Fuel Savings Tips That Don't Work  

57 members have voted

1. 1. Do you believe the article?

• Yes
    • No
    • I Don't know

Welcome back! Enjoy the warmth and humidity all you can before going back :D

Cheers.

Bro, care to share what's your ride and what routes you normally take to achieve your 19km/l ?

Car ---> Mitsubishi I

Daily Route ---> Dunearn Rd, Adam Rd, Lornie Rd, Braddell Rd, Upper Serangoon Rd, Joon Hiang Rd, Upper Serangoon Rd, Serangoon Central Ave 1, Bartley Rd, Braddell Rd, Toa Payoh Lor 6, Toa Payoh Lor 1, Braddell Rd, CTE to Ang Mo Kio Ave 3, Hougang Ave 2, Hougang Ave 10. Then head back to Bukit Timah.

Time of departure and arrival ---> 6:20am - 8:05am

An article that contradict many 'established' tips . What do you think?

http://finance.yahoo.com/family-home/artic...eries-e-article

Have you filled up your car lately and cringed to see how much a tank of gas sets you back? The average cost of a gallon of unleaded gas has climbed above $3, with predictions that international unrest may drive prices even higher. We still have to drive to work and/or school, so we look for ways to squeeze more miles out of that pricey tank -- but do those tricks you hear about amount to real savings? Here are six gas saving tips that don't actually work, and ways you can make the most of a gallon.

1. Turning Off the AC

Air conditioning in your home does a number on your electric bill, so it must drain your gas tank too, right? Not so much. Auto testing at Consumer Reports proves that running the AC uses such a nominal amount more in gas, you may as well turn on the AC and be comfortable on a hot day. Rolling down your windows can add drag, zapping your car's efficiency; for best gas mileage, run the fan and keep your windows rolled up.

2. Filling Up When It's Cold Outside

+ 8) Coast the car especially those with ram air intake [laugh]

Get your gas in the evening or early morning -- the fuel is cold, and therefore denser. The truth about this myth is that you can barely register a temperature difference, since gas is stored in cool underground tanks, so fill up when you want. There are no savings to be had by waiting until it's cool out.

3. Increasing Tire Pressure

To get the most out of your gallon of gas, you should pump up those tires, some say. While driving on underinflated tires can cost you 3.75% in fuel economy, overinflating tires can be downright dangerous, since it reduces your grip on the road and could cause an accident. Proper tire inflation is important for safety and longevity of your tires, but don't expect any significant gas savings there.

4. Pouring Additives

Where there's a need, there's a product, but that doesn't mean it actually works. Our desire for better fuel economy seems answered by fuel additives and even bolt-on devices -- but they're a complete waste of money according to the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

5. Changing the Air Filter

Taking care of your car is a good thing: You'll be able to drive it longer, and get the most for your money. Don't expect maintenance like changing the air filter to get you more miles out of the gas tank, though. Consumer Reports tests have shown that with today's computerized cars, clogged air filters don't actually reduce fuel economy. Take care of your car to make it last, but don't look at air filters to reduce your gas expense.

6. Keeping the Engine Running

Starting a car sucks up fuel, some say, so keep the engine idling when possible. That's bad advice: today's fuel-injected vehicles are efficient and don't waste gas during start-ups anymore. In fact, idling can cost you up to half a gallon of gas an hour, so turn off the engine if you're not going anywhere.

The Bottom Line

There are a lot of myths out there when it comes to saving gas. So what does actually help improve your fuel economy? Instead of looking at your car to improve fuel economy, try changing the way you drive. Calm driving on the highway -- not zipping between lanes, tailgating or revving the engine so you quickly get up to speed -- can improve your fuel efficiency a whopping 33%. Remove any excess weight from your car to bump fuel economy another 2%, and drive sixty miles an hour (when the speed limit allows) on the highway for another 23% improvement in fuel efficiency. In the end, best fuel economy comes from a calm and safe driver, something that's a good thing regardless of the price we pay at the pump.

For those who want to save the environment dun drive loh.. Take the bus and train like everyone else.. After all car is not needed in SGP..

U r another loser who cannot afford car n start talking rubbish here..

If u can't afford to buy car den dnt tell others to act same as u..

BTW school holiday start next week lei,how come u so early surfing mcf?

U pon ten is it?

U r another loser who cannot afford car n start talking rubbish here..

If u can't afford to buy car den dnt tell others to act same as u..

BTW school holiday start next week lei,how come u so early surfing mcf?

U pon ten is it?

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

QUOTE (Gaybhari @ Mar 9 2011, 04:41 PM)

For those who want to save the environment dun drive loh.. Take the bus and train like everyone else.. After all car is not needed in SGP..

