SimonTan 2nd Gear March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 If your question is ticklish....I am not amuse. On the surface we tok kok and joke about this. Lower properties tax lah, no COE lah, Cheaper HDB lah, lower inflation lah. Deep down....every vested citizen is farking happy to feel paper rich and wants the fat lady to keep singing. But when X marks the spot situation........kiasu properties vested citizens will want lightning power to increase their properties further. if hdb flat value drop, does it mean that we pay lesser property tax ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bird5011 3rd Gear March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 Vote wisely! Yes vote smart and wisely... But only IF...IF I have to chance to vote!!! My area walkover already. AMK 6 orang utan members GRC... pui....pui.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 If our national soccer players demand and actually get paid top dollars, higher than what world's top player get.... but make mistakes repeatedly without even have the decency to admit them, must the country keep them to play for the country? or continue to pay them what they ask for? We are not asking some ministers to f'off.... no we are not, but at least they should face the pple in a honourble way, starting with admission, or maybe even apologies, and return their over paid salary to show their sincerity (if this is in their vocab at all).... example: HDB housing should meet the needs of the people it's meant for, affordable, readily avialable etc.... plus transparency in new projects in the pipeline. But this is not happening until the pple start to complain.... then HDB begins to correct the situations and the minister in-charge announces the changes as if it is something innovative and he's doing a big favour to the pple where in the first place the problems should haven't have been there if proper planning was in place and not just react only when the problems grow beyond the tolerance level of the pple.... call this whining or whatever, but it is the hardest truth but you know who will still rule spore in the end? continue with the whining because nothing major will change. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 If our national soccer players demand and actually get paid top dollars, higher than what world's top player get.... but make mistakes repeatedly without even have the decency to admit them, must the country keep them to play for the country? or continue to pay them what they ask for? We are not asking some ministers to f'off.... no we are not, but at least they should face the pple in a honourble way, starting with admission, or maybe even apologies, and return their over paid salary to show their sincerity (if this is in their vocab at all).... example: HDB housing should meet the needs of the people it's meant for, affordable, readily avialable etc.... plus transparency in new projects in the pipeline. But this is not happening until the pple start to complain.... then HDB begins to correct the situations and the minister in-charge announces the changes as if it is something innovative and he's doing a big favour to the pple where in the first place the problems should haven't have been there if proper planning was in place and not just react only when the problems grow beyond the tolerance level of the pple.... call this whining or whatever, but it is the hardest truth true. i am not saying public housing price should not appreciate at all, but to rise at such rate and left unchecked by the government is really made me speechless. Blame it on the greed of people but the rate of rise has also seen a lot of soured HDB deals, and mine is one of them. those who already leased a HDB will be happy but those like me, first time buyer, not eligible for BTO and even HDB loan, will feel despair. We have got non-working parents to feed, medical expense, etc. I just paid almost 2K for my kid's dental operation as I cannot claim from medisave, aint dental health part of overall health? There is more to come as my kid needs to go for follow-ups. Should I blame myself for marrying late? Should I plan everything according to economic data and trend? Then marry for what? Have babies for what? To be part of economic picture? Older average home leasers may have their gains due to rise in housing price eroded as they realise how their children would be hit by unprecedented housing prices and needed their help. On one hand, government want us to be prudent in our spending, yet on the other hand, I am being pushed out and have to get resale HDB at ridiculous price, and probably end up in debt at old age and cannot cannot work at slower pace. Why is ceiling for 3-roomers raised but nothing done for 4 to 5 rooms? Why has their jurassic criteria not reviewed in consideration of changes in price, among other things. I never felt like anything in my CPF account belongs to me, dunno why I got this feeling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 Hard truth indeed. But no one will dare to allow their HDB flat value to fall as a lousy gov might. This is the vicious circle for current vested interest older voters. Younger voters without much vested interest in Properties will be the unsung hero black swan. So in your words, it is the old folks or those who owns a HDB unit prods the government up. These people thus becomes the villain. But these HDB unit owners were once the younger voters who were also struggling at the start of the career. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 but you know who will still rule spore in the end? continue with the whining because nothing major will change. I don't quite agree. Look at Egypt, 30 years under Mubarak and he crumbled under people's power. I am not suggesting we do an Egypt, just that X marks the spot. We can't change instantly, but we must be heard and things may change slowly. I hope to see another "Chiam beat Mah" like in 1984 :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 I don't quite agree. Look at Egypt, 30 years under Mubarak and he crumbled under people's power. I am not suggesting we do an Egypt, just that X marks the spot. We can't change instantly, but we must be heard and things may change slowly. I hope to see another "Chiam beat Mah" like in 1984 :) it will be like that in spore for a long long time. chiam is old and frail now and has no successor in sight. low thia khiang also has no visible successor. looking at the state of the oppositon, its really difficult to see any major shift in the political scene. