Ghostami 2nd Gear March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 Don't know if you guys notice but its seems to be getting quite common nowadays that you see iphone users plugging in earphones(in both ears) while driving. I am not sure if they are listenning to music as well but if they are, they are a hazard on the road. Not targetting iphone users but the white distinctive earphone is hard to miss and I see quite alot of people doing that nowadays. Why I am saying is it's dangerous is that nowadays the earphones are quite brilliantly built to do noisy cancellation and such during listening of music. Which in turn might let the listener turn a deaf ear to others hornning at you. Not trying to be an ass here but I think it should be ban as this is something you can control not as though the car comes with super good sound insulation and you llst. What do you guys think? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 Don't know if you guys notice but its seems to be getting quite common nowadays that you see iphone users plugging in earphones(in both ears) while driving. I am not sure if they are listenning to music as well but if they are, they are a hazard on the road. Not targetting iphone users but the white distinctive earphone is hard to miss and I see quite alot of people doing that nowadays. Why I am saying is it's dangerous is that nowadays the earphones are quite brilliantly built to do noisy cancellation and such during listening of music. Which in turn might let the listener turn a deaf ear to others hornning at you. Not trying to be an ass here but I think it should be ban as this is something you can control not as though the car comes with super good sound insulation and you llst. What do you guys think? similar to people blasting away music in their vehicles, they probably could not hear anything too. so should ban too? Singapore so many things also ban. I think just leave it to individual bah, regardless of what they do in the car, they must remember they have due responsibility to drive safely and in harmony with other road users. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanevomax 1st Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 then increase the volume of the horn , etc every car install trucks air horn. that will works even with ear piece on. but they are drivers even you horn them , they pretend to be deaf. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 my blackberry ear piece is china made white in colour looks like the iphone type... and many phones original ear piece is 2 piece type... so probably not many listening to music while driving lah.. kinda stupid and dangerous Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear March 6, 2011 Author Share March 6, 2011 similar to people blasting away music in their vehicles, they probably could not hear anything too. so should ban too? Singapore so many things also ban. I think just leave it to individual bah, regardless of what they do in the car, they must remember they have due responsibility to drive safely and in harmony with other road users. Blasting music is and wearing hear phone is abit different. Due to the technology of nowadays earphone, you might not be able to hear anything at all from the outside. Plus, chance of coming across people blasing music vs plugging in earphone nowadays, the plugging of earphones seems more common than the other. Don't believe drive around more often, I am macham taxi driver in my job and believe me, its a increasing trend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 er..... why should they listen music using EARPHONES ? The car doesn't come with ICE ? does not make sense leh..... They talking on the phone is it.....? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 the iPhone's earphones are both for listening to music and also a handsfree..so we might not know what the driver is doing..for all we know..the driver could be using it for safety incase of incoming calls Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pea01 Neutral Newbie March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 Speaking from an iPhone user, we are not listening to our music while driving. I think it make sense to say that SG car all have headunit in our cars. The earphone are also earpeice for us to answer call in case any calls come in. In case calls do come in, talking on handphone with earpiece is not illegal rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 Don't know if you guys notice but its seems to be getting quite common nowadays that you see iphone users plugging in earphones(in both ears) while driving. I am not sure if they are listenning to music as well but if they are, they are a hazard on the road. Not targetting iphone users but the white distinctive earphone is hard to miss and I see quite alot of people doing that nowadays. Why I am saying is it's dangerous is that nowadays the earphones are quite brilliantly built to do noisy cancellation and such during listening of music. Which in turn might let the listener turn a deaf ear to others hornning at you. Not trying to be an ass here but I think it should be ban as this is something you can control not as though the car comes with super good sound insulation and you llst. What do you guys think? I still think you are an ass All phon come with ear piece so ban all phone lor... ICE also distract driver, ban all stereo in the car... Good sound proof also no good to block outside noise, close all workshop... Last but not least, what make you think the FOC earpiece for iPhone come with good sound insulation? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 I still think you are an ass All phon come with ear piece so ban all phone lor... ICE also distract driver, ban all stereo in the car... Good sound proof also no good to block outside noise, close all workshop... Last but not least, what make you think the FOC earpiece for iPhone come with good sound insulation? Agree. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lovebook Neutral Newbie March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 actually i think its a c--k to listen music with earpiece in the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 I still think you are an ass All phon come with ear piece so ban all phone lor... ICE also distract driver, ban all stereo in the car... Good sound proof also no good to block outside noise, close all workshop... Last but not least, what make you think the FOC earpiece for iPhone come with good sound insulation? We should also ban Lexus......and female drivers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 (edited) If the ear piece is meant to be hands free, I think putting on one side is enough right? I see those drivers putting on both, for what purpose if they need to put on both? They chao hee lang? Edited March 6, 2011 by GLZT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear March 6, 2011 Author Share March 6, 2011 I agree its safety for wearing earpiece for handsfree but to plug in both sides?? With both sides plug in, we are not sure what they are doing. I believe I have a case here unlike some who think I am speaking nonsense. Noise cancellation technology is nothing new, those $10++ ones in the market can do a decent job for the average joe. Secondly, blasting music inside the car through speakers and blasting music inside the ears through headphones is totally different, don't believe go and try. If that fellow is really blasting music in his earphones, I doubt lorry air horn he can hear..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear March 6, 2011 Share March 6, 2011 best is to get a bluetooth car kit lah. :-p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoytusa84 1st Gear March 10, 2011 Share March 10, 2011 then increase the volume of the horn , etc every car install trucks air horn. that will works even with ear piece on. but they are drivers even you horn them , they pretend to be deaf. Check out hornblaster.com. Or watch YouTube for their train horn system. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoytusa84 1st Gear March 10, 2011 Share March 10, 2011 We should also ban Lexus......and female drivers? +1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged March 10, 2011 Share March 10, 2011 best is to get a bluetooth car kit lah. :-p why did bluetooth not take off? heck..even some mobile phones come with free headsets and pple are not using ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...