Top Civil Servant get 8 month bonus....

"The main salary component for senior officers that varies with economic growth is the GDP Bonus. GDP bonus is zero if GDP growth is 2% or below, but accounts for a maximum of about 1/4 of the annual salary of senior officers, or 8 months, when the GDP growth exceeds 10%.

Hence, during the downturn in 2009 and 2010, no GDP Bonus was paid. This contributed to a 18-22.5% reduction in annual salaries of senior officers for the two years.

This year, in 2011, based on the exceptionally high 2010 GDP growth, officers will get the maximum rate of GDP Bonus,"

Deputy Prime Minister Teo in Parliament today......

I don't mind people who work hard & contribute something to get higher bonus get their due. I think bonus should be base on performance, not position. But normally, the top positions always get the full bonus one, not just in government sector. Oh well.

8 months for civil sector is ridiculous.

u mean u dont even know that those people are normally scholars aka elites? most of them come from elite family and many of them possess very good qualifications.. ? u think some tom dick and harry with PSLE or GCE certs can become senior officers?

they would get equivilent or more pay if they go to private sector imo..

so what "ridiculous" are you referring @? my friend in shipping line told me that his boss get like 10mths of bonus? is that ridiculous to you?

u mean u dont even know that those people are normally scholars aka elites? most of them come from elite family and many of them possess very good qualifications.. ? u think some tom dick and harry with PSLE or GCE certs can become senior officers?

so what "ridiculous" are you referring @? my friend in shipping line told me that his boss get like 10mths of bonus? is that ridiculous to you?

these ministars keep harping on the mantra that if they leave the gahmen they will be instantly hired with lots more moolah outside.... but yet to see 1 example of this, and several ministars have already left the post already - how come nobody paying them the imagined millions of dollars yet?

Dun talk about being hired by gahmen front companies like SPH, SMRT, DBS, Lee&Lee, Temasek, etc. That one left pocket to right pocket.

I mean real private/public listed companies without any gahmen influence.

these ministars keep harping on the mantra that if they leave the gahmen they will be instantly hired with lots more moolah outside.... but yet to see 1 example of this, and several ministars have already left the post already - how come nobody paying them the imagined millions of dollars yet?

Dun talk about being hired by gahmen front companies like SPH, SMRT, DBS, Lee&Lee, Temasek, etc. That one left pocket to right pocket.

I mean real private/public listed companies without any gahmen influence.

too bad i am a peasant too.. dont have any minister or senior officer friends/relatives/uncles..

but i do know of friend's father who get really really good pay working in private co.. and his dad have landed properties all over the island.. so jealous!

bt i dont think those senior officers are able own a landed property even with this much bonus? hmmm i dont know? maybe some "senior officer" here can come and tell us? -_-

what he meant ridiculous was

your friend get the money through profits the company making

but the 8 mths bonus are from public funds

"The main salary component for senior officers that varies with economic growth is the GDP Bonus. GDP bonus is zero if GDP growth is 2% or below, but accounts for a maximum of about 1/4 of the annual salary of senior officers, or 8 months, when the GDP growth exceeds 10%.

Hence, during the downturn in 2009 and 2010, no GDP Bonus was paid. This contributed to a 18-22.5% reduction in annual salaries of senior officers for the two years.

This year, in 2011, based on the exceptionally high 2010 GDP growth, officers will get the maximum rate of GDP Bonus,"

Deputy Prime Minister Teo in Parliament today......

Be careful bro.

This morning I started a thread on ministerial salaries increasing by 30%.

Immediately got attacked by PAP rabid dogs for being whiners and turds.

Election near and the dogs are without leashes now. [sweatdrop]

Kyoto_man_dies_from_rabies_dog_bite.jpg

Friend, bonus is usually pegged to the industry. There is more or less a loose standard no. of months that an employee would expect to draw, regardless of your qualifications.

If you are a civil servant and was told that you got to draw 2.5 months bonus, i think can laugh out loud liao. -_-

what he meant ridiculous was

your friend get the money through profits the company making

but the 8 mths bonus are from public funds

So if they help to increase public fund, they get a larger share of it and if the public is low, they either get less or none. So is this fair? Sounds fair to me.

Let's face it, if country doing well don't get more bonus, country not doing well, no bonus; lose-lose. Who in their right mind will want to work there? Even non-profit organisation will also reward their staff if they get more donation.

Edited by Silver_blade

So if they help to increase public fund, they get a larger share of it and if the public is low, they either get less or none. So is this fair? Sounds fair to me.

Let's face it, if country doing well don't get more bonus, country not doing well, no bonus; lose-lose. Who in their right mind will want to work there? Even non-profit organisation will also reward their staff if they get more donation.

correct

but how much is enough

remember

greed have no limitations

The term "senior officer" sounds misleading...if I am correct, it refers to the senior management, specifically those in super scale. Most of the graduate civil servants are peasants, the normal "senior officer". <_<

machiam like writing the cheque to himself, but the only difference is the $ are from you and me