I won't give this person the benefit of doubt for ignorance. This comment clearly reflects the stupidity level of the person. An IQ not higher than the soles of a pair of very flat sandals. Nobody saves the environment by passing the emission buck to buses and trains which also burn fossil fuels. This idiotic Gay person thinks buses and trains run on air? This is SGP. Not some european country with windmill generators. Even windmill generators cannot power up the whole rail system. 21st century in a modern civilised and educated society. We still see idiots like this born everyday.

My previous car was smaller engine, 1.8 L, and I found that reducing air-con usage made a significant impact of FC. My current ride is a 2L TC car, and it makes very little difference.

I won't give this person the benefit of doubt for ignorance. This comment clearly reflects the stupidity level of the person. An IQ not higher than the soles of a pair of very flat sandals. Nobody saves the environment by passing the emission buck to buses and trains which also burn fossil fuels. This idiotic Gay person thinks buses and trains run on air? This is SGP. Not some european country with windmill generators. Even windmill generators cannot power up the whole rail system. 21st century in a modern civilised and educated society. We still see idiots like this born everyday.

Sandals good said [thumbsup] [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

he is just another young boy trying to howlian here only lah.. Definitely a loser in real life..

Always come across this kind in mcf haiz

My previous car was smaller engine, 1.8 L, and I found that reducing air-con usage made a significant impact of FC. My current ride is a 2L TC car, and it makes very little difference.

Mine is a 3.0 Turbo. Got a display that shows what uses most energy. According to that little computer, the AC is using about .5L of fuel every hour at current consumption. With this car, my temp is set at 22.5 & 23. The old Mz6 was always set at 24 for both and even then felt a lot cooler.

ignore such people..they think they 'have arrived' because they earn enough to afford a car and look down on others..some resorting to using Ad Hominem tactics

Give it a rest lah dude....that gay wrote it 1 year ago...I can imagine he's still sneezing without know wtf happen cos he dun give a fark on what he wrote 1 year ago anyway... [laugh]

Good that you managed to save FC...for me I follow point 1 (AC off) not to save fuel but to unlock the full power of my ride...lol...I felt it very obvious in my Suzuki Swift but the current Colt R wasn't much to feel though...so I guess it differs from car to car...

One thing for sure, short distance driving kills the FC. I used to get health 450km/l in the past but after I moved, I barely get 400km/l cos my trips are usually 10km or less.

Car ---> Mitsubishi I

Daily Route ---> Dunearn Rd, Adam Rd, Lornie Rd, Braddell Rd, Upper Serangoon Rd, Joon Hiang Rd, Upper Serangoon Rd, Serangoon Central Ave 1, Bartley Rd, Braddell Rd, Toa Payoh Lor 6, Toa Payoh Lor 1, Braddell Rd, CTE to Ang Mo Kio Ave 3, Hougang Ave 2, Hougang Ave 10. Then head back to Bukit Timah.

Time of departure and arrival ---> 6:20am - 8:05am

Omg.. more than 1 hour in the car one way? I cant imagine when there are accidents...

Back to topic.. I do find the comments to be factual i.e. anticipating traffic, go easy on acceleration, keep aircon at 22-24 range, kill engine while waiting, take more expressways then start stop trunk roads all help in FC

An article that contradict many 'established' tips . What do you think?

http://finance.yahoo.com/family-home/artic...eries-e-article

Have you filled up your car lately and cringed to see how much a tank of gas sets you back? The average cost of a gallon of unleaded gas has climbed above $3, with predictions that international unrest may drive prices even higher. We still have to drive to work and/or school, so we look for ways to squeeze more miles out of that pricey tank -- but do those tricks you hear about amount to real savings? Here are six gas saving tips that don't actually work, and ways you can make the most of a gallon.

1. Turning Off the AC

Air conditioning in your home does a number on your electric bill, so it must drain your gas tank too, right? Not so much. Auto testing at Consumer Reports proves that running the AC uses such a nominal amount more in gas, you may as well turn on the AC and be comfortable on a hot day. Rolling down your windows can add drag, zapping your car's efficiency; for best gas mileage, run the fan and keep your windows rolled up.

2. Filling Up When It's Cold Outside

Get your gas in the evening or early morning -- the fuel is cold, and therefore denser. The truth about this myth is that you can barely register a temperature difference, since gas is stored in cool underground tanks, so fill up when you want. There are no savings to be had by waiting until it's cool out.

