Singapore GE: Opposition parties to contest all seats

Vulcann

That is precisely we cannot have the Oppo taking over gov now... cause this is what they are good at doing at the present moment..... and like I say... Bro here at MCF can do a better job at saying No than them... at cheaper rate somemore.... [laugh]

The Oppo say NO, No good...... then tell everybody what Oppo think is Good, is workable and benefit the most people....... then Oppo say why they need to help the MIW to think. they are not the gov.... [rolleyes][laugh]

It's all the Civil servants coming up with the policies with direction from the mini-stars.. do you think the mini-stars really do so much thinking? They just want to get to Point B from Point A.. so the officers will have to find out which is the best way... best to meet their goals.. then they put in some garnishing to make the dish presentable... so if you put someone not that good to lead a ministry.. maybe the officers have to do more studies, but I'm sure they will not make ill-informed decisions..

I applaud your innovative ideals but IMHO, I think it is too idealistic. Running/ruling a country is not like doing maths or R&D where you can have trial and error. Any decision a government makes has serious implications to the economy and its stability. Do you recall the water crisis with our neighbor? Any mobilization? I believe you have heard of many U-turn policies from other countries. Frankly you tell me, how do you feel about those government? Incapable? Any decision a government makes must be of politically and diplomatically sound. In all decisions, there are calculated risks and impacts. While there is no ideal solution that can satisfy all, at the very least, it satisfy the majority or for the good of the country. We are a country with no resources and we rely heavily on investments to create jobs and wealth. Otherwise we would not be here as arm-chair commentators liao.

these government with U turn policy are still capable just that they are capable in other area of running the country and make decision on own interest first before the citizen but that does not mean they will make all decision that will ruin the country

just different ideology ma

it is indeed that there are reaction to every action ( risk and impact )

however i once saw an interview with Current LI

the reporter ask LI

WHAT will happen if your father is not around

his reply was that

elder LI implement a system

he built a system

this system will goes on even after the founder is no longer around

thus if LI is confident about this system then we must believe in this system too

so if the system is robust then no matter who is the user the system will not collapse

Just like SAP / Oracle system

no way to change or beat it ur right is ur right

so if the system is robust then it will last at least 4-5 year

dun understand the paranoid if even if there is a change or balance in power

anyway current boss had already win technically liao

the redraw boundary had all the statistic data of the voter age / number of voter

thus they more or less know which GRC to to let go or win one

if they are willing to be challenged they will be prepared

Edited by God21

Okay la put it this way ok. A certain few individuals seem to be very hesitant about the opposition and painting doomsday scenarios e.g. Singapore collapse overnight la, economy grind to a halt bla bla. I think that it is too far fetched to think thus.

How about this? PAP can return to power but cannot attain critical 75% and AMK GRC fallen. :ph34r:

Okay la put it this way ok. A certain few individuals seem to be very hesitant about the opposition and painting doomsday scenarios e.g. Singapore collapse overnight la, economy grind to a halt bla bla. I think that it is too far fetched to think thus.

How about this? PAP can return to power but cannot attain critical 75% and AMK GRC fallen. :ph34r:

lol. AMK+Aljunied

2 hot GRCs this coming election.

both nearly lost out at the last one.

lol. AMK+Aljunied

2 hot GRCs this coming election.

both nearly lost out at the last one.

For Aljunied GRC, the ruling party won 56.09% of the votes in '06 so that was a close shave.

And the incumbent lightning team at AMK GRC won 66.14% of the votes at the time.

Must say it was rather embarrassing for the ruling party that the oppo rookie team then contesting AMK GRC was considered a suicide squad but still manage to garner a respectable 33.86% of the votes.

And this GRC was anchored by the man himself...

So does this mean that there is no fortress in this world that is impregnable, regardless of how solid the defence is or who the defenders are?

Then again, when there is even a slight grouse of certain local issues in the ruling party's wards nearing any GE, you will most probably see the ruling party heavy-weights making their way there to soothe ruffled feathers. Case in point was some temple issues in one SMC up north which resulted in a closed door meeting with the temple reps by the party's super heavy weight himself.

They do not take chances lightly & so any challenger has got to be fully prepared.

