How to make perfect half boiled eggs??

Donut

how to make perfect half boiled eggs?

My benchmark is ya kun toast standard. Everytime their eggs are so perfect.

I dun wan to see translucent egg white. I only wan soft egg white.

Any one got ideas?

how to make perfect half boiled eggs?

My benchmark is ya kun toast standard. Everytime their eggs are so perfect.

I dun wan to see translucent egg white. I only wan soft egg white.

Any one got ideas?

I just make half boiled egg for my son this morning and.... he got hard boiled egg. [laugh]

Maybe I put too much water.

I use a type of utensil that is meant to make half boiled eggs. Don't know how to describe it... some coffee shops are using them also. It's a plastic thingy, whereby u put yr eggs in the top compartment and add hot water according to the water mark indicated with the no. of eggs in it. The hot water would subsequently be drained into the lower compartment. Once water are drained completely, yr eggs are ready to be serve. It is sold in those typical/traditional kitchen ware provision shop. Standard of the half boiled eggs are to my liking and close to Ya Kun standard.

boil water to boiling point, off fire, put egg in but make sure egg is not straight out of fridge, leave it cover for 5 mins...

but not always perfect [laugh] [laugh] it also depends on what type of egg

Agree with Ivan11, its something like a steamer, some of the kopitiam uses them, can keep warm the eggs to serve for later without affecting the eggs. All come out will be like yakun standard.

I did ask b4 1 of their staffs. All the eggs must not be refrigerator.

Temp of the hot water & also there is a timer to time for the eggs to be place in the hot water container.

boil water to boiling point, off fire, put egg in but make sure egg is not straight out of fridge, leave it cover for 5 mins...

after the above that you described, drained away the hot water. Let the eggs rest for an addnl 5 minutes. Trust me, my father' recipe. He used to own a coffeeshop.

I have been thinking about this too for along time. For making half boil eggs, the following variables have to be considered:

1. size of egg - the bigger ones take longer to cook

2. temperature of egg - colder eggs take longer to cook

3. temperature of water - hotter water takes less time

4. amount of water - everthing else being equal, more water equal more latent heat transfer

5. heat loss from container to surrounding - the water is cooling down all the while when the eggs are cooking

6. thickness of egg shell - some eggs comes with really thick shells, takes longer to cook

So you can see that making half boil egg is nearly rocket science so don't feel too bad if you screw it up time after time. ^_^

I have been thinking about this too for along time. For making half boil eggs, the following variables have to be considered:

1. size of egg - the bigger ones take longer to cook

2. temperature of egg - colder eggs take longer to cook

3. temperature of water - hotter water takes less time

4. amount of water - everthing else being equal, more water equal more latent heat transfer

5. heat loss from container to surrounding - the water is cooling down all the while when the eggs are cooking

6. thickness of egg shell - some eggs comes with really thick shells, takes longer to cook

So you can see that making half boil egg is nearly rocket science so don't feel too bad if you screw it up time after time. ^_^

you see there are w lot of people clever than phd and doctor -_-

bloody hell it is just a damn egg... good or not, open liao dun care half boil, hard boil or not boil, just eat lah [laugh] [laugh]

Edited by Jman888

Agree with Ivan11, its something like a steamer, some of the kopitiam uses them, can keep warm the eggs to serve for later without affecting the eggs. All come out will be like yakun standard.

those steamer is already very common donkey years ago in Europe.... yes it is quite fool proof so can ignore whatever the sifu in coffee shop tell you [laugh] [laugh]

bloody hell it is just a damn egg... good or not, open liao just eat lah [laugh] [laugh]

[laugh] [laugh] [thumbsup]

bloody hell it is just a damn egg... good or not, open liao dun care half boil, hard boil or not boil, just eat lah [laugh] [laugh]

We are having an in-depth academic discussion on the said topic, it is in everyone's best interest that all known facts are laid out empirically for the benefit of education. No details too small to be left out in the relentless pursuit of the perfect half-boil egg. [scholar]

I find your callous attitude toward eggs a stumbling block to learning and mastering our dominance over eggs. Only when a man master his eggs that he is able to control the kitchen, earn the respect of his women (either singular or plural) & bring about peace to the world. 修蛋, 齐厨, 制妻, 平天下. [nod]

Can put your 6 points into math formulae? :)

Boiling point is easy. But the amount of water is tricky.

I would love to but I've have yet unlocked the mystries of the last domestic frontier. I've contacted MIT on my latest observations and hope that someone there will be able to contribute to solving this problem. -_-

We are having an in-depth academic discussion on the said topic, it is in everyone's best interest that all known facts are laid out empirically for the benefit of education. No details too small to be left out in the relentless pursuit of the perfect half-boil egg. [scholar]

I find your callous attitude toward eggs a stumbling block to learning and mastering our dominance over eggs. Only when a man master his eggs that he is able to control the kitchen, earn the respect of his women (either singular or plural) & bring about peace to the world. 修蛋, 齐厨, 制妻, 平天下. [nod]

正心、修身、齐家、治国、平天下!!!

so teacher, what must be done before 修蛋??? -_-