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 Hard truth indeed. But no one will dare to allow their HDB flat value to fall as a lousy gov might. This is the vicious circle for current vested interest older voters. Younger voters without much vested interest in Properties will be the unsung hero black swan. If I were the older voters as you mentioned, I would not care if my flat depreciates or not. A flat for them would mean a home. Not an investment. After all they are in their twilight and the homes would have been fully paid. It would be meaningless to want to sell the place that they are so used to, a place where their kids grew up, a place where their grandchildren are familiar. After all they would need to find another home. That is too much hassle. Elderly who worry are those wanting to sell to move in to their childrens home. The numbers aren't many. Lastly for these older folks they will want the govt to make homes affordable for their children. Otherwise their votes will go to the opposition. Currently, MBT is not doing much. The prices of homes remain out of reach for the younger generation. Neither is it coming down. This pisses off the elderly cos they still need to house their child-in-law and grandchildren. Good luck MBT! Lets see if his desperate recent measures can erase the memory of families who are pissed off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 (edited) I never felt like anything in my CPF account belongs to me, dunno why I got this feeling. I LONG LONG TIME got this feeling liao......... End of the day, you got nothing that really belong to you when you are dying...... no money in cpf, no money in bank..... house mortage bcos cpf not enough money in retirement acc...... car not yours bcos lease from bank, provided you can afford car due to uprising coe....... CHAM !!!! So either we get our ass out of this Hell asap or make changes for this last critical moment.......!!! 最後の戦い Edited March 5, 2011 by Nightkids Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 (edited) If I were the older voters as you mentioned, I would not care if my flat depreciates or not. A flat for them would mean a home. Not an investment. After all they are in their twilight and the homes would have been fully paid. It would be meaningless to want to sell the place that they are so used to, a place where their kids grew up, a place where their grandchildren are familiar. After all they would need to find another home. That is too much hassle. Elderly who worry are those wanting to sell to move in to their childrens home. The numbers aren't many. Lastly for these older folks they will want the govt to make homes affordable for their children. Otherwise their votes will go to the opposition. Currently, MBT is not doing much. The prices of homes remain out of reach for the younger generation. Neither is it coming down. This pisses off the elderly cos they still need to house their child-in-law and grandchildren. Good luck MBT! Lets see if his desperate recent measures can erase the memory of families who are pissed off. MBT cannot do much cos either way he will incur the wrath of both side. IMO, the only way is relax the regulations for 1st time buyers, review the ceilings and push out even more new units. That said, it is still going to affect unmarried couples, just married ones, and those yet to get a place cos it takes time to implement. The housing issues had been raised years back and the response is housing is affordable. The government not tightening the foreigner buying of public housing will continue to hurt the locals. Ever wonder why the 30++ to 40 year old flat prices still rocketing up? When will the appreciation slow down and even decrease of price? Have we, in all the frenzy, forgotten that its only 99 years at most, some left 40+ years? Are our public housing becoming purely investment? Somewhat felt that circumstances is propping and pushing up housing prices. Who is looking after public housing valuation by the way? So what if COV comes down (which is not), valuation is going up. If I am someone who already gotten a flat some time back, I probably would not care less what is happening now, but unfortunately, I am not. So its just my view from the other side of the fence, we can agree to disagree. Edited March 5, 2011 by Phluvcat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phluvcat 6th Gear March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 I LONG LONG TIME got this feeling liao......... that's because you have been awake and not brainwashed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 that's because you have been awake and not brainwashed. 目覚める Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 If I were the older voters as you mentioned, I would not care if my flat depreciates or not. A flat for them would mean a home. Not an investment. >> Talk cok. When the COE keeps rising...you old car also increas feeling, you dont feel relief that your car got higher resela value(although you are not buying)? If you take a $300k loan on a $500,000 HDB, and five years later your HDB valued at $700,000. You don't feel relief that you dont need to worry about the bank loan as the worst case you sell the house will get $300,000 profit to repay the laon meh? After all they are in their twilight and the homes would have been fully paid. It would be meaningless to want to sell the place that they are so used to, a place where their kids grew up, a place where their grandchildren are familiar. After all they would need to find another home. That is too much hassle. >> So dont sell the house. They are able