He has a car but takes public transport every day

Greatbirdlegend

I personally think if u buy car, confirm must use the car rather than let the car idle. But for pple who cannot leave home without their car, then a bit over liao. Like i saw some pple their coffeeshop is just one rd across their home, but they also drive their car over! [sweatdrop]

if u say until like that, then OPC cars how?

I sometimes take public transport to work as the city can be extra jammed when I travelled back. So will use the car when I am working late. Did not realize that people are way over obsessed with their cars and drive around everywhere when sometimes public transport is faster and more efficient.

u only have 10 years to drive it. lol. make full use ma.

Seems like quite alot of us do this. So I'm not alone?! Yay! I drive in to work maybe 2 - 3 times a week, other times MRT. One of the main reasons is contending with all that rush hour traffic can be damn tiresome!

So when I drive, I usually end up wishing I'd taken the train instead. When I'm "sardinated" on the train, I wish I had the comfort of my car! Humans really very hard to satisfy! So I take the variety-is-the-spice-of-life approach, i.e. sianz to take train...drive. Sianz of goddamn traffic...MRT!

This is why I still find car ownership justifiable. Besides, my car is coming to 27 years old already, and the I got it NOT primarily as a form of transportation, but more as a leisure/lifestyle item to make life more interesting.

Why not OPC then? Sorry, but I find that the red number plates look just hideous, and that absolutely cramps my style!

Since I shifted, I find myself leaving the car in the carpark too.....as the public services are at my doorstep.....so, my car just to hog parking space nia

So u see...living in Singapore is good.

Gov has given us choices. I read many people are happy to sometimes take MRT, bus or drive. I think gov did the right thing.

I

Where got $2.50? If I drive CBD got $5+ in morning, plus another (I think) $2 or so to come home. Like that really [knife] , more than I spend for lunch. And I really like to eat.

You can afford it ! Your image is more important !!

Just imagine, you reach office sweat after squeeze with 4,500,000 that can't afford a car, what thousand of your subordinates will think ??

How you counterpart in the director board will think about you ? Are you in crisis or something ? up to the extend to save $10 ?

You can afford it ! Your image is more important !!

Just imagine, you reach office sweat after squeeze with 4,500,000 that can't afford a car, what thousand of your subordinates will think ??

How you counterpart in the director board will think about you ? Are you in crisis or something ? up to the extend to save $10 ?

Haha...you may be wrong, there are bank directors and senior staff that took public transportation to CBD. They did it for several reasons not always a cost factor. Some simply dislike driving during peak hours, finding a place to park and etc. They are given car allowances that easily cover their montly car instalment. So what some did is get a good car and leave it with the wife. So their wives come and fetch them after office hours.

Some live in places where they do not have access to public transportation so their wives will drive them to the nearby station. From there, they took a train to the office. So there is no need for them to drive to the office. Of course, if you are next grade up, like CEO or Chairman, you have your personal driver to ease your pain of driving.

Talking about the sweat. My wife takes MRT to work each day. To her, she doesn't mind the peak hours rush but with so many people who don't care much about their personal hygiene, the BO is something that she hated most. Another thing, some guys like to sit in a way as if they have a big tumor in between their legs. I offer her a car but she simply doesn't like the idea of driving.

So, in a nutshell, talking public transportation is not always a case of affordability issue.

Regards,

People will say 'what image' lah....

Just imagine this, you are going to sign a million dollars of contract with this guy, but he come in with sweat, panting and smell like banglas after squeezed in MRT and Bus ?

svsq.jpg

Just imagine this, you are going to sign a million dollars of contract with this guy, but he come in with sweat, panting and smell like banglas after squeezed in MRT and Bus ?

You want to talk about image then wait till you are one of them in the picture.

Regards,

But beats coming late due to jam right?

what's the big deal.. i know a bank's senior mgmt who take train to work simply cos it is faster

image is ur confidence and how u carry urself.. not whether u drive or take train to work

what's the big deal.. i know a bank's senior mgmt who take train to work simply cos it is faster

image is ur confidence and how u carry urself.. not whether u drive or take train to work

It is actually the middle management and below (the young graduates), who are mostly youngsters and like the idea of driving to work then to take the MRT. I suppose "image" is more important for this category.

Regards,

as long as I am not meeting someone call Mr Lau :D

Sir, don't like that lah, my car is my biggest achievement.

Sometime I also imagine I am Halmilton, Takumi, etc.

Take train got chio bu to see. :wub:

Take bus can sleep, read magazine, surf net.

Drive car nothing to see, & need concentration. Best you can do is only listen to CD or radio.

I kinda enjoy train & bus trips occasionally.

Edited by Kiadaw