S

Yellowrx8

whoever links orchard road flood to tsunami is fookin retarded

+1 Agreed. one is preventable while the latter is not. Dun need a rocket scientist to tell us this. Pay too much liao until brain stop working?

The TOP 30 highest paid politicians in the world are all from Singapore:

1. Elected President SR Nathan - S$4.2 million.

2. Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong - S$3.8 million.

3. Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew - S$3.5 million.

4. Senior Minister Goh Chok Thong - S$3.5 million.

5. Senior Minister Prof Jayakumar - S$3.2 million.

6. DPM & Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng - S$2.9 million.

7. DPM & Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean - $2.9 million

8. Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo - S$2.8 million.

9. National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan - S$2.7 million.

10. PMO Miniser Lim Boon Heng - S$2.7 million.

11. Trade and Industry Minister Lim Hng Kiang - S$2.7 million.

12. PMO Minister Lim Swee Say - S$2.6 million.

13. Environment Minister & Muslim Affairs Minister Dr Yaccob Ibrahim - S$2.6 million.

14. Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan - S$2.6 million.

15. Finance Minister S Tharman - S$2.6 million.

16. Education Minister & 2nd Minister for Defence Dr Ng Eng Hen - S$2.6 million.

17. Community Development Youth and Sports Minister - Dr Vivian Balakrishnan - S$2.5 million.

Can we get FT to be our minister.I think it will be cheaper.Becoz singaporean are being paid too much.

18. Transport Minister & 2nd Minister for Foreign Affairs Raymond Lim Siang Kiat - S$2.5 million.

19. Law Minister & 2nd Minister for Home Affairs K Shanmugam - S$2.4 million.

20. Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong - S$2.2 million.

21. PMO Minister Lim Hwee Hwa - S$2.2 million

22. Acting ICA Minister - Lui Tuck Yew - S$2.0 million.

23 to 30 = Senior Ministers of State and Ministers of State - each getting between S$1.8 million to S$1.5 million.

Not bad leh... can target to become minister.

But honestly, would anyone here rather some strange opposition guys take over any of the ministerial roles? I mean.... no PAP training, no relevant civil service experience, may not necessarily have accredited education qualification, just someone straight from the ground, talks to the men at the bottom on a daily basis, maybe even complains in MCF occasionally. I wonder if the "Singapore Floods" could have been averted if so the case. Hmmmm... i wonder. [laugh]

Your statement raise a very interesting point: Does higher intellectuals make good politicians? Or even caring ones? (NB: Note the difference between the two)

This seems to be the case for any ruling party candidates.

Like what I mentioned earlier, their candidates seem to be all the who's whos in our society, even army generals are suddenly retired & could be potential ones in their lineup. Some of these folks can even take up the top-posts given their stated intention that one of these could be our next PM.

Once elected, or bundled into parliament via the GRC system, do they know how to raise on-the-ground issues?

If a taxi-driver, no offence to their vocation, can hammer the "unavoidable" rising costs we faced, the diffculty of getting jobs bec of "unavoidable world trends i.e. FTs", the ever-increasing "unavoidable" fuel costs, the affordability of "heavily-subsidised" housing & all real problems we on the ground face, then he/she can definitely have my vote & I am sure other bros who feel the same way.

He/She may not be polished in their speeches or have sterling academic results but if they can speak for us & reflect what really is happening then to me they deserve to be in parliament.

Under the present system, however, this is not really possible....

Edited by Vulcann

The TOP 30 highest paid politicians in the world are all from Singapore:

1. Elected President SR Nathan - S$4.2 million.

2. Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong - S$3.8 million.

3. Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew - S$3.5 million.

4. Senior Minister Goh Chok Thong - S$3.5 million.

5. Senior Minister Prof Jayakumar - S$3.2 million.

6. DPM & Home Affairs Minister Wong Kan Seng - S$2.9 million.

7. DPM & Defence Minister Teo Chee Hean - $2.9 million

8. Foreign Affairs Minister George Yeo - S$2.8 million.

9. National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan - S$2.7 million.

10. PMO Miniser Lim Boon Heng - S$2.7 million.

11. Trade and Industry Minister Lim Hng Kiang - S$2.7 million.

12. PMO Minister Lim Swee Say - S$2.6 million.

13. Environment Minister & Muslim Affairs Minister Dr Yaccob Ibrahim - S$2.6 million.

14. Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan - S$2.6 million.

