WSQ specialist diploma/cert useful?

SGCMfreedom

It can be a stepping stone to the industry that you want to enter.

You graduate from the course with some paper qualification relevant to that industry, and sometimes during the course, depends, you may even get to sit for interviews.

IMHO it's basically a job-matching programme. On one hand, you have employers who need skilled workers, and on the other, people looking for jobs but don't have the relevant skills.

Is it worth the effort to get a ACTA or DACE certification?  Has anyone gone through it, what was the duration?

Just now, Albeniz said:

Is it worth the effort to get a ACTA or DACE certification?  Has anyone gone through it, what was the duration?

Yes

With ACTA certificate, you are qualified to apply for full time or partime lecturer on the subjects you received your diploma. Company like E2i (NTUC) employ partime lecturer to teach subjects to FW on Workplace Safety & Health course, Fire Safety courses, Lifting Operators, Worksite Safety,.... etc.    

3 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

Yes

With ACTA certificate, you are qualified to apply for full time or partime lecturer on the subjects you received your diploma. Company like E2i (NTUC) employ partime lecturer to teach subjects to FW on Workplace Safety & Health course, Fire Safety courses, Lifting Operators, Worksite Safety,.... etc.    

Great! How long is the course duration and any idea if it is easy or difficult?  

1 minute ago, Albeniz said:

Great! How long is the course duration and any idea if it is easy or difficult?  

Depending on you taking full time course or part time course. 

Also depending on the qualified schools who are conducting this ACTA course. Full time course (Mon - Fri, 9.00am ~ 5.00pm). Some schools offer 5 weeks course and some 6 weeks.

For part time courses, it can stretch to 7 months (2 weekdays & 1 Sat or 1 weekday & 2 weekends)

Total of 7 Chapters to study and an exam at the end of each Chapter. With one practical of which you conduct a lecture to the invigilators.

Can find those schools offering ACTA course from BCA Website or NTUC LearningHub.   

If you have time to spare, go for the ACTA course to earn some extra income by giving lectures to FW, Security Guards or FDW during weekends. If you are in private sector, working part time is easier and that income you earned just declare Income Tax.

Qualification: Degree or Diploma or GCE with working experience on that specific work you are in for the past 15 yrs or more.

1 hour ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

Depending on you taking full time course or part time course. 

Also depending on the qualified schools who are conducting this ACTA course. Full time course (Mon - Fri, 9.00am ~ 5.00pm). Some schools offer 5 weeks course and some 6 weeks.

For part time courses, it can stretch to 7 months (2 weekdays & 1 Sat or 1 weekday & 2 weekends)

Total of 7 Chapters to study and an exam at the end of each Chapter. With one practical of which you conduct a lecture to the invigilators.

Can find those schools offering ACTA course from BCA Website or NTUC LearningHub.   

If you have time to spare, go for the ACTA course to earn some extra income by giving lectures to FW, Security Guards or FDW during weekends. If you are in private sector, working part time is easier and that income you earned just declare Income Tax.

Qualification: Degree or Diploma or GCE with working experience on that specific work you are in for the past 15 yrs or more.

Many thanks.  Good info.

2 hours ago, Albeniz said:

DACE is more practical and longer

ACTA is low hanging fruit. Go for it

looks like another round of SGunited training course that I have to conduct soon

i have both and it does help in a way, but if u can teach, u can. Smlj cert also if u have, u cannot teach, u cannot😂

I maybe out of touch but I believe any courses supported by the government has some value in them. However, it depends very much what you wish to achieve with the course. The traditional ITE or Diplomas would be the better route in my opinion. 

20 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

I maybe out of touch but I believe any courses supported by the government has some value in them. 

Not too sure about that. Thot I ever saw 'How to use iPhone' as a skillfuture course....lol

15 minutes ago, Soya said:

Not too sure about that. Thot I ever saw 'How to use iPhone' as a skillfuture course....lol

That is why I said, depending what you wish to achieve lah. How to use the phone is also a skill but cannot lead to career lah

44 minutes ago, Soya said:

You diff type of old fogey la

1 hour ago, RadX said:

DACE is more practical and longer

ACTA is low hanging fruit. Go for it

looks like another round of SGunited training course that I have to conduct soon

i have both and it does help in a way, but if u can teach, u can. Smlj cert also if u have, u cannot teach, u cannot😂

True, having cert is one thing, and can teach or not is another thing. Some people might have the cert or even very knowledgeable but might not able to teach at all. Lol.

4 hours ago, RadX said:

Totally agreed! Just like no cert chef cook better than those got similj cert 🤣

I oso ACTA but bo bian.. company need my cert to claim relief.. no cert cannot train WSQ course mean boh relief.

training is abt passion.. been doing it almost 20 years.. students still call me Lao Si.. younger host call me Lao Pa.. now even i become Ah Gong liao as many married n have kids..

it is a fulfilling profession. 

I am also seriously thinking of taking ACTA so that I can build my 2nd career in teaching. After so many years in the corporate world, really tired liao... 

BTW there is no more ACTA or DACE but, 

WSQ Advanced Certificate in Learning and Performance (ACLP)

The new WSQ ACLP programme is aligned to the recently launched Skills Framework for Training and Adult Education (SFw TAE) and replaces the previous WSQ Advanced Certificate in Training and Assessment (ACTA) qualification. ACLP will extend beyond classroom-based learning design, delivery and assessment to enable learners to develop emerging skills in demand and provide blended learning solutions that can better cater to the needs of learners and enterprises.

WSQ Diploma in Design and Development of Learning for Performance (DDDLP) 

The new WSQ DDDLP programme is aligned to the recently launched Skills Framework for Training and Adult Education (SFw TAE) and has replaced the WSQ Diploma in Adult and Continuing Education (DACE). Upon completion of the WSQ DDDLP programme, you will be issued with a WSQ Diploma from SkillsFuture Singapore which you can obtain through MySkillsFuture Portal.

I wanted to utilise the funds given by Gov since dunno when. I have never use any of it yet. 

Wanted to filter part time cooking courses....... 

Wah..... Came out part time pharma classes etc.... 

Really lousy search system. 

Guess I can never utilise Myskillfuture until I quit my full-time job to enrol into full-time classes. 

YES, got my licence to teach, and 1 step closer to my goal of celebrating Teacher's Day this year! [:)]

nKf0oit.jpg

• Praise 13