SAS & SBS: Who HIONG Wins!!!!!!!

Mustank

hmmm..prob i'm still too young to understand those things when it happened..

I have no doubts on the mettle of our boys to take action if and when put to the test.

I can only hope that the proper authorities do consider such action if and when needed.

I must say for the yanks and brits, that many a time when their civilians are in trouble, they are not afraid to activate their special forces to do hostage rescue... not just within their own country - but across the world into some ulu place as well. A friend in need, is a friend in deed. A person would be extremely loyal to a country that would look after its citizens, just as much as it expects the citizens to look after the country.

I have no doubts on the mettle of our boys to take action if and when put to the test.

I can only hope that the proper authorities do consider such action if and when needed.

I must say for the yanks and brits, that many a time when their civilians are in trouble, they are not afraid to activate their special forces to do hostage rescue... not just within their own country - but across the world into some ulu place as well. A friend in need, is a friend in deed. A person would be extremely loyal to a country that would look after its citizens, just as much as it expects the citizens to look after the country.

i guess the difference is that we are a conscript army, small nation, depend on diplomacy as front line of defence

if send 18 or 19 year old nsf to Egypt and they come back in bodybags, how will the citizens react?

depends on which country also... not every country u can suka suak go in

everything is in place... dun worry.... press button only...

i guess the difference is that we are a conscript army, small nation, depend on diplomacy as front line of defence

if send 18 or 19 year old nsf to Egypt and they come back in bodybags, how will the citizens react?

whilst the risk is there... i think we also ought to consider, the special forces of the other countries also not much older, probably in early or mid-twenties also. If too old, body starts to detiorate. I think by late twenties max may have to end the tour of duty in spec-ops to make way for younger heroes anyway. Only the old bird officers and enciks remain behind to impart their knowledge and experience.

The spec-ops of our own country would most probably have a good mix of noobs in NSF + old bird regulars, should be ok lah. I do think SOF, DART and NDU teams should not be look down upon.

Israel also conscript army.. but they are damn well willing to die for their country.. look at what they did when Hizbollah kidnapped one of their soldiers a few years back.. They freaking start a war..

Phone call lah, if not turn on search light like Batman. [laugh]

Not true bro. You have it all wrong. Coffee on you, I tell you. [;)]

whilst the risk is there... i think we also ought to consider, the special forces of the other countries also not much older, probably in early or mid-twenties also. If too old, body starts to detiorate. I think by late twenties max may have to end the tour of duty in spec-ops to make way for younger heroes anyway. Only the old bird officers and enciks remain behind to impart their knowledge and experience.

The spec-ops of our own country would most probably have a good mix of noobs in NSF + old bird regulars, should be ok lah. I do think SOF, DART and NDU teams should not be look down upon.

I agree not every country can go in... that's why the brits and yanks have to do a lot of black ops and covert infiltration to achieve their objectives. It's not like they can just ring up Gaddafi and say "I say, old boy, we'll be doing a flyby this Thursday, just before breakfast, and pick up some of our civvy chaps, eh what?!"

It's good to know that everything is in place, need to press button only. So far during my time, the only buttons I heard of were for in-country scenarios. Perhaps now that Singaporeans are more globalised, the buttons can reach further if required.

Not true bro. You have it all wrong. Coffee on you, I tell you. [;)]

which part wrong bro? You mean our spec-ops not up to scratch? I thought they were quite the hiong ones.. always impressed me during my army daze.

SAF will do the same and have the equipment standby and check every week. Everything related to this kind of rescue mission is the most high tech available in the market. Like what the others mention, country will get you back dead or alive.

SAF did something similar but was not reveal to the news. I was in the navy then, activated, fully loaded, .......................TOP SECRET

The rest, I cannot disclose otherwise sure drink free kopi. As long as u carry SG passport, all u need to know, when disaster strike, SAF will be there to bring u home. Either dead or alive. [laugh]

I remembered that NSF were activated as well. Pure Navy operation, Embassy evacuation in 72 hours. Human shield form, tear gas out.

I disagree... mid-twenties are probably hot blooded, gungho and want to have a piece of fighting. The real winner in a war or any fight is to win without a fight or to go in quietly and leave quietly without too much fanfare...

Special ops require a sound mind and definitely a fit body but i think its the sound mind that makes a difference. of course im not saying young hot blooded will not have sound mind. I just think special ops require not only muscles but also eq, iq, a positive attitude, maturity and patience. thats why SOF selection is not just about how many pull ups and how fast u run... those who went before will know...

NSF ... they only have a 2years cycle in SAF. SOF training is definitely requires long training and lots of practices, By the time the NSF is really to storm a plane to rescue passengers, think its time to ORD. Once he ORD, he probably forgets his CQB training... the time and money taken to train a NSF into SOF is not worth it...

just a thought.... and yes kudos to NDU... if you seen their hellweek, u will know those who made it are really good but this was last time, not sure how tough is their training now...

[;)]