15. Finance Minister S Tharman - S$2.6 million.

16. Education Minister & 2nd Minister for Defence Dr Ng Eng Hen - S$2.6 million.

17. Community Development Youth and Sports Minister - Dr Vivian Balakrishnan - S$2.5 million.

18. Transport Minister & 2nd Minister for Foreign Affairs Raymond Lim Siang Kiat - S$2.5 million.

19. Law Minister & 2nd Minister for Home Affairs K Shanmugam - S$2.4 million.

20. Manpower Minister Gan Kim Yong - S$2.2 million.

21. PMO Minister Lim Hwee Hwa - S$2.2 million

22. Acting ICA Minister - Lui Tuck Yew - S$2.0 million.

23 to 30 = Senior Ministers of State and Ministers of State - each getting between S$1.8 million to S$1.5 million.

Isit their basic pay ?

Edited by Aaron_soh80

Isit their basic pay ?

Excluding bonuses (up to 8 mths IIRC if the economy does extremely well), allowances & maintaining their offices/staff/security.

Very costly expenditure & burden to the state i.e. you & me

Interesting commentary....

http://dlzj.wordpress.com/2011/03/13/the-w...-goh-chok-tong/

gct.jpg

Goh Chok Tong remains as an enigma to me. He is certainly not of enormous stature as the Minister Mentor, yet he continues to behave as though he were Lee Kuan Yew. His regular outbursts are testament to his pathetic attempts to hype himself up as wise and capable leader. Hey, let

i was also laughing at the chilli crab rhetoric.

i rather say the chilli crab stall holders are PAP and the opposition are kacang puteh seller.

they were never on equal footing to start with. and kacang puteh seller can only sell near certain amenties like cinema. if the cinema kena relocated, how are you going to expect the kacang puteh man to have his ardent fan travel all the way to buy kacang puteh?

i rather say the chilli crab stall holders are PAP and the opposition are kacang puteh seller.

they were never on equal footing to start with. and kacang puteh seller can only sell near certain amenties like cinema. if the cinema kena relocated, how are you going to expect the kacang puteh man to have his ardent fan travel all the way to buy kacang puteh?

Kacang puteh seller?

Bro you are really cracking me up!!! [laugh][laugh]

hahaha... good analogy there!

Kacang puteh seller?

Bro you are really cracking me up!!! [laugh][laugh]

actually is not me cracking you up, is chilli crab analogy providing the cannon fodder la...

never ceases to amaze me how inappropriate the analogies and the number of times he put forward those analogies.

But Kacang Puteh seller can squat here squat there and everywhere to sell Kacang Puteh to anyone walking past.

Chilli Crab stall cannot move here move there too much.

But Kacang Puteh seller can squat here squat there and everywhere to sell Kacang Puteh to anyone walking past.

Chilli Crab stall cannot move here move there too much.

no matter how many kacang puteh one can sell from shifting his operation around, his profits would be much smaller than the chilli crab stall holder. this is a much fairer image selection for the opposition vs the Pap. Big boy vs small boy. the crux of the analogy is not in whether he can sell the additional few packets by moving around. (opposition can still get the marginal votes by moving to the new electoral boundary but that is not going to be sufficient for them to win, ie marginal at best like the kacang puteh seller.) The crux is the patrons will flock to the stall on their own accord as he says.

take note the argument put forward byt gct is that if opposition is reputed, they would not be disadvantaged greatly by the shift in electoral boundaries because customers go to the stall, instead of the stall going to the custoemr. your pointing of the stall moving to the custoemr (ie marginal sales, marginal votes) still did not appropriately counter my analogy (differing levels of playing field rendering analogy of popular inappropriate on oppostion) which sought to address the crux of gct analogy (moving the playing field does not disadvantage the popular & reputed).

Edited by Acemundo

no matter how many kacang puteh one can sell from shifting his operation around, his profits would be much smaller than the chilli crab stall holder. this is a much fairer image selection for the opposition vs the Pap. Big boy vs small boy. the crux of the analogy is not in whether he can sell the additional few packets by moving around. The crux is the patrons will flock to the stall on their own accord as he says.

take note the argument put forward byt gct is that if opposition is reputed, they would not be disadvantaged greatly by the shift in electoral boundaries because customers go to the stall, instead of the stall going to the custoemr. your pointing of the stall moving to the custoemr still did not appropriately address teh crux of gct analogy.

Kacang puteh n chilli crab make me hungry [:p]