3. Increasing Tire Pressure

To get the most out of your gallon of gas, you should pump up those tires, some say. While driving on underinflated tires can cost you 3.75% in fuel economy, overinflating tires can be downright dangerous, since it reduces your grip on the road and could cause an accident. Proper tire inflation is important for safety and longevity of your tires, but don't expect any significant gas savings there.

4. Pouring Additives

Where there's a need, there's a product, but that doesn't mean it actually works. Our desire for better fuel economy seems answered by fuel additives and even bolt-on devices -- but they're a complete waste of money according to the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

5. Changing the Air Filter

Taking care of your car is a good thing: You'll be able to drive it longer, and get the most for your money. Don't expect maintenance like changing the air filter to get you more miles out of the gas tank, though. Consumer Reports tests have shown that with today's computerized cars, clogged air filters don't actually reduce fuel economy. Take care of your car to make it last, but don't look at air filters to reduce your gas expense.

6. Keeping the Engine Running

Starting a car sucks up fuel, some say, so keep the engine idling when possible. That's bad advice: today's fuel-injected vehicles are efficient and don't waste gas during start-ups anymore. In fact, idling can cost you up to half a gallon of gas an hour, so turn off the engine if you're not going anywhere.

The Bottom Line

There are a lot of myths out there when it comes to saving gas. So what does actually help improve your fuel economy? Instead of looking at your car to improve fuel economy, try changing the way you drive. Calm driving on the highway -- not zipping between lanes, tailgating or revving the engine so you quickly get up to speed -- can improve your fuel efficiency a whopping 33%. Remove any excess weight from your car to bump fuel economy another 2%, and drive sixty miles an hour (when the speed limit allows) on the highway for another 23% improvement in fuel efficiency. In the end, best fuel economy comes from a calm and safe driver, something that's a good thing regardless of the price we pay at the pump.

I totally agreed with the writer. The confirmation comes me, as I was previously driving an Altis 1.6 whereas almost 90% of the time my aircon is in max fan speed and lowest temp. Coz I'm quite fat and perspire easily. Yet I can have 13- 13.5km/L on FC. Another person in this forum was only able to hit 10.5km/L. So whether you remove the spare tires or not, it makes no differences. Is the person that is driving the car, that cause difference in FC. [drivingcar]

I fully support your view. If the whole sg is taking public transport, who will buy car, where is the sg growth, what about GDP? Yes! that's where recession starts. I maybe new here, but I'm mature.

I took part in the Shell FuelSave Challenge last year. All the participants drove the assigned vehicles fitted with the FC device. All the cars were Civic 1.8L. All had to have the A/C set to 24 deg C. All had 3 persons in the car including driver. All were given the same route to travel on. Urban. Not highway.

Most were able to achieve above 16km/L for the smoother return leg. The best result being 18+. I got a 17.8+. Final day champion managed a impressive 19+.

Your 2L car probably has very high torque therefore making little difference whether with the A/C on or not.

Omg.. more than 1 hour in the car one way? I cant imagine when there are accidents...

Back to topic.. I do find the comments to be factual i.e. anticipating traffic, go easy on acceleration, keep aircon at 22-24 range, kill engine while waiting, take more expressways then start stop trunk roads all help in FC

Yes. That's one part of my job in the morning. And repeated again in the evening. I ferry my friend's kids to school everyday. Besides that, i still have running about to do for my boss at office. Quite a lot of driving around.

One hour seems normal now. Accidents can prolong the trip by an hour more. Lots of mental endurance having to put up with all kinds of road incidents and drivers.

Once you have gotten the feel of your car, you can more or less know just how much you need to put your foot to the pedal to give it the required momentum to sustain a smooth and constant speed and RPM.

Having a reasonably good power to weight ratio helps tremendously. It is not true that a high cc car drinks more fuel than a low cc car. Many high cc cars requre less fuel to propel them to cruising speed. The high torque comes in handy to power up all the electrical systems within.

A low cc car performs well at traffic jams and slow speed. Like for eg. 3 hours ago. I was travelling from Bukit Timah to Jurong and then to Airport and back to Bukit Timah. Peak hour traffic at 5pm. Traffic jams and plenty of stoppages along the AYE and PIE. I managed to coax 18.88km/L from my car.

Yes. That is true. FC and performance varies from car to car. It takes a resonable amount of time trying to get used to a new ride. Get use to it as fast as one can to make it feel as though it is an extension of your body [:)]

Geographical location and terrain play a huge part in FC too. The time we set off for our journey also affect FC... traffic jams or smooth flow. We may wonder why some results are so far apart when both vehicles are the same.

Many many variables to contend with. The only time you see real data is when trials are conducted in a empty race track.