I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 That is why single is better.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 On 3/6/2011 at 5:40 AM, I-LOVE-CARS said: That is why single is better.. When you're 13 years old, of course single is better lah! Then when you're 23 or 33, you will think overwise, esp if you're not had a partner before Then when you're 43 you may think single is still better after all Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucaswh 1st Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 On 3/6/2011 at 5:40 AM, I-LOVE-CARS said: That is why single is better.. xiao di, by saying this means you have already gone in a r/s and out of it and probably a few times more to justify you to make this kind of statement leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 On 3/6/2011 at 3:50 AM, Keithchue said: i'm one of them, waiting for HDB to approve to sell the house..and court proceeding are in the way... If haven't meet MOP, unlikely HDB wl approve. They wl tell affected couple to wait until MOP then sell. But if they approve, pls share. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chinaski Neutral Newbie March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 On 3/6/2011 at 4:19 AM, SimonTan said: How long is the period from separated to official divorce? If no specific grounds for divorce (e.g. Adultery, unreasonable behaviour), then 3 years with the consent of the spouse, 4 years without consent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 Most of the reasons of the high divorce rate comes from early marriage i.e. Getting married before 25years old. When I was taking psychology, my lecturer told me that the average age for an adult to actually mature in the mindset is 25years old. This theory bring one's character and personality to come to a stage whereby it becomes permanent. While the characteristic & personality of the people before the age of 25 years old is still changing and adapting constantly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 On 3/6/2011 at 3:57 AM, Observer said: i put heart into what i type wor i prefer you to use the old avatar, the cute brown bear. =p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Observer 4th Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 On 3/6/2011 at 4:18 AM, Simplesilver said: So you put heart into saying you are happy that you are separated? Haha! if not y seperate..seperate sure happy...more grass Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bird5011 3rd Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 On 3/6/2011 at 3:58 AM, Donut said: Why divorce? We are having highest rate of divorce in recent years. What are the common problems ? WOMEN!!! :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 Well, for those more open minded to Western corruption, can always adopt the cohabitation concept lor. Stay together becoz like each other either emotionally or sexually for mid to long term...then if don't like, (make sure protection at all times) then juz separate lor...less messy...no 3 or 4 years problem, no maintenance fees, Happy come Happy go. Plus nowadays most Sporean women r finacially independent, win win situation for all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 On 3/6/2011 at 9:18 AM, Sabretan said: Well, for those more open minded to Western corruption, can always adopt the cohabitation concept lor. Stay together becoz like each other either emotionally or sexually for mid to long term...then if don't like, (make sure protection at all times) then juz separate lor...less messy...no 3 or 4 years problem, no maintenance fees, Happy come Happy go. Plus nowadays most Sporean women r finacially independent, win win situation for all. But due to limited resources in SG, in many times, you will find it handy to have a marriage cert which makes life easier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilidawg March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 well said! tested and proven method! i'm the proof; lived with my then gf for over a yr then decided to get married. now 6yrs n 3boys later still very happy in our little 4rm On 3/6/2011 at 9:18 AM, Sabretan said: Well, for those more open minded to Western corruption, can always adopt the cohabitation concept lor. Stay together becoz like each other either emotionally or sexually for mid to long term...then if don't like, (make sure protection at all times) then juz separate lor...less messy...no 3 or 4 years problem, no maintenance fees, Happy come Happy go. Plus nowadays most Sporean women r finacially independent, win win situation for all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chilidawg March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 sorry pls elaborate, i'm intrigued but unfortunately very slow n suaku. how would a marriage cert be handy? On 3/6/2011 at 9:43 AM, GLZT said: But due to limited resources in SG, in many times, you will find it handy to have a marriage cert which makes life easier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabretan 4th Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 Useful n handy only if u keep it "TILL DEATH DO US PART"... coz if somewhere along e line, u decided to call it quit...That marriage Cert WILL BE UR NIGHTMARE!! LOL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 (edited) @Chilidawg: For eg you can buy a hdb with that cert if you are below 35years old? Of course it doesn't applies to everyone. @Sabretan: Agree with the Till death do us part, imo guys are often in the disadvantage when it come to divorcing. Anyone can clear my doubts? For eg, if the man is the homemaker, will he get alimony if the wife decide to divorce him? Edited March 6, 2011 by GLZT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 On 3/6/2011 at 7:58 AM, GLZT said: Most of the reasons of the high divorce rate comes from early marriage i.e. Getting married before 25years old. When I was taking psychology, my lecturer told me that the average age for an adult to actually mature in the mindset is 25years old. This theory bring one's character and personality to come to a stage whereby it becomes permanent. While the characteristic & personality of the people before the age of 25 years old is still changing and adapting constantly. Rubbish, high divorce rate is a part of any modern, well to do and liberal society. ie. Independent other half, eroding family values, work stress and loads of competition, THE me-me-me mentality (not all but you get the drift). All my friends who are divorced, quite a few actually, married late (late 20s or early 30s) and most are very successful in terms of career and have some monies. Just my observations. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chinaski Neutral Newbie March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 (edited) On 3/6/2011 at 10:01 AM, Sabretan said: Useful n handy only if u keep it "TILL DEATH DO US PART"... coz if somewhere along e line, u decided to call it quit...That marriage Cert WILL BE UR NIGHTMARE!! LOL. No alimony for men in Singapore Sorry meant to reply to gl2t Edited March 6, 2011 by Chinaski Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 On 3/6/2011 at 10:16 AM, Voodooman said: Rubbish, high divorce rate is a part of any modern, well to do and liberal society. ie. Independent other half, eroding family values, work stress and loads of competition, THE me-me-me mentality (not all but you get the drift). All my friends who are divorced, quite a few actually, married late (late 20s or early 30s) and most are very successful in terms of career and have some monies. Just my observations. Doesnt all these goes to the root of human characteristics and personalities? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...