Stopped by TP

Hoytusa84

Woke up at 6am decided to go for a drive near my estate.. Went on PIE and was overtaking when a TP from behind came and instructed me to stop. Showed me his speed trap that I was doing 121kph. Don't think I did this speed anyway. He doesn't have any pictures to prove, just the speed on his crap. Any way to appeal for it? I didn't speak a word while he took down my particular. Just told me is 8 points and $170 fine. First time kena stopped by TP! :wacko:

Too bad... its ur word against his....

You can don't pay the compound and go to court to challenge the case but normally, it is a very bad idea. Don't think the TP needs a picture. His bike/ car has a calibrated eqpt to record your speed. Unless the calibration has expired or faulty then you might have a chance.

this kind of morning ride could easily overspeed...

only appeal if you are very sure that u never hit that kind of speed... otherwise, better pay fine.

the speed trap could be by another car or tripod.. the TP car was for interception only.

You can don't pay the compound and go to court to challenge the case but normally, it is a very bad idea. Don't think the TP needs a picture. His bike/ car has a calibrated eqpt to record your speed. Unless the calibration has expired or faulty then you might have a chance.

The thing about this system it's still subjected to human error. The display speed on the equipment may be a previous recording which the TP may forgotten to reset.. It's does not tie the speed to a car plate or a photograph capture.

NO need to waste time. Pay up n move on. Able to clock u 121km/h means no matter what, u are speeding on a 90km/h road? Want to appeal and tell them u not speeding??

The thing about this system it's still subjected to human error. The display speed on the equipment may be a previous recording which the TP may forgotten to reset.. It's does not tie the speed to a car plate or a photograph capture.

I dunno how their system works and i agree the human error is always possible but I feel it is still along shot. [:/]

I thought only Bolehland's TP like to quote 121, 122, 123kph?

Since the TP bothered to show you his evidence, it's likely you did speed lor. You admitted to be not very sure whether you hit this speed, so you have no reason to challenge the allegation unless you got a lot of money to throw away. LLST and hopefully you won't repeat this mistake. I always thought it's TP-free at this hour too, but now I know it's not.

u mentioned that you are overtaking a car ...since speed limit is 90km/H ...is there a need for u to speed 31km/h more than a car just overtake it? could the car be speeding above the limit as well but y only u kana...

tot it is a normal reaction to look at your speedo meter when u saw a TP waving at u? [:)]

anyway can try to appeal but i think waste of time...

I think TS just wants to know if there's a venue to write in to appeal like getting a parking ticket and if there is any consequences?

If anyone knows maybe can advise him.

Luckily my lao pok car cannot go so fast. [:p]

If you did not speed, you should have voiced out when the TP is taking down your particulars. In any case, dun wait any more. Go and appeal first.

I always thought people should install a HUD, so that you can't have the excuse you do not know what speed you were travelling at cuz it's right in your face!

Looks cool.

How much does it costs though?

Personally I think it's cheaper just to cruise at the speed limit on the slower lanes.

I usually can tell if I'm going above by looking up front.

Gut feel from years of driving I guess.