to sleep well in the twilight years because the HDB has appreciated 10times more. Elderly who worry are those wanting to sell to move in to their childrens home. The numbers aren't many. >>> Not many...but the kids will love(and pray the parents die faster) and Ang-kat the old parent who has a half-million HDB compared to a parent who owns a non-appreciating HDB that stay stagnant at its $20,000 value. Lastly for these older folks they will want the govt to make homes affordable for their children. Otherwise their votes will go to the opposition. Currently, MBT is not doing much. The prices of homes remain out of reach for the younger generation. Neither is it coming down. >>> You sure you are the older folks who will vote out the current gov, so that your children will buy cheap HDB? Or you the young generation hoping your parents will sell their $500,000 HDB and support you with your own HDB? This pisses off the elderly cos they still need to house their child-in-law and grandchildren. >>> So you think cheap HDB will means more youngster want to own their own home and move out? If the properties are cheap....all parents would have bought 5-storey GCB to house the entire big families, like last time. Good luck MBT! >> He dont need luck.....he got our balls squeeze and everyone is happy to be squeezed and will still support him. Lets see if his desperate recent measures can erase the memory of families who are pissed off. >>>Not many pissed off actually.....I can bet with you....the results in May will show everyone just talk cok and dare not vote against the current gov. I support the current MBT as I want my $1million HDB to come true in 5 years time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acewin 4th Gear March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 After all these I guess all MCF knows where to put the big "X" on the day to come eh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 Bro, how you want to MIW to please people... on one hand, HDbee cannot be expensive, casue people no afford.... but if price of HDBee not appreciate, then flat owner beh song, start with a "junk bond".... you please one you cannot please another....... Like people kpkb say bus/mrt expensive... but if they dont charge at that rates, the fella working how to get higher pay??? You work you want higher pay right??? MIW to subsidise the bus/mrt so become affordable.... then $$$ got to come from somewhere...... increase GST, increase personal income tax etc....... then people again kpkb..... Vote in the Oppo and they can do what??? They also can kpkb only..... think Bro here in MCF can kpkb better then them...... .... unless they can offer a better alternative to the problem..... but so far, no hear anything from them...... Not saying one should still continue to sapport the MIW for those fark up policy...... but imagine this.... 1. you go squeeze the balls of the oppo so that they make noise in the Park-liament and end up nothing done OR 2. You go squeeze the balls of the MIW so that he can wake up his farking idea and know peasant veri unhappy and he CAN do something about it (this Mr Horse case gibing so many HDBee goodies is a good example) Go think about it........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeromania 1st Gear March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 Bro, how you want to MIW to please people... on one hand, HDbee cannot be expensive, casue people no afford.... but if price of HDBee not appreciate, then flat owner beh song, start with a "junk bond".... you please one you cannot please another....... Like people kpkb say bus/mrt expensive... but if they dont charge at that rates, the fella working how to get higher pay??? You work you want higher pay right??? MIW to subsidise the bus/mrt so become affordable.... then $$$ got to come from somewhere...... increase GST, increase personal income tax etc....... then people again kpkb..... Vote in the Oppo and they can do what??? They also can kpkb only..... think Bro here in MCF can kpkb better then them...... .... unless they can offer a better alternative to the problem..... but so far, no hear anything from them...... Not saying one should still continue to sapport the MIW for those fark up policy...... but imagine this.... 1. you go squeeze the balls of the oppo so that they make noise in the Park-liament and end up nothing done OR 2. You go squeeze the balls of the MIW so that he can wake up his farking idea and know peasant veri unhappy and he CAN do something about it (this Mr Horse case gibing so many HDBee goodies is a good example) Go think about it........ U really think oppo dun want to do anything meh? It's more like the ruling party refuses to let them do anything. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 U really think oppo dun want to do anything meh? It's more like the ruling party refuses to let them do anything. The only time they can do anything is when they become the gov... and frankly, with the Oppo we have, not enough "good" people to form gov yet... The only possibility is MIW "self distruct"...... This one politics lar..... you think MIW will help the Oppo to score point..... To get things done.... squeeze the right balls lar.... Sure we need those "good" Oppo figures to be send into Park-liament... at least the session wont be so boring... got some action... ...... again, "everybody" want Oppo in Park-liamnet, but just not their own constituency one...... Why??? Go figure..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear March 5, 2011 Share March 5, 2011 Lastly for these older folks they will want the govt to make homes affordable for their children. Otherwise their votes will go to the opposition. Currently, MBT is not doing much. The prices of homes remain out of reach for the younger generation. Neither is it coming down. This pisses off the elderly cos they still need to house their child-in-law and grandchildren. Good luck MBT! Lets see if his desperate recent measures can erase the memory of families who are pissed off. 一针见血 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...