Hoytusa84 1st Gear March 4, 2011 Author Share March 4, 2011 yup...that split sec when the vehicle hit 120km/hr. Anyway no diff once u go beyond 100... pay up. Actually there's diff.. 2 points diff and $20! Hmm.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoytusa84 1st Gear March 4, 2011 Author Share March 4, 2011 Whilst I commiserate with the TS for his bad luck... the moral of the story is... At ungodly hours like 6am ... car drivers who do not have to go to work yet ... should be sleeping.... instead of driving around on the expressways... Hmm.. Insomnia leh.. And didn't intend to u turn which I did and met wit him.. Indeed a bad luck! Just a 10 minutes drive and kena! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoytusa84 1st Gear March 4, 2011 Author Share March 4, 2011 Bro tough luck man, 121km/h is easily achieveable on a copen. morning when traffic is clear, tend to go at least 100km/h without realising on pie coz traffic is clear. Ray 121kph on the gun means our speedo is cleared leh haha! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 (edited) Hopefully TS has more evidence than "I dun think I was going that fast". Between a piece of scientific equipment that has to be regularly checked and maintained, and your own "I dun think", which would you say is more reliable? Is not that police trail you and go by their own speedo - they show you the actual radar gun reading. The only way your appeal work is if you can show either 1. The person on the radar gun is not you 2. The gun itself is inaccurate or used wrongly. What do you think are the chances of either? Your best bet would have been to talk nicely to the TP and see if it could be reduced on the spot rather than give him fark face and attitude. The piece of equipment could be checked and maintain by some dubious company in china and not switzerland as the TP thought. Is there any way TS argue that since it was reported the the TP equipment was not calibrated with a authentic certification. All their certification were bogus, thus no one can be certain of their accuracy. http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2660565 Edited March 4, 2011 by Ender Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xfiles 1st Gear March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 The piece of equipment could be checked and maintain by some dubious company in china and not switzerland as the TP thought. Is there any way TS argue that since it was reported the the TP equipment was not calibrated with a authentic certification. All their certification were bogus, thus no one can be certain of their accuracy. http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2660565 the laser gun even don't do calibration won't go out of cal so easily lah... just like alot of meters in manufacturing industry. the yearly cal is waste of money .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 the laser gun even don't do calibration won't go out of cal so easily lah... just like alot of meters in manufacturing industry. the yearly cal is waste of money .. True, but the standard of proof expected of TP is much higher than that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 the laser gun even don't do calibration won't go out of cal so easily lah... just like alot of meters in manufacturing industry. the yearly cal is waste of money .. Comes to legal and certification, the piece of cert is important for argument, whether you feel laser need cal or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 Just to share my experience ... Was stopped by TP (BMW) while driving on KJE many years ago. I was trying to overtake and that arseh_le speed up. I step on the accelerator and was caught at "115 km/h". I acted "remorseful" and asked the TP to "give chance". At the end, the summon was issued for 100 km/h instead of 115 km/h. So no complain and really grateful as the TP was "kind enough" to give me some discount. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 Woke up at 6am decided to go for a drive near my estate.. Went on PIE and was overtaking when a TP from behind came and instructed me to stop. Showed me his speed trap that I was doing 121kph. Don't think I did this speed anyway. He doesn't have any pictures to prove, just the speed on his crap. Any way to appeal for it? I didn't speak a word while he took down my particular. Just told me is 8 points and $170 fine. First time kena stopped by TP! i dont know about now but years back when i was riding, i remember looking through the TP's bikes at Maxwell TP HQ when i got my bike locked up... it was 2 meters on the bike which read speed... one is the TP's speed, and another to click and lock at the highest speed clocked while chasing someone... so logically this makes no sense as the TP has to have a higher speed to catch up with you... i think its a retarded gadget... i was further convinced this gadget is dumb when i went to court to get charged for riding without correct class of license... i saw an ex-school mate there and when the judge read out the charge i was like SIAO.... he was clocked speeding at 180km/h by a traffice police... wtf? he was only riding a Suzuki RG125... dumb... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatbirdlegend 1st Gear March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 Just to share my experience ... Was stopped by TP (BMW) while driving on KJE many years ago. I was trying to overtake and that arseh_le speed up. I step on the accelerator and was caught at "115 km/h". I acted "remorseful" and asked the TP to "give chance". At the end, the summon was issued for 100 km/h instead of 115 km/h. So no complain and really grateful as the TP was "kind enough" to give me some discount. Wah lucky for you. Really hate those b------ds that road hog but purposely speed up when you try to overtake. Crazy a------es. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 i was further convinced this gadget is dumb when i went to court to get charged for riding without correct class of license... i saw an ex-school mate there and when the judge read out the charge i was like SIAO.... he was clocked speeding at 180km/h by a traffice police... wtf? he was only riding a Suzuki RG125... dumb... i hate to say this but just 3 words. kettle. pot. black. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 i dont know about now but years back when i was riding, i remember looking through the TP's bikes at Maxwell TP HQ when i got my bike locked up... it was 2 meters on the bike which read speed... one is the TP's speed, and another to click and lock at the highest speed clocked while chasing someone... so logically this makes no sense as the TP has to have a higher speed to catch up with you... i think its a retarded gadget... i was further convinced this gadget is dumb when i went to court to get charged for riding without correct class of license... i saw an ex-school mate there and when the judge read out the charge i was like SIAO.... he was clocked speeding at 180km/h by a traffice police... wtf? he was only riding a Suzuki RG125... dumb... If like that the thing to do would have been to PROVE that the bike cannot go that fast. There was a case like that in England where a Robin Reliant (I think I have the name right) was clocked at something like 90 plus miles per hour - the owner proved the car physically incapable of going so fast Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 If like that the thing to do would have been to PROVE that the bike cannot go that fast. There was a case like that in England where a Robin Reliant (I think I have the name right) was clocked at something like 90 plus miles per hour - the owner proved the car physically incapable of going so fast You kidding me? That three wheeler piece of crap? I almost laugh my guts seeing Clarkson tip in TG and finally that epic moment when he finally tipped into a pond or something. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 You kidding me? That three wheeler piece of crap? I almost laugh my guts seeing Clarkson tip in TG and finally that epic moment when he finally tipped into a pond or something. Not kidding - is quite a famous case.. here you go http://forums.mg-rover.org/showthread.php?t=202931 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 i hate to say this but just 3 words. kettle. pot. black. why?.... i meant the bike is not possible of hitting 180km/h lah... i committed offense.... fair i was punished for it... nothing to feel sore about ah... but the RG kia clocked @ 180km/h???.... thats dumb mah? where got possible??? imagine you get caught for speeding and TP says you were going at 290km/h... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 If like that the thing to do would have been to PROVE that the bike cannot go that fast. There was a case like that in England where a Robin Reliant (I think I have the name right) was clocked at something like 90 plus miles per hour - the owner proved the car physically incapable of going so fast i dont know how to do it in Singapore sia... Laywer?... anyways that ex-classmate was so scared of going to jail all... he wept in court.... i had another friend at coastal road loot with another biker he didnt know... both kanna caught for racing and he spent one month in Queenstown no joke... he was not working or studying then... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 You kidding me? That three wheeler piece of crap? I almost laugh my guts seeing Clarkson tip in TG and finally that epic moment when he finally tipped into a pond or something. i think he like drove into the building all right? laugh until peng... hahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear March 4, 2011 Share March 4, 2011 oh sorry the building was the smaller 1seater version... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...