Brutal but frank.....

KARTer

Vote wisely ^_^ totally agree

Partially agree. If you believe you could vote wisely, you may want to try one to one candidate option with yourself as the candidate (you got potential). I believe it better to have candidates who are not sourced only from among Doctorates, scholarship holders, graduates, wealthy, public employees (SAF). A well balanced team like when PAP was first voted in (no clowns/entertainers)...

Many complain never vote before. Many say if got chance will vote opposition.

This time got chance to vote for all constituencies!

Better use it wisely hor.....

Opposition is giving all Singaporeans the real and only chance to show our preferences in gov this year. Never was all ward taken up by opposition hor. This Is It.

Don't say opposition not good enough, so never vote opposition hor.

I hear many time, people say they will even vote for a toilet cleaner rather than for the pap, but their ward was walk over, so never have the chance.

So now it's the chance to vote for all the Kuching kurat slipper man, umbrella man, etc opposition candidate.

Only few said will stand to be voted (GRC and CPF prevent them from doing so?)

The BIGGEST PROBLEM is sometimes you dun get to vote!!!!!!!! [bigcry] [bigcry] [bigcry]

Another problem I just realised is: many of us not potential candidate: not doctorate, not scholarship, not rich...

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

our vote will decide if one day (it may be quite far off, but our children, or their children, will see it) there will be an alternative to miw.... political monopoly is not a good thing in the long run... the present batch of miw may be ok, but what will become of future batches in the long run without oppositions' voice to provide checks and balance in parliment now, is anyone's guess.

give the oppositions the chance to grow in every GE, this will be a positive step (although it is just a small step) toward a matured and genuine democratic system.

for the sake of our future generations, think carefully and wisely [:)]

Until inflation do us in. Possible symptoms: failure to replace ourselves, failure to house our citizens, emigration of calibre just below Elite level...

lai ah lai ah...come and vote!!!

$20 char kuay teow at MBS or $3 char kuay teow at ABC market???

think properly hor, the $20 one still got to pay ERP, expensive parking, service charge, blah blah blah...the $3 one maybe parking fees only.

so you want eat in smart casual clothes, with high class ambiance or just wear anything you like, with your own folks???

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

The GRC (Great Restriction Cordon) was introduced to protect the ruling party from fatal one to one competition.

Hello.... post to the point leh....

The GRC thing has nothing to do with the "I want more opposition, but just not in my ward" mentality leh... <_<

In fact the GRC concept will give opposition even more representation in parliament if the anti-establishment is serious about getting more opposition in (including those that can bark [laugh] ).

Anyway, SMC has increased to 12 this year. And according to reports, the oppo are contesting ALL seats (finally), so everyone should be able to exercise their vote this time, which is a very good thing. Kudos to the oppo this time round for taking the elections abit more seriously. [thumbsup]

Hello.... post to the point leh....

The GRC thing has nothing to do with the "I want more opposition, but just not in my ward" mentality leh... <_<

In fact the GRC concept will give opposition even more representation in parliament if the anti-establishment is serious about getting more opposition in (including those that can bark [laugh] ).

Anyway, SMC has increased to 12 this year. And according to reports, the oppo are contesting ALL seats (finally), so everyone should be able to exercise their vote this time, which is a very good thing. Kudos to the oppo this time round for taking the elections abit more seriously. [thumbsup]

So sorry, too excited. Last round walkover, so we got MP who felt awkward when during his first speech, a lady burst out laughing so long that we all felt entertained, and joined her. Redundant candidate was my GRC-MP?

let me give you guys something to ponder, take a step back and ponder

we know all of the minister are scholars with degree

now what if the oppo are bunch of guys who are taxi drivers, hawkers, teachers i mean those who does not have a degree education

will you vote for them

most of you, in fact all of you will say no to these oppo

in the other thread some of you mention about intelligent people who can speak great english to wow people

can think better, etc etc

but people without degree will most probably hopeless if become an mp

if you have this mindset then well done

the country have train you guys that paper qualification is the utmost important

now back to the oppo

these oppo might not be intelligent

but they might be street smart

these are the people who feels for majority cause they have been through life

ask the current ministers

have they ever gone through hardship in life to know what is tough

yes they hear those down below but did they listen

they say no system can fit all

but did they try to fit them in as much as possible

my take

i give oppo a chance,

they dont make a different

5 years later off you go

Personally I think both the ruling party and the opposition are crap. There is no one in this world who is fully sincere. There is no one in this world who will put their own problems aside just to help you. We are all humans.

Its about who will try to help you the most... but then again, I have never seen my MP. He has never made rounds in my ward. Actually I don't even know who he is. Now the election is coming, they will come out of their hibernation with a smiling face and say vote for me...so that they can be contended again for the next 5 years.

