Singapore GE: Opposition parties to contest all seats

Vulcann

in the first place

why are all these upgrading projects dangling to the voters as a carrot ?

i tot we are all singapore ? i tot all these costs comes from the taxpayer?

does tat mean if a taxpayer stays in a oppo ward he pays less tax cos in theory as demonstrated he is going to lose out in all these upgrading so he should contribute lesser in nation building ?

lol. then another GRC suffer nia. in they end still lose.

btw, once opposition comes in, its hard to get them out.

look at hougang and Potong Pasir can le

They need to "groom" people to take ober lar... they will get old someday..... leg going into box still no one to take over... how to pass on the baton?? [rolleyes]

haaa depend lar.... if they can mix and match and somehow find enough people sapport than oppose, still can win..... maybe next time they make whole SIN into a 84 members GRC..... you vote for me or against me....... [laugh][laugh]

singapore so small, trying to follow other countries in terms of election.

malaysia election is by states. and if majority is opposition, then they govt.

singapore no state nth. got so many ppl.

i dun understand this part

in the first place

does tat mean if a taxpayer stays in a oppo ward he pays less tax cos in theory as demonstrated he is going to lose out in all these upgrading so he should contribute lesser in nation building ?

hasn't that been proven?

in the first place

Some MIW fella think alreadi Sexplain lar..... whether make sense or not...... only they know.... [laugh]

if opposition win and run the country

i doubt that they will get so fat headed and screw everything up overnight

indeed they are inexperience to run the country so they will use trial and error method

isit this is what current boss doing too for some of the policy ?

Singapore have many investment from other country do you think these investment country or powerful company will allow Singapore to degrade? == loss their investment?

Singapore sign agreement with many other country or investment company

certain thing are still bound by T&C

you think they will pull out investment overnight and all the people will become beggar overnight?

as long as citizen show sign of maturity and accept the democratic result i do not see any issues

if all citizen Revolt even current boss stay in power

country is still not stable

investment still pull out

people still become beggar ma

LPPL

opposition running a country? im not ready.

what i want by getting oppositions inside is the voice. removing certain policies. etc.

currently, 2 ppl is not enough.

Yeap just get more opposition in the TCSS session

at least thing still get in check

too much holding cash is bad cos will be lost of opportunity interest ( too much surplus thus give to the CITy that never sleep )

too little holding cash is bad cos company unstable ( like those Pa ki si tan ) breeding ground due to poverty

balance is the key == opposition help to check lor

if end of the day opposit heng heng win and they suay suay screw up

dun worry la big ang mo bro will push for SNAP ELECTION.

singapore so small what can they apply some peer pressure can liao

WIKI LEAK is an good example on how politic do business

not looking for an opposition government as it is not realistic at this point or time and i do not believe in a smooth transfer of power can happen

my point is

the country will not collapse without government in place in a short term

4year plus is not that long term

i am proud of my country but i do not love [;)]

Edited by God21

Yeap just get more opposition in the TCSS session

at least thing still get in check

too much holding cash is bad cos will be lost of opportunity interest ( too much surplus thus give to the CITy that never sleep )

too little holding cash is bad cos company unstable ( like those Pa ki si tan ) breeding ground due to poverty

balance is the key == opposition help to check lor

if end of the day opposit heng heng win and they suay suay screw up

dun worry la big ang mo bro will push for SNAP ELECTION.

singapore so small what can they apply some peer pressure can liao

WIKI LEAK is an good example on how politic do business

not looking for an opposition government as it is not realistic at this point or time and i do not believe in a smooth transfer of power can happen

my point is

the country will not collapse without government in place in a short term

4year plus is not that long term

i am proud of my country but i do not love [;)]

opposition should not run YET. until they are more stabalised in providing the voice for us.

give them at least 2-3 terms before we can even consider them to run

we vote the opp in not to rule the country but to say 'NO' to every increase in GST to help poor,'NO' to increase FT to create jobs,'NO' to increase ERP to help ppl own car, 'NO' to increase MIW pay 50,100,200% to prevent corruption, 'NO' to to have more 'affordable' housing, 'NO' to excuses like 'once in 50 yrs', 'NO' to MAS in or out of singapore, 'NO' to '3 meals where, kopitiam, hawker or restaurant' when ask for $1 more a day to help poor, 'NO' to 'let move on, honest mistake' etc

like that become opposition very easy. it is not to say "No", but "No or Yes" to the policy "unless X, Y, Z criteria are met". If want a brainless opposition to oppose for the sake of opposing, might as well put in a monkey. at least no need pay him mp allowance.

Given a choice he will use C4..... [laugh]

I'll use an EMP device.. almost zero harm to the environment.. and no collateral if the device is small :D

My take of the present situation is like this:

In parliament you will see ruling party members & oppo members sometimes raising the same concerns when controversial new policies are being proposed, like for example the setting of the 2 IRs not too long ago. Even till this day after the 2 cash cows are up & running (& generating big profits which = generous contributions to state coffers), they are still worried about issues relating to irresponsible gambling & the presume adverse impact to the society.

Most other times there will be hordes of them tramping the 1 or 2 oppo MPs when the latter questions some of the policies, without even the need for the respective minister or MOS to answer.

This 82-2 situation is not healthy at all IMHO.

What we want is healthy debate to bills or new policies that have a direct impact to our livelihood.

Try explaining to the old uncle or auntie cleaning your table in foodcourts or the toilets the sterling economic performance our country has achieved or going to & how much our GDP is going to increase because of that.

Their reaction will probably be:

How much will the transport costs, utility bills & food item prices increase since the ecomony is supposingly doing so well or going to do well & that the respective entities like the transport operators, utility companies & food merchants will take the opportunity to cite rising costs/good economy to increase the prices.

Yes there are rebates & workfare given but are we sure all those who really need help can get them? The message from the policy-makers is that these people MUST come to them in the first place for help to be rendered. How effective is this?

Even with these aid, are we promoting this as a way to be a better alternative to the social-wellfare scheme the west is having?

Despite all the debate between the policy-makers & the backbenchers, when it comes to crunch time all ruling party members will probably have to vote for the bill if the party whip is not lifted.

This is the concern most of us have with the current state of affairs.

Edited by Vulcann

good! so long the the opposition don put a monkey to contest, i'll vote opposition!

problem is many times they do put a "monkey" there.

Lets see.

indeed they are inexperience to run the country so they will use trial and error method

Singapore have many investment from other country do you think these investment country or powerful company will allow Singapore to degrade? == loss their investment?

you think they will pull out investment overnight and all the people will become beggar overnight?

as long as citizen show sign of maturity and accept the democratic result i do not see any issues

LPPL

As I said B4, If I opposition and win Big Big to have majority to take over, I will ask all the current team to continue their work (sorry PM ,DPM must be from Opposition, the rest remain)

AT HALF THEIR PAY !

If anyone leaves, you will finally know whether they work for Love or Money loh...

LPPL

I applaud your innovative ideals but IMHO, I think it is too idealistic. Running/ruling a country is not like doing maths or R&D where you can have trial and error. Any decision a government makes has serious implications to the economy and its stability. Do you recall the water crisis with our neighbor? Any mobilization? I believe you have heard of many U-turn policies from other countries. Frankly you tell me, how do you feel about those government? Incapable? Any decision a government makes must be of politically and diplomatically sound. In all decisions, there are calculated risks and impacts. While there is no ideal solution that can satisfy all, at the very least, it satisfy the majority or for the good of the country. We are a country with no resources and we rely heavily on investments to create jobs and wealth. Otherwise we would not be here as arm-chair commentators liao.