Edited by Vulcann

these government with U turn policy are still capable just that they are capable in other area of running the country and make decision on own interest first before the citizen but that does not mean they will make all decision that will ruin the country

just different ideology ma

it is indeed that there are reaction to every action ( risk and impact )

however i once saw an interview with Current LI

the reporter ask LI

WHAT will happen if your father is not around

his reply was that

elder LI implement a system

he built a system

this system will goes on even after the founder is no longer around

thus if LI is confident about this system then we must believe in this system too

so if the system is robust then no matter who is the user the system will not collapse

Just like SAP / Oracle system

no way to change or beat it ur right is ur right

so if the system is robust then it will last at least 4-5 year

dun understand the paranoid if even if there is a change or balance in power

anyway current boss had already win technically liao

the redraw boundary had all the statistic data of the voter age / number of voter

thus they more or less know which GRC to to let go or win one

if they are willing to be challenged they will be prepared

There is NO perfect system...

A system does not work unless there is a human touch with a heart in it.

As a matter of fact, system are created by humans, therefore there are just as many flaws ( even with constant changes to it) to it as to those who created it.

I know what your next question to me will be...

" So what in my opinion will be better, besides a system to govern and run the place?"

I didn't say you cannot use a system of sorts to run the place.

I only mentioned that when a system has lost it's human touch with a compassion heart in it, it will fails just as any other system that is created in other places.

There LI confidence is misplaced.

we vote the opp in not to rule the country but to say 'NO' to every increase in GST to help poor,'NO' to increase FT to create jobs,'NO' to increase ERP to help ppl own car, 'NO' to increase MIW pay 50,100,200% to prevent corruption, 'NO' to to have more 'affordable' housing, 'NO' to excuses like 'once in 50 yrs', 'NO' to MAS in or out of singapore, 'NO' to '3 meals where, kopitiam, hawker or restaurant' when ask for $1 more a day to help poor, 'NO' to 'let move on, honest mistake' etc

Many more NO leh.... NO to increase the pay of those elites, NO to 8 months bonus when there are so many unemployed local on the street, NO to spend taxpayer money to help those trash to intergrate with local, NO to over budget 300% for event and not approving extra $1 daily for the poor, NO to denying mistakes made and still gets promotions, NO to stupid policies, NO to stupid comments, NO to over staff Civil Services and refusing to retire, NO to be deaf and blind to citizen requests.....and blah blah blah

I like that...just like at football club level...NO GOVERNMENT IS BIGGER THEN THE COUNTRY..... now our government not even consider Singapore as a country...why should we support this government??

It's all the Civil servants coming up with the policies with direction from the mini-stars.. do you think the mini-stars really do so much thinking? They just want to get to Point B from Point A.. so the officers will have to find out which is the best way... best to meet their goals.. then they put in some garnishing to make the dish presentable... so if you put someone not that good to lead a ministry.. maybe the officers have to do more studies, but I'm sure they will not make ill-informed decisions..

that is the reason why can change ruling party. the civil servants can continue run the country.

Looks like there would be no thunder or lightning come election day! We need to vote wisely this time rd!!! Say no to more ERP gantries N no to LTA rulig on aftermakt modifications and NO to pegging rd tax to engine dispalcement!

The same can be said about few individuals about keeping the current MIW for now.... afraid later HDBee cost 5million, GST is 20%, FT take over all the palces in UNi, FT take away all our jobs, FT take over the gov, FT become the master blah blah blah........ it is far fetched too dont you think..... [laugh] .....

Current MIW not fantastic, Yes agree.... current batch of Oppo not ready to take over gov, Yes Agree...... so nothing to argue mah... status quo for now..... [laugh]

Put a few more Oppo in (if good calibre), okay..... BUT just dont expect there be be a major change in policies...... cause it will not happen till the Oppo take over gov.... In summary, keep all your No No No for now..... [laugh]

problem is many times they do put a "monkey" there.

Lets see.

It is OK even it is a monkey. At the current pace, I will be "managed" out of the Singapore anyway...

It has come to my survival versus MIW... The voting for this GE is easy for me.

I dont think I will need to attend any rallies either...

I want pap to run.

But I want about half opposition to maintain policy checks and balances. Removal of certain thing. Allowing of certain things. More open to financial reserves. But I still want lighting to strike.

I want pap to run.

But I want about half opposition to maintain policy checks and balances. Removal of certain thing. Allowing of certain things. More open to financial reserves. But I still want lighting to strike.

Sounds good. But how to achieve?