Carer 2nd Gear March 14, 2011 Author Share March 14, 2011 X, ppl hv eyes yet can't see, read yet don't comprehend. As long as they still cannot get past it's not how much you eat, is what you eat, no need to be naggy. Ppl here still think eat fat, store fat, become fat. No need to say more. this is true. low carbo diet is the only way to go to lose weight, easy and fast. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear March 14, 2011 Share March 14, 2011 Some kind is a disease that no matter how hard you tried also can't be slim.. I got one friend who I was 165cm and weigh 120kg and can eat 6 whoppers right in front of my eyes. Told him to cut down and gave him a diet plan. Then we lost touch for 2 years. Next time I saw him, he's grown well over 145kg. Terrible. Yalor, Obesity is classified as a "disease" in the west. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 i am on a diet called 'Anabolic Diet' Basically on weekdays, i eat zero carbs. But all the fats and protein is fine. Weekend, cut down on fats and protein and load on carbs. Works very well so far. Getting leaner and toner. (i work out 4 times a week with cardio twice a week and i was hitting a plateau before the diet) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoytusa84 1st Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 Yalor, Obesity is classified as a "disease" in the west. Regards, Wahh then most of the west are infected wit disease man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoytusa84 1st Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 If we are talking about genetic disorder then nothing much can be done but 6 whopper meal sure dun sound too encouraging for weigh loss??? If no fat in take , there won't be excess fats building up within the body am I right to say that ????? Yea but saturated and unsaturated fats play a different role too. Main causes for being fat are sugar and starchy food.. Cut down on this 2 and weight loss significantly improve.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoytusa84 1st Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 It used to be a trend for me to wear baggy clothes and i always complained that my clothes were too tight fitting. Now i find myself going for slim fit clothes which actually look better. However, theres only so much that a tailor alteration can do - from XXL to XL is possible. But dropping 4 pants sizes meant i had to buy new ones. Couldn't alter the current ones i had. Which also means more $$ to spend... oh Great SG Sale please come sooner. hahahah I believe you'll be more than happy to buy clothes that requires less material since youve slim down! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 sigh, they are still advocating restricting your food intake...does it feel good to be hungry all the time? it actually has more to do with what sort of food we eat than just quantity alone... if you seriously cut out all carbs, you will lose weight naturally... Yup. Starvation will cause body to go into survival more, hence reducing BMR. The game here is to have a calorie deficit. eat less than your required daily BMR + Activity. The reason why cutting out carbs is so effective is coz they store the most calories. ie, eat 1 KFC thigh 220kcal vs 1 cup 186g of plain white rice 242kcal. further to just eating the calories, it burns more calories in your body when digesting the KFC then the bowl of rice. Which effectively make that piece of meat even lesser in nett calorie. Basically, if you(below 40yo) eat KFC 2 pc every meal, without that mash potatoes and coleslaw(cream) and sugar water. you will lose start to lose body fats. Below 40 coz as we age, our BMR reduce. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bighappyjer 1st Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 (edited) Yup. Starvation will cause body to go into survival more, hence reducing BMR. The game here is to have a calorie deficit. eat less than your required daily BMR + Activity. The reason why cutting out carbs is so effective is coz they store the most calories. ie, eat 1 KFC thigh 220kcal vs 1 cup 186g of plain white rice 242kcal. further to just eating the calories, it burns more calories in your body when digesting the KFC then the bowl of rice. Which effectively make that piece of meat even lesser in nett calorie. Basically, if you(below 40yo) eat KFC 2 pc every meal, without that mash potatoes and coleslaw(cream) and sugar water. you will lose start to lose body fats. Below 40 coz as we age, our BMR reduce. Your logic si bei jiat lat. Fats are much more calorie dense than carbs, but many have lost significant amounts of weight on a high-fat low-carb diet. A calorie is not a calorie - ie a carb calorie is very different from a fat calorie or a protein calorie. Read up Good Calories, Bad Calories by Gary Taubes. KFC is hardly a low carb meal, considering the amount of starch used in the cooking process. It's also deep fried in vegetable oils, and high in trans fats, which is precisely the type of fats you're trying to avoid when trying to cut bf. The reason why a low carb diet works to reduce body fat is because of its impact on the hormonal system, as your insulin sensitivity is reduced, nothing to do with calorie counting. Edited March 15, 2011 by Bighappyjer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 Thanks. I go read up on the good and bad calorie. I was only using calorie counting method. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 My personal experience of losing 50kg and have easily kept it off for more than 2 years now is: fat loss is a hormonal event. During the first few months of my fat loss, I was eating easily 8-10000 calories a day with walking as exercise (too fat couldn't do anything else). I track everything I eat with fitday. I lost more than 30kg like that. The only thing is, no sugar, no rice, no bread, no pasta, no potatoes, no trans fats. As much good fat and veggies as I want and a moderate amount of protein. Now I am pretty lean, but I still easily eat 5-8000 calories a day. I workout HARD but short 3 times a week. It's really really enjoyable to me cos I can eat as much (as opposed to anything) as I want, feel satisfied and full and not put on weight. Yup, it's mostly the quality of the calories. When the quality of the calories are in place, the quantity will take care of itself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 Thanks. I go read up on the good and bad calorie. I was only using calorie counting method. Can't go through life counting calories. That's not a long term solution that you can sustain. Better to identify the good healthy food that you like and make it a lifestyle habit. My humble opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 I was thinking.... There is no such thing as good and bad calorie. A calorie is a calorie. a calorie is a unit measurement of energy. There is no good or bad energy. Just like a cm is a cm, a gram is a gram. However, I do understand where you are coming from with good and bad. Good for health or bad for health. But if we are strictly discussing on losing body fats, excess calories is what makes fats. Of coz, other than slimming down and looking good, we want a healthy body with proper functioning parts. Thats where eating the right food comes to play. Coz 1 can become slim and lean, but with a broken liver, kidney or heart. Like a good km and a bad km. Car A has a mileage of 50,000km through gravel and slopes steeper than 60deg. Car B has a mileage of 85,000km on straight, flat, flawlessly paved roads. Though Car A has less km, but they are all bad km. Car B has more good km, making it a better buy. Correct? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 Can't go through life counting calories. That's not a long term solution that you can sustain. Better to identify the good healthy food that you like and make it a lifestyle habit. My humble opinion. Agree. Like sodium has 0kcal, but that doesn't warrant excessive consumption. It may not cause body fats, but will cause kidney failure and heart problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 wah.. M3 wely long meh? [laugh] Not very but when I'm INSIDE... Girls will say VERY LONG! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 X, ppl hv eyes yet can't see, read yet don't comprehend. As long as they still cannot get past it's not how much you eat, is what you eat, no need to be naggy. Ppl here still think eat fat, store fat, become fat. No need to say more. Maybe me busybody lor...sigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 I was thinking.... There is no such thing as good and bad calorie. A calorie is a calorie. a calorie is a unit measurement of energy. There is no good or bad energy. Just like a cm is a cm, a gram is a gram. However, I do understand where you are coming from with good and bad. Good for health or bad for health. But if we are strictly discussing on losing body fats, excess calories is what makes fats. Of coz, other than slimming down and looking good, we want a healthy body with proper functioning parts. Thats where eating the right food comes to play. Coz 1 can become slim and lean, but with a broken liver, kidney or heart. Like a good km and a bad km. Car A has a mileage of 50,000km through gravel and slopes steeper than 60deg. Car B has a mileage of 85,000km on straight, flat, flawlessly paved roads. Though Car A has less km, but they are all bad km. Car B has more good km, making it a better buy. Correct? Not at all...hahah A calorie is just a form of measure - it tells us nothing what happens to the food when it goes inside our body... Guys who did computer programming will understand the phrase "garbage in, garbage out"... But in reality, different food when ingested cause our bodies to behave differently... A simple analogy - you can either pump 50 litres of Shell98 or 50 litres of diesel... But if your car engine (human body) is only built to just run on one, mixing the two would cause long-term damage to your engine (and body)... That's why it's good to go read "Good Calories, Bad Calories" by Gary Taubes or his "new" book "Why we get fat" - a more watered down version of GCBC... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear March 15, 2011 Share March 15, 2011 How about sharing the kind of food you eat? Would be helpful to increase the available variety with these restrictions. I mean, most of the food at hawker have either rice or noodle or bread.... Initially I stop eating meat for 3 months and lost 5" of the waist, and lost 15kg. Lunch is usually a bowl of Salad($9) or Subway 6" Vege Delight($3.90). Dinner is 1/4 bowl rice with lots of veg. Then after I started to workout as my body started to sag. so I am back on meat for protein for the last 2 mths. Lost 2" and 6kg(due to muscle growth) since. Finally reduce body fat composition to 29%(borderline to obese) from almost 38%. Still got lots to work on. However, the most expensive cost is not the diet, but having to change the wardrobe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear March 24, 2011 Share March 24, 2011 Wahh then most of the west are infected wit disease man! A disease needs not be infectious lah.. . Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...