 50k or even lower.

Your vios listed @ 57k doesnt mean ppl will buy your vios for that amount.

Probably have to discount about 10k from that price thereabouts.

Trade in difference + transfer fees + whatever miscs costs will costs you about 15k liao at the very least maybe more depending on the dealer.

Then there is any bank loan, u will definately be penalise. Pls dont go do over-trade hor!!!! [dead]

Thereafter have to worry about the car condition. Sway sway this car got kena serious accident before......u're gona regret big time.

All these fuss for a same age car and slight improvement in safety , comfort, bigger or whatever u think its ok, just does not make sense.

Dont just look at the paper bhp difference, have driven both rides you will regret if you go for the forte

VIOS is more responsive and better FC

gotta ask for advice.

If I let car dealer handle, besides the increase in monthly installment, how much fees in total am I looking at

dun waste ur time & $$. juz keep ur vios as this is not an upgrade.

Changing a 1.5ltr car to a 1.6ltr purely just on looks and very minimum "whatever" improvements is pure dumb if u ask me.

Unless its a sigificant jump to 2.0ltr or 2.4ltr or even a TC one.

Then it will be a totally different driving experience.

I know cos i jump from OPC lancer cs3 1.6ltr to normal plate sonata 2.4ltr.........shiok man!!!! [laugh]

Before the exchange, i test-drive all sorts of cars from 1.6ltr one to 2.4ltr to TC one. The jump from 1.6ltr to 2.4ltr is just nice, not too a overwhelming change and soft on the $pocket$.

Besides, this 2.5yr old sonata only cost me 44.8k back then. Ever since have been driving it for 3+ years liao and enjoying it very much. ^_^

yeah. the feeling is shiok but when one thinks of the road tax & FC difference between 1.6 & 2.4, it may be too much to stomach unless one gets a huge windfall or huge pay increment.

Come to think of it, I am sure there are some who won't upgrade to higher cc car when they are shopping for new cars to replace their old cars.

gotta ask for advice.

I think it depend very much how much loan you took for your Vios and what is the outstanding loan.

Don't see any gain from changing a 09 Vios to a 09 Forte and likely KIA will have a higher depreciation rate as compare with VIO

I'm an owner of the new 6 speed Kia forte 1.6 SX. I've done extensive research before buying the car and here are few things I can say why forte is better VS toyota vios:

1) Keyless entry + Engine Start/Stop Button (this is subjective matter whether having this is better vs normal ignition key type)

2) Stability programmes (forte has more stability controls vs vios and forte also has traction control which can be toggled on or off)

3) Auto headlight leveling

4) Reverse camera (this is the best feature IMHO)

5) Electro-chromic mirror (i believe vios still using old fashioned push/pull rear view mirror type, for forte, it is automatic just press a button and the bright lights from cars will auto-dim)

6) More spacious

7) Rear parking assist system

8) Fully automatic aircond.

I'm an owner of the new 6 speed Kia forte 1.6 SX. I've done extensive research before buying the car and here are few things I can say why forte is better VS toyota vios:

1) Keyless entry + Engine Start/Stop Button (this is subjective matter whether having this is better vs normal ignition key type)

2) Stability programmes (forte has more stability controls vs vios and forte also has traction control which can be toggled on or off)

5) Electro-chromic mirror (i believe vios still using old fashioned push/pull rear view mirror type, for forte, it is automatic just press a button and the bright lights from cars will auto-dim)

6) More spacious

good. but the vios will still outsell the fote

6) More spacious

More features more headaches as the car gets older believe me

payback time.

Latest Torque mag shoot out between Cruze, Altis, Fluence, Forte (all new versions)

4th: Cruze

3rd: Altis

2nd: Fluence

1st: Forte

If altis already lose to forte no need to tok abt vios.

There is no doubt dat spec-for-spec, no way for Vios to beat Forte.

As for Vios outselling forte, can u give some official figures? We only know Toyota outsell Kia but got many altis and wish on the road too. I definitely see more fortes than vioses.

Whilst i understand dat moving from vios to forte dun make much sense as it will be seen as a lateral movement and not an "upgrade", but given the many more benefits forte have over vios, still can be considered an upgrade. Maybe TS already know dat he won't upgrade to the next higher level so he just wanna get a better car at the current level. Maybe can consider as mini-upgrade.

Lastly, maybe TS should wait for new Avante to come out first then decide.

More features more headaches as the car gets older believe me

payback time.

i think this is probably the same with cars like altis/camry who has more electronics than analog stuff like the forte...at the end of the day, if you say value for money, forte is worth a lot more than vios IMHO.

For instance if your traction control kaput will you get it repaired or just live it. Remember all the older caburators car so much easy to maintain, no ECU, no injection all mechanical.

Was using my brothers Civic for a week, only the vios will dare jio, fortes will stay far far

..people always see korea car cheap but did they know that sometimes korean oarts more ex than japan,

KIA got 5 yrs unlimited mileage warranty.

Was using my brothers Civic for a week, only the vios will dare jio, fortes will stay far far

you should challenge and put them in their place!

vios using 4 speed gearbox + older engine, i'm certain vios will lose by a mile

i really hate it when people driving normal cars try to challenge mine, esp those impreza owners driving 1.5L think their cars can fly

i've never been challenged by vios before but if i did i'll certainly tailgate them all the way to their house!

also i read from kia forums that civic and forte same 0 - 100 timing so unless your car is tuned better play safe!

Edited by Expertz

i think this is probably the same with cars like altis/camry who has more electronics than analog stuff like the forte...at the end of the day, if you say value for money, forte is worth a lot more than vios IMHO.

but relaibilty is a main concern. toyota is the brand for reliability. relaibility is more important than whatever accessories the forte is equipped with.

i would even say the nissan sunny is more relaible than the forte.