Changing lanes? So true...

A5ph

i get pissed off when i want to change lane and the car behind pick up their speed and horn me.. irritating.. haiz..

YESSS. Worse is u give way to ppl who wanna change, the car behind u horn.

WTF. Not only he dun wanna give u. He dun wan U to give way.

Must see situation. If signal less than a second(taxi drivers) I will. But if u give ample time, I will definitely let u cut.

funny rite these pple..

but ok.. minority la.. [laugh] [laugh]

I've said it before, and I'll say it again:

Signalling doesn't grant the driver the god-given right to filter into the next lane.

It merely serves to inform the drivers in that said lane, of your intent.

Whether they choose to accord you sufficient space to filter it - remains their call. They can choose to permit you to do so, not that they die die have to.

If they do, well and good. If they do not, .. then just LLST lor.

[cool]

I've said it before, and I'll say it again:

Signalling doesn't grant the driver the god-given right to filter into the next lane.

It merely serves to inform the drivers in that said lane, of your intent.

Whether they choose to accord you sufficient space to filter it - remains their call. They can choose to permit you to do so, not that they die die have to.

If they do, well and good. If they do not, .. then just LLST lor.

[cool]

Depends on your meaning of "permit".

They don't have to "permit" but to deliberatly deny is a different matter altogether.

ya.. high five.. these drivers are so impatient.. haiz.. i sometimes slow down to let others filter in.. the car behind horn non stop.. filter to my next lane, speed up and point fingers at me.. total madness.. wonder why like that.. so urgent meh??? so urgent, fly to ur destination lar.. y drive?? hahah

Sometimes the behind car is trying to maintain a safe gap from the front car, so when a filtering car cuts in it endangers the behind car!

Sometimes the behind car is obediently following the front car, so when a cheater tried to cuts in, of course the behind car will not allow it.

In most case where people complain they cannot filters, it shows that they have not being in the CORRECT lane prior. Be it poor forward thinking, or selfish/kiasu want to cut in very last minute, or kena stuck in the wrong lane....etc...all these are poor excuses.

If you drive...you should plane early and filter early...not last minute and complain people not giving way. I hate those who cuts in at the very late moment so as to exit or enter expressway or do traffic-light turns or just at the road block/accident lane.

Most of the time the behind car will not speed up if there is no reason to believe that the filtering car is trying to take advantage of the road condition!!

it happens all the time.... especially when i'm P Plate... <_<

personally i used to let pple filter into my lane infront of me, if they turn on theri signals and do it graciously. If one jus anyhow think he has a right to filter, I will try my best to deter him.

Nowadays, sometimes i really fed up cos after i let some of these cars filter in, they will then hog the lane and go slow. There is little regard to the "keep left unless overtaking" rule. i usually dun drive on the leftmost lane. End up I have press gas and overtake from the left. Really unpleasant.

End up now, i am one of the jokers on the roads that will usually not allow pple to cut in. Guess I am a victim of the system, purely out of surivial instincts... I know it is not exactly right but too burnt by those hoggers liao...

unlike what i see in the UK - very gracious driving. One person signal, the whole world doesnt mind braking so that the person can filter. All the cars will auto give way and shift to the left lane when a faster car is coming behind. This is the way drivers should behave. Sad to say, not possible in SG roads today. EVery mother son like the fast lane with no regards to how slow they are. Heavy vehicles, lorries, vans contribute signifiicantly to this problem too...

I hate those who cuts in at the very late moment so as to exit or enter expressway or do traffic-light turns or just at the road block/accident lane.

i will close the gap for these species of driver....dun give way... :angry:

so true..1 hr ago i was travelling on the expressway..the road was so clear and i let this champagne Altis cut in without signalling..the driver managed to hog the road for 6+km with no cars in front of him..after exiting expressway he go fast/slow/fast/slow..and tail other cars even when the small roads are clear..our destination is almost the same..but of course i'm not so exasperated enough to cut him back..just seeing his inconsistent driving patterns makes me want to avoid going anywhere near him -_-

not only changing lane.. T and cross junctions also very scary.. some cars want to turn while they saw your car coming.. so scary rite???

Yesterday night along PIE, i was changing lane, the car was like 4 cars length behind, pick up speed and flash high beam at me. Funny chap. After that kept a distance of 6-7 cars length behind me....