Top Civil Servant get 8 month bonus....

so this is how much my cousin will had earn if he had taken up the offer that lead to politics :mellow: that's a lot

my friend's sister is top performer in big 4 audit firm.

thereafter now she is CFO in private sector.

she's 40 years old and she only earns 250,000 per annum.

seriously i think if the superscale officer at age 31 gets over 300k per annum compared to this sister of my friend, i think it is definitely way overpaid.

if they peg to audit partners then still a closer fight. but then no auditor becomes partner at age 31......i seriously don't know how our civil service derives their benchmark. pluck from the sky maybe

Edited by Acemundo

seriously i think if the superscale officer at age 31 gets over 300k per annum compared to this sister of my friend, i think it is definitely way overpaid.

if they peg to audit partners then still a closer fight. but then no auditor becomes partner at age 31......i seriously don't know how our civil service derives their benchmark. pluck from the sky maybe

The 300K is to ensure they will not be corrupted.

The benchmark? 66% mandate lor. That's the strongest benchmark!

if the superscale are only given to selected few. then i have no issue.

selected few as in maybe 2 or 3 in the entire singapore???

but they must be real talent, may be president scholar caliber??

Edited by Joseph22

yeah lor, feels like singaporeans taken for a ride.

being in civil service has its "privileges"

if the superscale are only given to selected few. then i have no issue.

selected few as in maybe 2 or 3 in the entire singapore???

but they must be real talent, may be president scholar caliber??

yeah how many superscale there are? and add up the number each year?

this is actually the real transparency we need.

how many are in each scale.

even though its unlikely, what if majority are in very low scale range?? [laugh]

this is actually the real transparency we need.

how many are in each scale.

even though its unlikely, what if majority are in very low scale range?? [laugh]

Col in SAF are superscale I heard. Maybe use them as a proportion of SAF to guesstimate number of superscalers in entire civil service.

dont think so. but BG onwards could be. -_- especially for those chief of a division.

personally, i will not include the 3 Uniforms groups.

Edited by Joseph22

personally, although I am believer in talent spotting, I also believe that for many industries, you still need experience to complement talent. at age 31, how much experience can one garner under his belt? possible to be Col or BG at age 31? that's presposterous

only certain industries like sports needed less years of experience under the belt and more innate talent to be outstanding.

Actually, there's another practical reason why they need to pay so much to someone in early 30s. Tat's the age when these scholars have definitely finished their bonds, gained enough work experience n most tempted to leave for private sector....u think those ministers so smart to do everything themselves? of cos not...they depend on these smart underlings, n of cos they dun want them to fly away....once these ppl stay beyond a certain age, unlikely they'll leave liao.

yeah lor, feels like singaporeans taken for a ride.

being in civil service has its "privileges"

Being the top men in civil service has its privileges.....

U haven heard the voices of the farmer yet.

passed few days I had been tired of explaining to friends that I do not have the 8 month bonus....

And no I am not a farmer. I am the tool that used by the farmer to get the job done..... [bigcry]

Being the top men in civil service has its privileges.....

U haven heard the voices of the farmer yet.

passed few days I had been tired of explaining to friends that I do not have the 8 month bonus....

And no I am not a farmer. I am the tool that used by the farmer to get the job done..... [bigcry]

hehe ok not referring to all in civil service la....

just the priviledged few

Pluck from their citizen lor.... they benchmark using the world TOP ppl to d the comparision for those top group.....

the bad thing is now that civil servant pay is attractive, the best and brightest will flock there...

its the death knell for sg entrepreneurship and innovation. No bright kid wants to set up company.

also, if their pay is pegged to GDP, and GDP is = private consumption + gross investment + government spending + (exports − imports)

then, inflation high, they get higher bonus

govt build new mrt line, they get higher bonus

govt raise gst, they get higher bonus

coe goes up, they get higher bonus

hdb prices go up, they get higher bonus

not enough flats, build some more... they get higher bonus

well...

Actually, there's another practical reason why they need to pay so much to someone in early 30s. Tat's the age when these scholars have definitely finished their bonds, gained enough work experience n most tempted to leave for private sector....u think those ministers so smart to do everything themselves? of cos not...they depend on these smart underlings, n of cos they dun want them to fly away....once these ppl stay beyond a certain age, unlikely they'll leave liao.

which brngs us back to the question - if the ministers are so talented and deserved their multi million salary, why do they also need to pay over the market rate for their subordinates (ie high flyers with superscale tags) as well?

being supported by such capable heads in the civil service probably means the minister talent is underutilized. so why pay for something we don't use?

the bad thing is now that civil servant pay is attractive, the best and brightest will flock there...

its the death knell for sg entrepreneurship and innovation. No bright kid wants to set up company.

also, if their pay is pegged to GDP, and GDP is = private consumption + gross investment + government spending + (exports − imports)

then, inflation high, they get higher bonus

govt build new mrt line, they get higher bonus

govt raise gst, they get higher bonus

coe goes up, they get higher bonus

hdb prices go up, they get higher bonus

not enough flats, build some more... they get higher bonus

well...

Very very well said my fren...basic economics at work...just push some figures above 10% and voila...as I have said in the previous post, my boss decides my performance objectives and target for the year..here the PAPians decide for themselves what is the target...when hit the target of 10%..can claim 8 months bonus...since we voted them in..shouldnt us be their boss and set the bar instead?

and kaoz it is a sad day for us citizenbs because the harder we work (to improve nation output), the fatter their wallets become. [rifle]

I think same like MP LOow Thia Kiang, we gripe not based on the variable component but on the percentages and months of bonus conferred.

which brngs us back to the question - if the ministers are so talented and deserved their multi million salary, why do they also need to pay over the market rate for their subordinates (ie high flyers with superscale tags) as well?

being supported by such capable heads in the civil service probably means the minister talent is underutilized. so why pay for something we don't use?

no brainer. 2 head is better than one.

there is a saying in chinese 3 shoe-maker is better than zhuge liang (a very intelligent man in 3 kingdom era.) if you got 3 zhuge liang it will be better.