Joseph22 Turbocharged March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 i think this is up to individual ppl... i had friend's wife who take a 6 mth unpaid leave on top on the maternity leave given to her.. take time she was a highflyer... so u will know financially the suffering she is taking on.. nvr hear them asking government for mandatory paterntiy leave... with the leave, can we really see that increase in birth-rate?? maternity increase from 3 to 4 mth.. that suppose to encourage more birth baby bonus ...also say to do the same.. but after implementing, we still have parent asking for this and that... last time our parent ( in the 60s 70s).. where got these kind of things.. ppl still give birth to 3 or more... so i think is up to individual whether to have children. yeah likely no financial difficulty cause had already saved a lot liao. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 I thought companies are already giving like 3 days of paternity leave? Or is she asking for 4 months of paternity leave? Nah, she asking for 1 year Paternity leave each for Papa and Mama.... Mama take 1 year look after BB, next year, Papa take 1 year look after BB...... If they really do that.... lots of Papa and Mama will be very busy OT..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear March 7, 2011 Author Share March 7, 2011 Self-Pwned lor ....oh pampered one. Huh? Ya kah? Just wanted to point out solve yr own problems. Gahmen don't fark care about citizens one. Wrong kah? This one write to forum kpkb, didn't mention whether she got outside help or not, hence assumption is they are all alone. But there is always the services of a confinement lady if own family not available. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear March 7, 2011 Author Share March 7, 2011 the childcare leave doesnt apply to father? Father oso have. 2 days per year until child reach 7 yrs old. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear March 7, 2011 Author Share March 7, 2011 i think what they need is a flexi paternal leave/time-off.. the wife situation can be bad if she is all alone.. no external help and elders too old can't help... post-natal blue can creep up easily. gone thru the stage before.. lucky boss & client were understanding.. This one if boss not understanding oso bo chap. Family comes first especially if after wifey just gave birth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HARDGAYHOOOO Neutral Newbie March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 Despite the fact that our country may be having low birth rates, I'm very sure that's not the main reason why couples wanna to have babies ??? It is upon the individual couple's free will. You may wanna have more leave benefit , request may be made. However if not given , quit whining and get on with life. Starting a family is never easy ESP in spore, not to mention having babies too. Just like getting a car. No one force a gun down your pants to buy a car, however upon owning one, quit whinning about ERP , COE etc etc as it is alr made known to you before hand. You knew what's coming your way. You may try to ask for more benefits however never a rights to give. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 Father oso have. 2 days per year until child reach 7 yrs old. 6 not 2. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear March 7, 2011 Author Share March 7, 2011 6 not 2. Wah, increased oready. Good mah. Still no enuff? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 Wah, increased oready. Good mah. Still no enuff? that one is childcare leave not paternity leave. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 Wah, increased oready. Good mah. Still no enuff? Many still think they need at least 1 year..... 1 year vs 6 Days..... answer very clear.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear March 7, 2011 Author Share March 7, 2011 that one is childcare leave not paternity leave. Better than 2 days man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 Wat's yr take on this? Personally, if u love kids, u wud put up wif the difficulties and challenges that comes wif it. She can get assistance fm her own parents or in-laws wat. Must be a really pampered girl. ST Forum Mar 7, 2011 A mum's reasons for paternity leave SINCE we became first-time parents on Feb 9, it has been a roller-coaster ride for my husband and myself. First the baby had fever, then jaundice and later colic, not to mention the breastfeeding issues in between. We may have been forewarned about all these when we read up on having babies, but that did not stop me from turning into an emotional wreck. As a mother, I am supposedly the primary caregiver; generations of new mothers have gone through it and survived, so I should be no different. Yet, I have been blessed with a husband who is an excellent father, and who is better at handling a baby than I am, and who would have been a great help during these trying times, if only he had paternity leave. Instead, he is stretched trying to balance work, parenting and our relationship. Annual leave is one option but approval is subject to work exigencies. Mandatory paternity leave would be a different story altogether, and ideally, it should be for one month, because the first month is the toughest for parents and tackling it jointly will help greatly. I urge the authorities to consider mandatory paternity leave to improve our nation's birth rate. While I had previously entertained the idea of having two children, I do not think I can go through another round of the past few weeks without my husband by my side. I am sure many women out there will empathise with me. Heng Yoke Khee (Ms) So this is the result of our New Generation Adults. I'm really really sad... As this sounds like : If you don't give me more Paternity Leave, more Money, more benefits, I don't want to give birth hor... Gone are the days that we are proud fathers and mothers and strive to make ends meet and I'm not talking about money, just time. Nowsadays, newly minted parents wants to Have babies but cannot disrupt my career path opne or else I donwan baby loh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthkk Clutched March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 1 month will be very hard.... Our economy depends on MNC to set up shop. Our only natural resoruces are our people and talents. If give paternity 1 month, most companies will not want to set up shop here. It is easy to ask for 1 month paternity and all that, but she never think of the consequences it can have on the economy. I feel MNC is quite ok, it's the local SMC that will KPKB Anyway Google Singapore is giving 1 month Paternity leave.. read that sometime ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 (edited) Staved long alrdy.Want to have immediate sex wat. Wat's yr take on this? Personally, if u love kids, u wud put up wif the difficulties and challenges that comes wif it. She can get assistance fm her own parents or in-laws wat. Must be a really pampered girl. Edited March 7, 2011 by Csnewbie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 i m in full support for 1mth paternity leave! As my wife is not working there is no maternity leave to speak off so might as well give all fathers 1 month paternity to help take care of children! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Csnewbie 1st Gear March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 i m in full support for 1mth paternity leave! As my wife is not working there is no maternity leave to speak off so might as well give all fathers 1 month paternity to help take care of children! Another one lecher..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged March 7, 2011 Share March 7, 2011 Better than 2 days man. i am singaprean. i am greedy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear March 7, 2011 Author Share March 7, 2011 i am singaprean. i am greedy. But I wasn't aware dey increased to 7 days. Left work force in 2007, at that time still 2 days only. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...