MP, Ministers pay so high... and they still giving themselves a big fat bonus. That is the turning point for me to vote for the opposition. But then again, the person contesting my ward is James G... one person who is already on my black books for the electoral fiasco. If he can try such a stunt, he can do it again. Opposition is full of immature people too...look at PKMS...fighting on the street? My MP like that? Sheesh!!!

So maybe for this election, I might just not go... there is just not good enough a candidate to vote.

*this is my personal opinion, whether you like it or not its not your problem*

We need people with heart & passion, as well as good decision making & humanity.

They must know how to ask the right questions, they know what are the best interests. That is what matter most.

They can hired people who can break down statistic, scenario studies, propagation possibilities & forecast. These people can be scholors, master of the universe, or PHD in economy & dancing for all I care.

I am in Shanghai for a few times now, & say whatever you want about the Chinese, & their driver, but there is no denial that the roads are very well constructed. They have highways on major roads, effectively double (give or that) the lanes on the roads, & eliminate slowdown due to traffic lights. I think US has similar system.

I also believe I seen double decks highway in Taiwan. The question that I always wanted to ask is, why can't we build something like that. Imagine our PIE or CTE have 2 or even 3 levels? Impossible, too complicated, too long?

We never know until we asked these questions.

To them HDB is still affordable to majority coz u see each BTO project, oversubscribe so many times, number clearly show how affordable our flat is to sporean... If its ex, i doubt so many ppl will wanna ballot for it.

They have no choice too.. BTO should be cheapest way to get their flat liao. Resale flat so expensive..

Only way is to apply BTO and take max loan.. [bigcry]

They should change the voting system.

First type could be: voters could be asked to vote for how much Oppo representation they want in the gahmen..20%? 60% or 100% etc. This will be good for those who wan the PAP to stay in power but wana check and balance.

2nd type could be: voters could be asked to vote which ministers get to stay in power, that way we can truly weed out the underperformers. Right now assume you dislike this particular minister who runs the housing matters in the country, but you get no chance to veto against him but he does not run your ward..so what can we do?

And yes frankly I am rather disgusted that the ruling party is doing things las minute, all the upgrading and enhancement schemes finally come out and make a hoohaa in the press. That's patchwork politics and does not bring any credibility to the current governance. Only the rich and elite will support PAP and they will come and say things like you owe it to yourself to succeed in life. but I got nothing aainst these people though haha [nod]

imo build such thing cost money and dun have much return on investment. What if build liao nv earn profit n loss money who gg to take the blame leh?

Personally I think both the ruling party and the opposition are crap. There is no one in this world who is fully sincere. There is no one in this world who will put their own problems aside just to help you. We are all humans.

Its about who will try to help you the most... but then again, I have never seen my MP. He has never made rounds in my ward. Actually I don't even know who he is. Now the election is coming, they will come out of their hibernation with a smiling face and say vote for me...so that they can be contended again for the next 5 years.

MP, Ministers pay so high... and they still giving themselves a big fat bonus. That is the turning point for me to vote for the opposition. But then again, the person contesting my ward is James G... one person who is already on my black books for the electoral fiasco. If he can try such a stunt, he can do it again. Opposition is full of immature people too...look at PKMS...fighting on the street? My MP like that? Sheesh!!!

So maybe for this election, I might just not go... there is just not good enough a candidate to vote.

*this is my personal opinion, whether you like it or not its not your problem*

That is why they are call Politician... not Saint something.... [laugh] ......

This notion of not seeing your MP... alamak... this is a good thing not seeing your MP.... that means you got no problem, happy with your life.... [laugh] ... go ask those who always go queue up during the MPS.... if no problem see your MP for what leh..... important is they doing their work............. not how many times they come out and wayang, shake hand, carry baby..... [rolleyes] .....

Of course during erection year, this is inevitable, both for MIW and Oppo...... need to wayang and show face..... [laugh]

That is why they are call Politician... not Saint something.... [laugh] ......

This notion of not seeing your MP... alamak... this is a good thing not seeing your MP.... that means you got no problem, happy with your life.... [laugh] ... go ask those who always go queue up during the MPS.... if no problem see your MP for what leh..... important is they doing their work............. not how many times they come out and wayang, shake hand, carry baby..... [rolleyes] .....

Of course during erection year, this is inevitable, both for MIW and Oppo...... need to wayang and show face..... [laugh]

Bro hahaha you got a point there.

Honestly I don't even know my mp. Not that I need to know anyway.

But you are right, its all a wayang... but i don't understand how anyone is so thick skin go out once every 5 years to show face when nothing in your neighborhood has improved. [laugh]