ST Forum: Danger Lurks In Overhead Speed Checks

Vulcann

  On 3/8/2011 at 8:06 AM, Pioneer said:

Your point?

Based on your argument, only people who are better than you can judge you?

That is like saying only a prettier judge can be the judge of Ms Universe.

What is wrong is wrong, regardless who said it to you.

If you break the law, you accept the consequences of getting caught. Don't point the finger around and say how the govt should make it easier for you to get away with breaking the law.

Is like saying the police should not do stakeout because it is not fair to the unlawful.

going by your argument, i guess u prob dun mind having big brother watch over every of your movement since u live the life of a complete, pure angel which us mere mortals prob can't.

Problem is if they dun hide, it will be like a permanent speed camera where the chances of catching people are low.

  On 3/9/2011 at 2:09 AM, Mllcg said:

Problem is if they dun hide, it will be like a permanent speed camera where the chances of catching people are low.

Saw from TV an ang mo country resort to cut-out police figures beside accident-prone roads & the statistics showed later that the accident rate dropped significantly along those roads.

Deterent should be the aim instead of hardcore law-enforcement.

Granted there will be die-hards around but I think majority of the drivers do not seek to break any traffic laws intentionally by speeding.

They just need a little "encouragement" that they should keep to the speed limit as the prominently-placed cut-out figures may turn out to be the real McCoy...

Edited by Vulcann

On 3/8/2011 at 1:00 PM, Davidtkl said:

If you are not speeding, why should you be afraid of speed cameras regardless of where and how they are deployed?

ehh.. if road is 50, 55 also considered speeding leh...

i admit i do speed at times lah.. prob is, at times, the road is 60, i go at 72 also kena... you know how hard it is to keep to 60 all the way? my car will be choked by carbon in no time.

On 3/9/2011 at 10:10 AM, Chrispie said:

ehh.. if road is 50, 55 also considered speeding leh...

i admit i do speed at times lah.. prob is, at times, the road is 60, i go at 72 also kena... you know how hard it is to keep to 60 all the way? my car will be choked by carbon in no time.

next time explain to the TP that you were "clearing carbon" lah! [cool]

My first reaction when reading that letter was like what has been said here. TP will reply, "if you don't speed you won't need to be worried".

However, even if I don't speed, I may sometimes exceed that speed limit - for example, it is very easy to travel slightly above speed limit at Bukit Timah rd opposite Courts as there are so many lanes.

The writer's concern is people's reaction when they spot the TP on overhead bridges regardless of their speed. Some automatically feel gabra even if they are not speeding. The moment you take your eyes off the road to look at the TP (yes, it is a natural reaction to look at the TP and tell yourself, "heng ah, lucky I never speed"), you are creating a hazard.

It's like when a TP drives or rides pass you when you are driving - many of us will feel slightly kan cheong even if we are not speeding.

Its true... i never know so many ppl like to stand on the overhead bridge view scenery... make phone call... until i always keep a look out for the snipers..

The process may divert motorists' attention from the road as they look up and focus on the overhead bridge.

The danger is exacerbated when officers try and make themselves as inconspicuous as possible, forcing drivers to divert more attention away from driving by trying to spot these officers. If the aim of such traps is to reduce speeding, a person standing in plain sight with a camera would do the job just as effectively.

No danger lah if drivers drive within the speed limit, they got nothing to worry abt n driver can just focus on the steering wheel.

The danger comes from drivers who speed and they deserve to get fined or jailed.

U can do whatever u want but dun get caught. If U want to speed then be prepared to contribute to pay big fat bonus

to the gar mer meng [sleeping]

  On 3/10/2011 at 8:42 AM, Cllee said:

The process may divert motorists' attention from the road as they look up and focus on the overhead bridge.

The danger is exacerbated when officers try and make themselves as inconspicuous as possible, forcing drivers to divert more attention away from driving by trying to spot these officers. If the aim of such traps is to reduce speeding, a person standing in plain sight with a camera would do the job just as effectively.

No danger lah if drivers drive within the speed limit, they got nothing to worry abt n driver can just focus on the steering wheel.

The danger comes from drivers who speed and they deserve to get fined or jailed.

U can do whatever u want but dun get caught. If U want to speed then be prepared to contribute to pay big fat bonus

to the gar mer meng [sleeping]

The problem is that there will still be idiots who will look up and check EVEN when they are travelling within the speed limit.

Just like idiots who will slow down and look at accidents EVEN when it is on the other side of the road.

if I recalled correctly, TP on the bridge were quite visible during the initial stages when the speed camera was introduced. Then, motorists were complaining that the presence of the TP distracted them, thus creating a possible accident scenario. Subsequently, TP move more to the centre of the bridge, thus making themselves less visible. Now people complain they are hiding in order to catch offenders and thus increase revenue. So what's next? [rolleyes]

As a typical Sinkie, I think I am always right.

If I kanna summon, there must be something wrong with traffic law or TP.

I am always right.

On 3/10/2011 at 9:51 AM, Andrewl said:

if I recalled correctly, TP on the bridge were quite visible during the initial stages when the speed camera was introduced. Then, motorists were complaining that the presence of the TP distracted them, thus creating a possible accident scenario. Subsequently, TP move more to the centre of the bridge, thus making themselves less visible. Now people complain they are hiding in order to catch offenders and thus increase revenue. So what's next? [rolleyes]

dont have tp lor. just ONLY permanent speed cameras.

haha...a while back when permanent camera along CTE after braddel exit was still around, people are writing in to justify the removal of that speed camera, saying it slow cars down.... [:p]

On 3/11/2011 at 1:06 AM, Andrewl said:

haha...a while back when permanent camera along CTE after braddel exit was still around, people are writing in to justify the removal of that speed camera, saying it slow cars down.... [:p]

They removed it all right. But replaced it with an erp gantry

From ST online:

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/Online...ory_643745.html

Ample warning at speed zone stretches

THE speed cameras employed by the Traffic Police to curb speeding by motorists function as a form of deterrence, and allow traffic offenders to be identified and punished ('Danger lurks in overhead speed checks' by Mr Ho Kei-Leong; Tuesday).

The Traffic Police have provided ample warnings about speed camera zones and checkpoints through road signs, as well as a list of possible mobile speed camera locations on its website.

This form of deterrence, however, is not foolproof, as some motorists may keep within the speed limits only in the presence of speed cameras should their locations become predictable.

Therefore it is necessary for the Traffic Police to use mobile speed cameras to catch offenders. This can possibly prevent such offenders from speeding in future, with or without speed cameras present.

Mr Ho's doubts about the effectiveness of such speed cameras may be eased by surveys in Britain and Spain which showed that deploying speed cameras, specifically mobile speed cameras, helped decrease the risk of serious crashes near camera sites.

Singapore's Traffic Police should conduct similar surveys, if it has not already done so.

Finally, motorists would not be distracted by the presence of Traffic Police officers or speed checks if they adhere to the laws of the road while driving.

Marcus Tan